We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Scenery - long, convoluted drive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi )

Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi )
Al sureste de Cartago, San Jose, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$98*
and up
Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester
Ranked #5 of 78 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pretty Scenery - long, convoluted drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent 4 days in San Jose at the end of our vacation. San Jose doesn't have many attractions so on a rainy Chrismtas day, we took a day trip to the Orosi River Valley and Ujarras Ruins. We had a rental car and drove ourselves. Our GPS took us through city centers, suburban neighborhoods and down country lanes - sometimes I wondered where we were headed. Eventually, it lead us to a lovely spot overlooking the valley. We then took a winding road down into the valley and took a look at a hydro electric dam and the Ujarras ruins. The ruins were located down a little side road that we missed at first. Very scenic, though we were able to see everything of interest within 20 minutes. The drive to and from took a bit over an hour each way making this a trip spent mostly in the car. Still, it was better than sitting in the hotel!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    55
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful area of Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went in a small group can and toured the oldest church in Costa Rica. There is a small museum there as well and the chapel is small but beautifully appointed. You feel the history.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiego
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hot springs are more like a warm pool, but they are cheap ($4) and the Orosi Valley is very charming! Worth a trip for sure!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tour of Orosi Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were picked up on time for our tour. We visited the Irazu Volcano. It was a beautiful sunny time so were were able to see the crater at the bottom. We visited the city of Orosi, Cartago, and the Lankester Botanica Gardens. Beautiful weather, about 78 degrees but up in the mountains it was about 55degrees. We had a wonderful lunch at the La Casona Del Cafetal which is part of the coffee polantation of La Casona.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Visit to Orosi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This community is everyday Tico life. The folks are friendly and welcoming. Orosi Lodge is a fine place to stay and there are several Sodas (local restaurants) in the area. Maricelli's Guayabo on the main drag by the mercado is a good visit for local flavor. If you go, tell Maricelli that Jim from NC says hola.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ) also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.