We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Scenery - long, convoluted drive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi )

Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi )
Al sureste de Cartago, San Jose, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$98*
and up
Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester
Ranked #2 of 33 Attractions in San Jose
Type: Valleys, Outdoors
Attraction details
San Diego, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pretty Scenery - long, convoluted drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent 4 days in San Jose at the end of our vacation. San Jose doesn't have many attractions so on a rainy Chrismtas day, we took a day trip to the Orosi River Valley and Ujarras Ruins. We had a rental car and drove ourselves. Our GPS took us through city centers, suburban neighborhoods and down country lanes - sometimes I wondered where we were headed. Eventually, it lead us to a lovely spot overlooking the valley. We then took a winding road down into the valley and took a look at a hydro electric dam and the Ujarras ruins. The ruins were located down a little side road that we missed at first. Very scenic, though we were able to see everything of interest within 20 minutes. The drive to and from took a bit over an hour each way making this a trip spent mostly in the car. Still, it was better than sitting in the hotel!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    46
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful area of Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went in a small group can and toured the oldest church in Costa Rica. There is a small museum there as well and the chapel is small but beautifully appointed. You feel the history.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiego
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hot springs are more like a warm pool, but they are cheap ($4) and the Orosi Valley is very charming! Worth a trip for sure!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tour of Orosi Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were picked up on time for our tour. We visited the Irazu Volcano. It was a beautiful sunny time so were were able to see the crater at the bottom. We visited the city of Orosi, Cartago, and the Lankester Botanica Gardens. Beautiful weather, about 78 degrees but up in the mountains it was about 55degrees. We had a wonderful lunch at the La Casona Del Cafetal which is part of the coffee polantation of La Casona.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Visit to Orosi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This community is everyday Tico life. The folks are friendly and welcoming. Orosi Lodge is a fine place to stay and there are several Sodas (local restaurants) in the area. Maricelli's Guayabo on the main drag by the mercado is a good visit for local flavor. If you go, tell Maricelli that Jim from NC says hola.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ) also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.