We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area of Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi )

Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi )
Al sureste de Cartago, San Jose, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 40 Attractions in San Jose
Type: Valleys
Attraction Details
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful area of Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went in a small group can and toured the oldest church in Costa Rica. There is a small museum there as well and the chapel is small but beautifully appointed. You feel the history.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    45
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanDiego
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hot springs are more like a warm pool, but they are cheap ($4) and the Orosi Valley is very charming! Worth a trip for sure!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tour of Orosi Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were picked up on time for our tour. We visited the Irazu Volcano. It was a beautiful sunny time so were were able to see the crater at the bottom. We visited the city of Orosi, Cartago, and the Lankester Botanica Gardens. Beautiful weather, about 78 degrees but up in the mountains it was about 55degrees. We had a wonderful lunch at the La Casona Del Cafetal which is part of the coffee polantation of La Casona.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Visit to Orosi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This community is everyday Tico life. The folks are friendly and welcoming. Orosi Lodge is a fine place to stay and there are several Sodas (local restaurants) in the area. Maricelli's Guayabo on the main drag by the mercado is a good visit for local flavor. If you go, tell Maricelli that Jim from NC says hola.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
“Volunteering in Orosi with Globe Aware was phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

OK I went for a week to the Orosi valley. So much fun - ziplined, went water white water rafting down the Reventezon and visited some natural hot springs and a coffee plantation. Its a peaceful beautiful place made all the more so by spending time with the locals volunteering. I went with Globe Aware so that I'd have a guide with me the whole time, but am sure there are other ways to go about it. We worked ia primary school for a couple of days, worked on a community garden organic gardening project and at a center for the disabled. I can't say that these are the neediest people in the world, but they do have a whole lot less than what i'm used to seeing and they seem happy and it made me so grateful for everything. I will be returning. I loved having this comprehensive feel to a place

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ) also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.