We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Orosi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi )

Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi )
Al sureste de Cartago, San Jose, Costa Rica
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 38 attractions in San Jose
Type: Valleys
Attraction Details
Salisbury, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Visit to Orosi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This community is everyday Tico life. The folks are friendly and welcoming. Orosi Lodge is a fine place to stay and there are several Sodas (local restaurants) in the area. Maricelli's Guayabo on the main drag by the mercado is a good visit for local flavor. If you go, tell Maricelli that Jim from NC says hola.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    39
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
“Volunteering in Orosi with Globe Aware was phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

OK I went for a week to the Orosi valley. So much fun - ziplined, went water white water rafting down the Reventezon and visited some natural hot springs and a coffee plantation. Its a peaceful beautiful place made all the more so by spending time with the locals volunteering. I went with Globe Aware so that I'd have a guide with me the whole time, but am sure there are other ways to go about it. We worked ia primary school for a couple of days, worked on a community garden organic gardening project and at a center for the disabled. I can't say that these are the neediest people in the world, but they do have a whole lot less than what i'm used to seeing and they seem happy and it made me so grateful for everything. I will be returning. I loved having this comprehensive feel to a place

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good to spend a couple of days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just make sure you choose the best time of year to travel to this place, as its soooo beautiful & has many hikes through the mountains, visit the hot springs, not the one in town but there is one just out of Orosi, the locals may help you with the directions,, it is easy to get to walking about a good hour ( ish) , my husband & I spent hour siting on the rocks and having a hot soak in the small pool right next to the river,,the mirador is another good walk from town up the mountain bearutiful views of the valley of Orosi

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful River Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Costa Rica has many nice places to visit, but this one specially will give you the taste of what Costa Rica was many years ago maintaining its beauty. It is a place to enjoy a weekend or some soft adventure tours. Very nice place

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“River Rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The people who run this outfit are amazing. We felt completely safe while enjoying a very exciting adventure. The food afterwards was fabulous.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ) also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.