We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge museum for children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museo de los Ninos

Museo de los Ninos
Calle 4, al norte de la Avenida 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
506 258 4929
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$48*
and up
San Jose City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #6 of 33 Attractions in San Jose
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
Attraction details
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Huge museum for children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is by far, the best children's museum we've been to. You could spend a whole day here and still not see it all. My husband took my 6 year old and they only got to 1/3 of the museum. I had the 4 year old and we managed to almost do it all in 3 hours. Most of the information is in spanish, but there are some english signs. The museum staff were friendly and some spoke limited english. The museum itself used to be a penetentiary so it was interesting to see how it was transformed. Bit of a dodgy area though so make sure you have transportation.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    61
    22
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Children's Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went to this museum because we thought it would be interesting and it was. It was fun to see all of the different exhibits and talk with the workers in the museum, they were really nice and helpful with my Spanish. Be aware that the neighborhood leading up to the museum is not a good place for children, take a taxi don't walk.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, sc usa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Best Kids Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

With two little ones, I've been in a lot of children's museums and this one of the best I've seen. It has a bit of everything and it is large, so you can spend quite a bit of time there. The kids didn't want to leave, and wante to go back the next day. Well, worth a visit if you've got little ones.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not bad for a 20 year old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The friends I went with took too much time on things and I got bored. But it was okay for me as a 20 year old, so for kids I think it would be a great place to go for entertainment. There's not much to do in San jose so if you are here more than a week I would suggest going here, but I would first suggest going to the artisans market & seeing a play at the Teatro nacional. But for kids entertainment this would be the first place to go. This museum has 2 parts and is a good place for kids and older people who are kids at heart. But I wouldn't say this is a good children's museum compared to the states. The price is 1,100 colones ($2.20 US) for anyone older than 15 and I think 800 colones ($1.60 US) for anyone younger than that. You can get a map of the the place for 100 colones. The museum is located about 8 blocks away from the Teatro nacional and is a big yellow castle. It has a cafe that has small size meals, and decent prices for the meal except the casados (average meal) are normal size, about 2300 colones.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Better than i had imagined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised. Kids had a good time. i would return. Some of the things needed some tlc but most where educational and fun at the same time. Don´t miss the earthquake simulator. Very cool. Cheap and good family time. impressive building or should i say fortif i may say so.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo de los Ninos also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Museo de los Ninos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo de los Ninos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.