We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castillo

Hotel Castillo
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Castillo
Save Saved
You added Hotel Castillo to your Saves list
Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 85 hotels in San Jose
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here a number of times on my trips to CR. The cons are
Great staff/Lady up front is very friendly and has been there for years, very nice woman
Good Security (locked buzzer type gate)
Bar/Restaurant on site
Pool Table
Nice atmosphere
ATM across the street (only go during day though)

Cons
Have to take a taxi at night, can't walk through the park (very dangerous)
Transvestites across the street
No AC in rooms

The rooms are a bit old, but they are all wooden, so it kind of brings an "old school" type feel to your stay. I'd highly suggest this place.

Room Tip: There is a very tip top room, all the way up top, nice view and high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
carrollton, tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice quaint hotel convenient to downtown by taxi or foot. Convenient to Sportsmens Lodge and other hotels. Staff is always there 24/7. Sometimes has early traffic noises.

Has AC and cable TV along with lockable safe.

Room Tip: new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I have stayed at The Castillo several times, and am never disappointed. The hotel is found in Barrio Amon, and although frequented by a good bunch of guys from Canada and the US, there are often back packers and budget hotel seekers to be found at the back bar or enjoying the light continental (included) breakfast. The hotel is broken into the older mansion and a newer "motel style" building, with a central courtyard and back bar which is open at noon except Sunday (but that may change). Air con units can be found in every room, but not really necessary, as the ceiling fans and moderate climate make sleeping easy. A mix of 2 doubles, queens, and a few king beds can be had, full bath with shower and plenty of hot water is the norm. Service is top notch, as anything that's not right, the front desk will sort out. The hotel doesn't have parking, but arrangements at a local and secure lot can be had. Rates are about $70US depending on if you pay cash or card, or if the place fills up..and it does on long weekends. There is wifi at no cost, and advice is always free. The hotel is walking distance to most places in SJ Centro, with a few decent retaurants like Lukas, Tin Jo and others within an easy and inexpensive cab ride. Security is good, and the hotel can arrange a shuttle back to the airport (or for pick up) and if you want tours or to experience the out-of-town. I find The Castillo a place that knows my name and treats me fair, so I don't look elsewhere, but the experience will be the same even if it's your first visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room out back, starting at #14 to #23 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

After a full day of inter-bus bouncing from Bocas I was more than willing to forgive a great deal in exchange for a hot shower and a bed. Check in was flawless but the room - blah ( it was a "deluxe"! In the new section) and as I was unpacking I discovered a large, dead cockroach. Crap! Now I handled pretty much everything Costa Rica threw at me for 6 weeks but this was the first 'roach and I loath them. So I called the desk and her response was spot on - up she came armed with dust pan, broom, disinfectant and apologies. She couldn't move me since they were full so I was resigned to sleep with all the lights on. Later I prepared to finally get horizontal; throw back the sheets to find - black hairs. eeeeeuuuuu! So now I have all the lights on and I am sleeping on top of the blankets. I seriously considered moving the next day but just didn't want to expend the energy for one night so I advised the front desk and she promised to give the room a good cleaning; which they did. Everything after was fine though the free breakfast sucked, dry gallo-pinto, dried fruit... The postives were it is in a great location, close to downtown and Barrio Amon, if you pay cash you get a great rate and the staff are great.

Room Tip: try an older room for atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bch, Fl
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I have been staying at the Castillo for years now and am always greeted with open arms and kind words. Terrific staff, good location above the city in bario amon where you will find various types of entertainment, dining and clubs, plenty of nightlife. The rooms in the main building are turn of the century with wood floors, high ceilings and ceiling fans in most. Hot water is plentiful, beds comfortable and the maids keep the old lady clean. If you are looking for a bit of off the beaten path adventure, I highly recommend the Castillo, it's a true classic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hotel Castillo is a nice little hotel in the Barrio Amon district. Clean well appointed rooms in a peaceful setting, coupled with great service make this hotel an excellent choice for those who want to stay in this area and get a good deal at the same time. Perhaps more geared towards the single male adventure traveller than for families, as it is within easy walking distance to many of the cities' more exotic pursuits.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

From the moment I made my reservation to the day I left the service was just outstanding.The staff will make you feel right at home making sure all your needs are met. I had a very pleasant stay and would book again on my next trip. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo

Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Castillo Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.