We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect....except...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza Real to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Uruca del BCR 200 sur 100 este, San Jose 379-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect....except...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have nothing bad to say about the hotel. For me it was in a perfect location and met all of my needs while visiting San Jose. Now the except part...When I checked in I needed to pay..used hotels.com for the booking. The next morning as I was walking through the lobby area I was stopped and was told there was a mistake made with my debit card. The gentleman that checked me in accidentally added one more digit. So instead of being charged roughly $180, I was charged $1800! I applaud the hotels quick actions in recognizing their mistake and bringing it to my attention right away the next morning. Even though the reversal took some time...about 9 business days. I was confident that I would get the credit back to my bank account. Even after this honest mistake I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
15
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We headed towards San Jose towards the end of our trip having no idea where to stay. Having stayed in hostels most of the trip, we decided to treat ourselves to a nicer hotel. We ran into this beauty by chance and we are so glad we did! The price was great, the staff was amazing and the hotel room was 5-star. We stayed in room #305: the cleanest floors I've ever seen, a California king size bed, a luxury bathroom, tv, fridge, table/chair and A/C. The bed was big, comfortable, super clean bedding and had plenty of pillows.

The breakfast was also amazing. They made it fresh when we were up in the dining area. The ladies were exceptionally nice! The dining area has a big open balcony that overlooks the city. It was such a great way to end our trip in Costa Rica and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in #305 and it was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Located between the airport and city centre, nothing of interest to walk too. Taxi needed to get to down town where the restaurants and museums are. Staff were not customer service oriented...or very friendly.

Room Tip: Stay at a hotel downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ONTARIO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I spent two nights at Hotel Plaza Real. One at the beginning of my tour of Costa Rica and again at the end.
I would not recommend this hotel.
Let me first say that I am not a picky traveller and by no means have unrealistic standards.
But when I leave a beautiful hotel with pool, restaurants, spa, beautiful grounds and views etc...) costing $95 a night for a dive listed at $93 a night, I need to share my experience.

I flew in to San Jose to take a tour. I arrived a day before the tour began and made arrangements to stay at the Barcelo Palacio for $95. The second night, my tour group was to meet at Hotel Plaza Real. I made my way over and was greeted at the jail gates by my guide.
The hotel is barred up like a prison and you must be "buzzed" in by the front desk.
I got the distinct feeling that I had found myself at the wrong side of the tracks...but at least I would feel safe.

The concierge was very friendly and showed me to my room which was described as "one of their best".
When I was ushered into room 104 right behind the front desk, I was very disappointed.
There was VERY little natural sunlight as both windows of this room face concrete walls. The noise from the highway was impossible to ignore (and it went on throughout the entire night), the two hard as a rock single beds looked outdated and dirty. The curtains covered in thick black dust, holes in the ceiling one working light in the bathroom, no warm water at all (broken in the sink), chicken left over in the refrigerator and dead bugs on the floor.
This hotel has no on-site amenities. No restaurant or store to purchase a toothbrush if you've forgotten yours. They do provide breakfast in the morning which is relatively decent and there is a sun deck with two lounge chairs...but it's nothing I'd want to spend my afternoon sunning myself on.
If you'd like to get food or go to the supermarket you've got a 5 minute walk. It's not bad, but if you're travelling on your own and you arrive later in the evening... you won't want to venture out onto the street alone. So you're S.O.L.

I asked about the room but conveniently, the concierge now couldn't understand English or my broken Spanish (which I admit isn't the best) but he had no problem earlier.

When we returned to the hotel for our final night, the concierge tried to put me in room 104 again and I asked for a different room... this time he put me in the new building 304.
It was MUCH better (still not better than my first night's stay at the Barcelo) but it felt like a totally different hotel.

My frustration is with the concierge who made me feel as though there were no other options on my first night than this horrible room 104.
The hotel was NEVER full and he could have easily put me with the rest of my group in the newer building my very first night. Had he not sold me on the room being the "best in the hotel" I would have pushed harder to be moved...but after that pitch, I was afraid to see what the "second best room" was like.

This hotel is ok (in the new part) if you MUST stay here...but ask for a room in the newer building.
If you have the choice...stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer building DO NOT TAKE ROOM 104 - it's NOT the best room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APARTOTELPLAZAREAL, Gerente at Hotel Plaza Real, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Google Translation
Lamentamos no poder haberle cambiado de habitación solicitada al inicio de su reserva, ya que el hotel no con contaba con la disponibilidad, sin embargo se le brindó una Suite tipo apartamento el cual es superior.

Inmediatamente se liberó la habitacion en el nuevo bloque, se le hizo cambio a la nueva Premium Suite la cual cumplió completamente con sus requerimientos según lo indicado con sus comentarios.

Muchas gracias,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Plaza Real was a very good choice for us ! We stayed here for 2 nights and we really enjoyed everything about this place. The rooms were nice and clean and offered all the amenities you would need for a comfortable stay. Service was also very good, especially breakfast that had a great variety of fresh fruit and warm dishes. Overall we had a good experience and I would stay here again in the future !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family began and ended a month long trip in Costa Rica at the Hotel Plaza Real. Our experience was that the location was safe, central to shopping, clean, and reasonably priced. We found the area around the hotel to be reasonably quiet and secure. Timely shuttle service to/from airport was available, with secure parking for our rental car and attentive staff.

Front desk staff were very responsive to our questions and requests, and breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, coffee, cereal, eggs, sausage or ham, pancakes, and rice/beans available. Having breakfast beside the roof top patio was a highlight each morning.

The room was very well appointed with fridge, microwave, comfortable beds, television, and large bathroom/shower. Although we were travelling as a family and not on business, I noted excellent conference facilities and wifi. Our daughters felt very comfortable with the smiles and hospitality of the excellent hosts. Any requests we made such as for additional towels, pillows, or checking the wifi signal were responded to quickly and professionally.

For family or business travel, I would highly recommend this hotel based on our experience, and when we return to Costa Rica we intend to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and found these rooms to be excellent, with minimal street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Pretty good hotel if you are staying for one or two nights. Front desk was very nice, interior very comfortable. Only complaints would be that it is a little far from the center of town and the bed is pretty hard, but otherwise very solid. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Real

Address: La Uruca del BCR 200 sur 100 este, San Jose 379-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Real 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Real Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.