We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COSTA RICA HOTEL REAL PLAZA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | La Uruca del BCR 200 sur 100 este, San Jose 379-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“COSTA RICA HOTEL REAL PLAZA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent staff attention and cleaness of the rental apartments. Relatively closer to San Jose, aprox 20 minutes, affordable price for the service.
The best is the staff attention.
I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: New rooms at new construction side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APARTOTELPLAZAREAL, Gerente at Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Google Translation
Nos es placentero saber de su satisfacción en la recien estadia.
Agradecemos el tiempo que se tomo en retroalimentarnos con sus comentarios y opinion de nuestro servicio.
Comprobar una vez mas la fortaleza de nuestro servicio al cliente y el trato personalizado de nuestro equipo de trabajo.
Sus palabras nos impulsan a continuar en el proceso de continua general superación,
Gracias por haber estado con nosotros.
Saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
16
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Dimas, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel may not be The Ritz, but it was nice and clean. Members of the staff are friendly, especially Arturo at the frontdesk and the van driver,Jorge.

One can walk to a good restaurant and, if you're inclined, to a casino. Cab fare to downtown San Jose is reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a pleasant overnight stay at the hotel, prior to a flight the following morning. The staff were very welcoming and helpful,including helping us order food. The room was very new and clean with a nice powerful shower. The only glitch we encountered was when we wanted to get what we thought was the free shuttle to the airport (the main criteria in our hotel search). Apparently the shuttle is free, picking you up from the airport, but not taking you to it. We explained that we'd already paid for a taxi from the airport the previous night and were assuming we could get a ride to the airport in the morning. We hadn't noticed this detail when booking, but in any event, the reception staff allowed us to get a free transfer. Would recommend as a good hotel for a flight in or out of San Jose, although it was further from the airport than we expected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

A very secure and quiet location Convenient to super market, Denny's, Best Western Irazu with casino, restaurants, pharmacy- 5 minute walk through quiet neighborhood. Also close to Hospital Mexico. Grayline office just one block from this hotel for booking tours and shuttle bus. Includes nice breakfast on the top floor with large patio and washrooms. This is a full service apartment/ hotel
With great service. Our large room had fridge, microwave, coffee maker, flat panel TV with lots of channels, eating area. English is limited so speak slowly. Knowing a few basic Spanish expressions would help throughout Costa Rica. Great value. Suites available at small additional charge. If sensitive to traffic noise, request a back room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I felt safe at this apartment-hotel when I had some medical work done. It is near the hospital and clinics and my husband and I didn't want to be isolated in the mountains at a recovery facility. We had a full size refrigerator, stove and microwave in the kitchenette, which we prefered to make our meals. A grocery store is about .5 miles away. It is not in a tourist neighborhood, but a bank and Burger King are about .25 mi away.
Arturo is bilingual and very helpful arranging the free transfers from the airport, some medical tests and taxi rides to where we wanted to go. We were upgraded to the Master Suite at no extra charge! We feel all of the staff is friendly and would definitely return if ever staying in San Jose again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I spent our last night in Costa Rica at Plaza Real. Arturo, at the front desk, was more than helpful. We arrived around 9pm and had to have a shuttle to the airport at 4:30am the next day. He helped us find food to order, and actually ordered it for us, and arranged the shuttle as well. The room was more than adequate with a wonderful shower and beautiful wooden floors! We got more than we paid for staying here. We are normally hostelers but if we needed, this would definitely be our first choice for a hotel in San Jose! Really great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a business hotel. We stayed here for one night on a weekend because we had an early flight the next day with NatureAir. The hotel was totally empty, we did not see any other guests! So, it was really quiet, we felt almost lonely :) The room was huge, clean and well equipped. The hotel could offer transportation also. It seemed that the cost was always $15 regardless where you went - be it Heredia or domestic airport. The location is good if you are going to domestic airport (like us). There are restaurants near-by, 10 mins walk away. I have to say that the hotel looks awful, it looks like a fortress or jailhouse with all those high fences, no lawns nor front/backyard but looks can deceive you. From the inside the hotel looks nice. We had a nice and relaxing stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to huge and fairly similar. Our room was in the second floor, not in the same wing as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites

Address: | La Uruca del BCR 200 sur 100 este, San Jose 379-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the central businees La Uruca, just 10 min from the International Airport, 5 min from San Jose Center and 10 min from other important business center. We offer you apartments and rooms, the apartments totaly equipment and the rooms with principal like microwave, mini bar, coffee maker. We offer long stay to medical tourism in the apartments with totaly equipment kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.