We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Real

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Uruca del BCR 200 sur 100 este, San Jose 379-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 85 hotels in San Jose
San Dimas, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel may not be The Ritz, but it was nice and clean. Members of the staff are friendly, especially Arturo at the frontdesk and the van driver,Jorge.

One can walk to a good restaurant and, if you're inclined, to a casino. Cab fare to downtown San Jose is reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
13
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a pleasant overnight stay at the hotel, prior to a flight the following morning. The staff were very welcoming and helpful,including helping us order food. The room was very new and clean with a nice powerful shower. The only glitch we encountered was when we wanted to get what we thought was the free shuttle to the airport (the main criteria in our hotel search). Apparently the shuttle is free, picking you up from the airport, but not taking you to it. We explained that we'd already paid for a taxi from the airport the previous night and were assuming we could get a ride to the airport in the morning. We hadn't noticed this detail when booking, but in any event, the reception staff allowed us to get a free transfer. Would recommend as a good hotel for a flight in or out of San Jose, although it was further from the airport than we expected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

A very secure and quiet location Convenient to super market, Denny's, Best Western Irazu with casino, restaurants, pharmacy- 5 minute walk through quiet neighborhood. Also close to Hospital Mexico. Grayline office just one block from this hotel for booking tours and shuttle bus. Includes nice breakfast on the top floor with large patio and washrooms. This is a full service apartment/ hotel
With great service. Our large room had fridge, microwave, coffee maker, flat panel TV with lots of channels, eating area. English is limited so speak slowly. Knowing a few basic Spanish expressions would help throughout Costa Rica. Great value. Suites available at small additional charge. If sensitive to traffic noise, request a back room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I felt safe at this apartment-hotel when I had some medical work done. It is near the hospital and clinics and my husband and I didn't want to be isolated in the mountains at a recovery facility. We had a full size refrigerator, stove and microwave in the kitchenette, which we prefered to make our meals. A grocery store is about .5 miles away. It is not in a tourist neighborhood, but a bank and Burger King are about .25 mi away.
Arturo is bilingual and very helpful arranging the free transfers from the airport, some medical tests and taxi rides to where we wanted to go. We were upgraded to the Master Suite at no extra charge! We feel all of the staff is friendly and would definitely return if ever staying in San Jose again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I spent our last night in Costa Rica at Plaza Real. Arturo, at the front desk, was more than helpful. We arrived around 9pm and had to have a shuttle to the airport at 4:30am the next day. He helped us find food to order, and actually ordered it for us, and arranged the shuttle as well. The room was more than adequate with a wonderful shower and beautiful wooden floors! We got more than we paid for staying here. We are normally hostelers but if we needed, this would definitely be our first choice for a hotel in San Jose! Really great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a business hotel. We stayed here for one night on a weekend because we had an early flight the next day with NatureAir. The hotel was totally empty, we did not see any other guests! So, it was really quiet, we felt almost lonely :) The room was huge, clean and well equipped. The hotel could offer transportation also. It seemed that the cost was always $15 regardless where you went - be it Heredia or domestic airport. The location is good if you are going to domestic airport (like us). There are restaurants near-by, 10 mins walk away. I have to say that the hotel looks awful, it looks like a fortress or jailhouse with all those high fences, no lawns nor front/backyard but looks can deceive you. From the inside the hotel looks nice. We had a nice and relaxing stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to huge and fairly similar. Our room was in the second floor, not in the same wing as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you are going to San Jose to do any kind of business, you have to be prepared for trouble.
Immigration, insurance, and even getting a driver's license in Costa Rica is a painful, expensive ordreal.
That being said, the one good thing about my recent trip to San Jose was the Hotel Plaza Real.
It was a little piece of heaven in a confusing and nasty world. The management bent over backwards to accomodate me and my friend with special needs. The room was quiet, immaculate, and spacious. The Plaza Real is more like a European hotel than a chain. It is quaint, clean and personal. The taxi service was prompt and affordable. Breakfast and simple and nice. Mostly, I just loved the staff attitude, can do, helpful, courteous. A very pleasant change from the stonewalling and obfuscation at Costa Rican government agencies. I would happily select this hotel again, a little island of sanity in a sea of craziness.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff. They have many rooms available, some are small apartments and others just nice r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Plaza Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Real

Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Real Costa Rica/San Jose
Address: La Uruca del BCR 200 sur 100 este, San Jose 379-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Real 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Plaza Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza Real to your Saves list