We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise, Best part of a lousy trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | La Uruca del BCR 200 sur 100 este, San Jose 379-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise, Best part of a lousy trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you are going to San Jose to do any kind of business, you have to be prepared for trouble.
Immigration, insurance, and even getting a driver's license in Costa Rica is a painful, expensive ordreal.
That being said, the one good thing about my recent trip to San Jose was the Hotel Plaza Real.
It was a little piece of heaven in a confusing and nasty world. The management bent over backwards to accomodate me and my friend with special needs. The room was quiet, immaculate, and spacious. The Plaza Real is more like a European hotel than a chain. It is quaint, clean and personal. The taxi service was prompt and affordable. Breakfast and simple and nice. Mostly, I just loved the staff attitude, can do, helpful, courteous. A very pleasant change from the stonewalling and obfuscation at Costa Rican government agencies. I would happily select this hotel again, a little island of sanity in a sea of craziness.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff. They have many rooms available, some are small apartments and others just nice r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
17
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night and we were pleased.

The hotel is not in the city centre, but, a short cab ride away. It is not fancy, but it's nice. Modern and very clean, with everything you could possibly need. There are a couple of restaurants not too far away (Denny's being one of them). But again, you are not far from the centre and can easily get there.

The gentleman at the front desk was really nice, too. Helpful and friendly.

I recommend this hotel very much, especially if you are at the tail-end of your trip to Costa Rica and are looking for a place to relax before flying out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very clean, spacious, well appointed rooms, huge bathroom, and small kitchenette should you want to keep something cold or warm something up – very comfortable! Also offered excellent service – all staff were sincerely friendly, and couldn’t be more helpful.

The breakfast room is on the top floor (4th), and offers coffee, juice, a small plate of papaya and pineapple, toast, and cold cereal. For a very small price, you can order hot items such as eggs ($1.50 each), with sausage for a $3, or pancakes for $2.50. There’s also a terrace outside the breakfast room to catch some sun and view the mountains.

The hotel is very secure, and a short walk takes you to a few restaurants, small grocery store, pharmacy, gift shops, and casino. It's a short drive to airport, central San Jose, or onto the Interamericana highway if you’re exploring the country.

The only con is the noise level from the highway, so if you’re sound sensitive, request a room facing the back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at the Plaza Real for 2 nights of our trip in Costa Rica. The hotel staff was more than accommodating and helpful. We were trying to plan a trip to Tortuguero (remote island in Costa Rica) and they went above and beyond, helping us make calls to other hotels and assisting us in researching on the internet. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast could have been a little more plentiful but we had busy days planned so there wasn't a lot of time to sit around and enjoy a big breakfast anyway. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a great small hotel with many different types of room options for all travelers--traditional rooms, suites, large apartments. Everything in the hotel is amazingly clean and the entire staff works extremely hard to help out its guests in any way possible. Wonderful staff! It's a bit of a distance from the downtown area, and many people like that, especially business travelers. If you like to be in the bustle of San Jose, however, you may want to stay right in the heart of the city instead. It really depends what you're looking for and your reason for traveling. This hotel has free, reliable WI-FI, free continental breakfast, and free parking. The only downside was that there were no restaurants or eateries within a block or two of the hotel, but if you don't mind a bit of a walk you can get to a few further away. But food can always be delivered to your room from a multitude of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauren
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel is placed in Uraca outside San José in a nice, quiet neighborhood east of downtown San José. Restaurants are within walking distance. It is easy accessible having your own car. We do not know if there is also a bus service to the hotel. Downtown San José can be reached in about 15 min.
The big rooms provide good comfort, such as excellent beds and bathroom facilities.
Very nice personnel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you're looking for a decent stay right outside the bustling city, this hotel is a great option. The immediate area around the hotel is residential with a few warehouses. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms have been recently remodeled. I had one issue, there was no iron in the room. A short walk down the street will take you to the Best Western hotel which has a Denny's, bar, and casino.

Room Tip: Request the European suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#7 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#17 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#6 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
2.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#12 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites

Address: | La Uruca del BCR 200 sur 100 este, San Jose 379-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the central businees La Uruca, just 10 min from the International Airport, 5 min from San Jose Center and 10 min from other important business center. We offer you apartments and rooms, the apartments totaly equipment and the rooms with principal like microwave, mini bar, coffee maker. We offer long stay to medical tourism in the apartments with totaly equipment kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.