We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown to your Saves list
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y San Jose | Costado Oeste del Parque Morazán, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I tarpon fish in Costa Rica twice each year, and upon arrival, I have to lay over in SJ for one night, and I always stay at the Sleep Inn. No real pluses, just a clean, quiet, reasonable place to stay, and it feels quite safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments, it is nice to know than our efforts to offer a clean and nice hotel for our customers are well received, thank you for your preference and hope to see you every year.

Regards,

Alejandro Saborío Montero.
Marketing and Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Paseo Las Damas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    98
    28
    16
    4
See reviews for
32
75
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

American chain, newer, american quality 3.5 so there 4.5? I have stayed there 10? times past few years. One of the few, the few that is quiet in SJ. Many SJ hotels are plagued by street noise starting at dawn. Old construction, most not originally hotels, too close to the street, This one is solid construction with thick windows on a huge gated property set off the street except for the north side. Great free BK, free computers downstairs. Wifi in your room but bring your wifi cable--they will rent you one of theirs for $7, about the only bad thing I can say about the place. Very modern bathrooms, nice big towels, coffee makers, iron/boards, free digital safe. Free secure gated parking. Great location, centro biz district. CAb it to alot of good restaurants for $2--and at night cab it--SJ centro at night can be iffy and cabs are cheap and who wants to walk anyway. Negotiate with the cabbie before hand. Show him a red one ($1000 colones bill which equalls $2, he'll take it if not wait for the next guy. don't let the door man get you acab--you'll have a hard time getting the guy to take $2 in that situation. Just walk out the gates. A million cabs in SJ. I usually can get booked for about $80 . Free shuttle from the airport and back, back trip limited times. Bring their tel # and conf #. If they aren't at the airport to get you, call, they will tell you to take a cab and they'll pay. One time I forgot my computer charger and checked out. Called them, housekeeping had it, the mgr put it in a box and put in on the bus to the beach town I was in. Nice touch. Avoid the north side rooms and the south side corner rooms--you will be too close to the street. Best rooms are third floor center facing south. Love this place. You can spend alot more at a few other American chains and they maybe a little better, fancier, but why do it--this place is just about pefect.

Room Tip: Third floor facing south in the center of the hotel, not on the corner, and not any on the north sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Mr.

Thank you for your kindly comments, we are proud to be over the average chain hotels, this is the reason because our hotel has 4 prizes as the Best Quality Assurance Review for Latin America and the Caribbean.

I am happy to tell you than now the internet cable rent is free, and we are offering a 12 megas Wi/Fi connection for free.

As you mentioned, the hotel is a modern building, and has a renovation last January in order to keep being a good looking hotel, with excellent services.

Thank you for your time, it is nice to have good comments to motivate our people.

Best regards,

Alejandro Saborío Montero
Marketing and Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Paseo Las Damas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

good option if you are looking to be in the center of everything in san jose, i asked for a room away from elevator and they gave me exactly the nearest to it.
beds and room was fine, shuttle for the airport super! breadfast including srambled eggs and local gallo pinto, gym, and lively nightlife outside, when in the room i diidnt hear any noise at all.
people at front desk try to be kind but somehow failed. after all its a good option for my next visit

Room Tip: i was close to the elevator and i didnt hear any noize, ask for a room on the 3 floor whit a view, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest
I apologies for this inconvenient you had. Next time you will have the room what you want far away from the elevator. I really hope to see you soon at the Sleep Inn Hotel.
You will see you will not have any inconvenient.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

In the past seven years, I have stayed at the hotel about 25 times. Every visit has been for 12 to 18 days.

I have been totally satisfied with the service and hospitality provided to me. Most importantly, the management team,
Front desk people, cleaning ladies, maintenance men and security guards have been very friendly and professional. I look
Forward each visit to seeing everyone.

The hotel is only 20 minutes from the airport, and they offer free transportation to and from the airport. This is a great benefit.
You will be in a very convenient location to tour the city of San Jose or venture out to other tourist destinations.

I think the hotel is the perfect size. It is modern, clean, quiet, and very safe. It has first class security. There is a restaurant, casino, sports bar, and gym located on the hotel property. Also, there is a nice dining area to eat your free breakfast buffet. It has cable TV and a mini-refrigerator in each room. There is access to the internet from three different computers near the lobby area.

I would highly recommend the Downtown Sleep Inn to anyone visiting the city of San Jose or needs a location to travel Costa Rica.

Florida Resident

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest
We make the best effort to satisfy all the guest in our hotel. The hotel is improving every single days the custumer service. We really appreaciate all your good comments. If you have eny request, please let us now immediately. I really hope and want to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel in in the san jose area, next to del rey hotel. The hotel would have gotten a five if not for guest fee of $35 dollars? Are you serious. The hotel is pretty clean, not picky there. The service is ok, they're very friendly and helpful. It's economical, because the shuttle to the airport of $30.00 is complimentary great deal. There are security guards so it feels pretty safe, but if you want to bring a guest go somewhere else.

Room Tip: if you want to stay for a night do it, other wise if you want to bring guest it's too expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest
If you buy a double room, you do not have to pay any additional fee, but it has to be the double rate in which is good. the double rate, only allowed to remain the same people who were in the room, on the dates indicated in the registration card. If you do not register as a guest, the policy is to charge $35. I invite you to visit us once again. For us is a pleasure to serve you. we are improving some policies and customer service to get better the hotel. I hope to see you soon over here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is fantastic in every way. The value is amazing. There is a free shuttle from the airport, that alone will save $30.00 each way. The rooms are extremely clean. The breakfast and the wi-fi are so perfect. I do not have anything bad to say about the hotel, the only problem is that there are mostly Americans that stay there. We witnessed some "ugly American" behavior there. There was a American there that told the front desk gentleman to step outside to resolve their differences. The employees at this hotel are sweet and professional. I want to give the hotel 5 stars for location and value, but if you stay there, please be kind.

Room Tip: We stayed in 307 and we enjoyed the view to the park. Make sure you go to the park on Saturdays, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your comments, we are happy to know you like our product, so we´ll keep the compromise to improve every day, in order to win the 5th star. Our staff will always take care of all the situations in the better way, so you can expect best attitude from all our people, thank you and hope to see you here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Hotel Sleep inn in San Jose has a location with street beggers all around. The rooms were O.K. but very dust and smells of mold, my wife had a asthma attack becuse of that, and could not sleep all night. In the morning their were no cups for coffee, in fact we had to wait for several minutes to get them.
The cups were different shapes and chipped. Over all Poor quality breakfast with poor service.
The manager and his staff were rude and and not helpful at all. One of our friend came to visit us, and he was taking us for coffee, he was asked to remove his car from the parking lot. During this discussion the manager was very rude. We had booked four rooms and I told him that you are in service industry and you should talk to customers politely and I will write a review in trip advisor, he told me do what you need to do.The only good thing about the hotel was availabilty of internet facilities.
I would not recommend people to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest
I am really sorry for yor experience you had at the hotel. We have some policy for the parking side. I ask to the receptionist and he explain everything about this situation. For the breakfast is one of the things that guest enjoy a lot. I invite you to come again. The customer service is improving a lot. The hotel was remodeled; so there is no dust any more. Everything is clean. I really hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#22 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#11 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#14 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#12 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
0.8 mi away
Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Address: Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y San Jose | Costado Oeste del Parque Morazán, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sleep Inn San Jose Down town is conveniently located in the heart of the city, only fifteen kilometers from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. It is only a short distance from tourist attractions like the Teatro Nacional, Museo de Jade, Museo de Oro, parks that are part of our national heritage, and many others.Our guests can start the day with a complimentary full American buffet breakfast, from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
San Jose Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn San Jose Costa Rica
Sleep Inn Costa Rica
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.