We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Sleep Inn - San Jose, Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown to your Saves list
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y San Jose | Costado Oeste del Parque Morazán, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
The Villages
1 review
“Downtown Sleep Inn - San Jose, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

In the past seven years, I have stayed at the hotel about 25 times. Every visit has been for 12 to 18 days.

I have been totally satisfied with the service and hospitality provided to me. Most importantly, the management team,
Front desk people, cleaning ladies, maintenance men and security guards have been very friendly and professional. I look
Forward each visit to seeing everyone.

The hotel is only 20 minutes from the airport, and they offer free transportation to and from the airport. This is a great benefit.
You will be in a very convenient location to tour the city of San Jose or venture out to other tourist destinations.

I think the hotel is the perfect size. It is modern, clean, quiet, and very safe. It has first class security. There is a restaurant, casino, sports bar, and gym located on the hotel property. Also, there is a nice dining area to eat your free breakfast buffet. It has cable TV and a mini-refrigerator in each room. There is access to the internet from three different computers near the lobby area.

I would highly recommend the Downtown Sleep Inn to anyone visiting the city of San Jose or needs a location to travel Costa Rica.

Florida Resident

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest
We make the best effort to satisfy all the guest in our hotel. The hotel is improving every single days the custumer service. We really appreaciate all your good comments. If you have eny request, please let us now immediately. I really hope and want to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    62
    23
    15
    3
See reviews for
18
50
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel in in the san jose area, next to del rey hotel. The hotel would have gotten a five if not for guest fee of $35 dollars? Are you serious. The hotel is pretty clean, not picky there. The service is ok, they're very friendly and helpful. It's economical, because the shuttle to the airport of $30.00 is complimentary great deal. There are security guards so it feels pretty safe, but if you want to bring a guest go somewhere else.

Room Tip: if you want to stay for a night do it, other wise if you want to bring guest it's too expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest
If you buy a double room, you do not have to pay any additional fee, but it has to be the double rate in which is good. the double rate, only allowed to remain the same people who were in the room, on the dates indicated in the registration card. If you do not register as a guest, the policy is to charge $35. I invite you to visit us once again. For us is a pleasure to serve you. we are improving some policies and customer service to get better the hotel. I hope to see you soon over here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is fantastic in every way. The value is amazing. There is a free shuttle from the airport, that alone will save $30.00 each way. The rooms are extremely clean. The breakfast and the wi-fi are so perfect. I do not have anything bad to say about the hotel, the only problem is that there are mostly Americans that stay there. We witnessed some "ugly American" behavior there. There was a American there that told the front desk gentleman to step outside to resolve their differences. The employees at this hotel are sweet and professional. I want to give the hotel 5 stars for location and value, but if you stay there, please be kind.

Room Tip: We stayed in 307 and we enjoyed the view to the park. Make sure you go to the park on Saturdays, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your comments, we are happy to know you like our product, so we´ll keep the compromise to improve every day, in order to win the 5th star. Our staff will always take care of all the situations in the better way, so you can expect best attitude from all our people, thank you and hope to see you here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Hotel Sleep inn in San Jose has a location with street beggers all around. The rooms were O.K. but very dust and smells of mold, my wife had a asthma attack becuse of that, and could not sleep all night. In the morning their were no cups for coffee, in fact we had to wait for several minutes to get them.
The cups were different shapes and chipped. Over all Poor quality breakfast with poor service.
The manager and his staff were rude and and not helpful at all. One of our friend came to visit us, and he was taking us for coffee, he was asked to remove his car from the parking lot. During this discussion the manager was very rude. We had booked four rooms and I told him that you are in service industry and you should talk to customers politely and I will write a review in trip advisor, he told me do what you need to do.The only good thing about the hotel was availabilty of internet facilities.
I would not recommend people to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest
I am really sorry for yor experience you had at the hotel. We have some policy for the parking side. I ask to the receptionist and he explain everything about this situation. For the breakfast is one of the things that guest enjoy a lot. I invite you to come again. The customer service is improving a lot. The hotel was remodeled; so there is no dust any more. Everything is clean. I really hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hotel Sleep Inn in San Jose has a good location, the rooms are ok, standarized to the US type of hotel, however, the service is not good. The people at the reception dont seem to want to help the guest, they are very unflexible and have no good way of letting you know the policies of the hotels. We send our friends to the hotel because we thought it was a good centric place to stay in San Jose, but at the end of the trip they were very rude when we ask to park our car in the parking lot to visit our friends that where staying at the hotel, we were going to have a drink there before they left. Probably it is the policy of the whole hotel, but even the manager was not helpfull and was actually rude.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Sr.

Thank you for your comments, I being investigating about your experience, our apologies because this situation but there is a reason because we can´t offer our parking to people who are not staying at the Sleep Inn, we hope to serve you again, if you need to be visit by someone who are not a hotel customer, please ask at the front desk and fill the document we ask for, and we can keep your friends car for a few hours without problem.

Regards,

Alejandro Saborío Montero
Marketing and Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Paseo Las Damas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Located in the heart of San Jose's old town. Hotel is gated so is secure for you and your vehicle. Breakfast was reasonably good. Clean, comfortable rooms. There is a restaurant in a separate building on the same grounds - dinner was good and fair price. Handy location if you arrive late in the day from the airport, as we did.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

On a tour of Costa Rica our tour company booked us to stay at the sleep inn. Nice hotel but in a scuzzy area. The room was average but clean. We ate at the restaraunt next door in the casino which was very good however we had a window seat which had beggars playing music which made it uncomfortable until the waitress lowered the blinds. Also noticed many prostitutes on nearby streets. The hotel had a good sized free breakfast buffet although we never ate there. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would stay there again for hotel itself but may consider different cleaner area of town. Although if you want to be in the heart of San Jose this is a great option.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Address: Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y San Jose | Costado Oeste del Parque Morazán, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sleep Inn San Jose Down town is conveniently located in the heart of the city, only fifteen kilometers from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. It is only a short distance from tourist attractions like the Teatro Nacional, Museo de Jade, Museo de Oro, parks that are part of our national heritage, and many others.Our guests can start the day with a complimentary full American buffet breakfast, from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
San Jose Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn San Jose Costa Rica
Sleep Inn Costa Rica
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.