We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is ok, the service not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown to your Saves list
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y San Jose | Costado Oeste del Parque Morazán, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The hotel is ok, the service not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hotel Sleep Inn in San Jose has a good location, the rooms are ok, standarized to the US type of hotel, however, the service is not good. The people at the reception dont seem to want to help the guest, they are very unflexible and have no good way of letting you know the policies of the hotels. We send our friends to the hotel because we thought it was a good centric place to stay in San Jose, but at the end of the trip they were very rude when we ask to park our car in the parking lot to visit our friends that where staying at the hotel, we were going to have a drink there before they left. Probably it is the policy of the whole hotel, but even the manager was not helpfull and was actually rude.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Sr.

Thank you for your comments, I being investigating about your experience, our apologies because this situation but there is a reason because we can´t offer our parking to people who are not staying at the Sleep Inn, we hope to serve you again, if you need to be visit by someone who are not a hotel customer, please ask at the front desk and fill the document we ask for, and we can keep your friends car for a few hours without problem.

Regards,

Alejandro Saborío Montero
Marketing and Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Paseo Las Damas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    62
    23
    15
    3
See reviews for
18
50
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Located in the heart of San Jose's old town. Hotel is gated so is secure for you and your vehicle. Breakfast was reasonably good. Clean, comfortable rooms. There is a restaurant in a separate building on the same grounds - dinner was good and fair price. Handy location if you arrive late in the day from the airport, as we did.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

On a tour of Costa Rica our tour company booked us to stay at the sleep inn. Nice hotel but in a scuzzy area. The room was average but clean. We ate at the restaraunt next door in the casino which was very good however we had a window seat which had beggars playing music which made it uncomfortable until the waitress lowered the blinds. Also noticed many prostitutes on nearby streets. The hotel had a good sized free breakfast buffet although we never ate there. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would stay there again for hotel itself but may consider different cleaner area of town. Although if you want to be in the heart of San Jose this is a great option.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Quiet,safe,secure and a clean place to stay. Located in down town San Jose.Nice rooms,Very friendly staff. A great breakfast with lots of fresh fruit.Location it great with its own casino and restaurant.the food and service is very good.internet included ,front desk will book any side trips you want,will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the first and last night of our tour of Costa Rica- both times we found the rooms very good, and also the breakfast. The location in downtown allows to actually to take a walk around San Jose's center. The was also good internet connection (also the hotel's computers with a printer- we used fo print our boarding pass)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, very helpful and courteous staff. The restaurant has really good food and superior service. Wine was over priced, but I hear that is common in Costa Rica. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our weeklong trip. Front desk gladly made arrangements for a taxi to the airport for us at 4:30am. Although the location is 25-30 min from airport I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again when we return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Firstly, San Jose is not a very nice city. It is a typical concrete capital but seems to have major issues of cleanliness with rubbish being discarded everywhere. There is a distinct lack of remotely up-market restaurants, although plenty of MacDonalds, etc, and very little to do in the daytime other than walk around the shops.

We found the prostitutes (women and lady-boys) congregating around the nearby square to be intriguing (at least from our A/C taxi window), but not sure that this is a memory that you would want to take away with you from Costa Rica. Best to avoid that area at night, although we did not feel unsafe on the main shopping areas at any time of day or night.

The Sleep Inn was one of two hotels used by our group (the other being the Gran Hotel), and most likely one of only two decent hotels in the city! Whilst the Gran Hotel has 1930's character, this place could have been an anonymous Holiday Inn virtually anywhere. There was nothing really to fault the place, but it had nothing really to recommend it other than the proximity (45 minute drive) to the airport.

The room was spacious with a huge double bed, sofa, safe and fridge, together with separate bathroom with bath and shower - actually the only shower that was worthy of the name on our whole trip.

Breakfast was adequate, with a range of fresh fruit as you would expect, cereals (which we didn't try) and cooked options including the expected local rice and beans.

Wi-Fi was apparently available with a code from reception, but I felt should have been automatically given free. However, there were three PCs in the reception area available for use by guests. The "@" may take some finding on the Costa Rican keyboard!

One downside was the regular bells in the night, rung every half hour on the side of a nearby municipal building. It wasn't even a clock, so not sure what use it was apart from annoying visitors!

Room Tip: Choose one in the Gran Hotel instead. If you have to stay here, try to get one away from the bells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Address: Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y San Jose | Costado Oeste del Parque Morazán, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sleep Inn San Jose Down town is conveniently located in the heart of the city, only fifteen kilometers from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. It is only a short distance from tourist attractions like the Teatro Nacional, Museo de Jade, Museo de Oro, parks that are part of our national heritage, and many others.Our guests can start the day with a complimentary full American buffet breakfast, from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
San Jose Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn San Jose Costa Rica
Sleep Inn Costa Rica
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.