We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the choice hotels name and standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown to your Saves list
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y San Jose | Costado Oeste del Parque Morazán, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Quepos, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lives up to the choice hotels name and standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Everything was clean, staff were friendly and went out of thier way to accomadate our family. Some of the extra attention included -putting a sheet on our baby's crib, getting a high chair from the casino...very friendly! We would definitely stay again. the location is another plus, easy walk to most sights downtown!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sir.

Thank you for your comments, we are proud of our service and its really important to us, to know you like our efforts to make your stay unforgettable, we´ll be waiting for you and your family on your next visit to San José, and you will find a few changes in our product, because we are now improving our lobby and rooms, thank you once again and we wish you an excellent 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    61
    23
    15
    3
See reviews for
18
50
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I Have been Staying Here for 8 years 3 to 6 times average.The staff has changed.There is only 2 here now that have been here for the duration.Its noticeable in the service.My shower was broken this time.Breakfast sometimes if you come late can be dried out.Its best to go early.I love the shuttle driver.he goes out of his way to help you.If you like being close to the action .its close here.Theres a great sports bar around the corner.Food good and you dont have to deal with the mess at the Marlin Bar.

Room Tip: Get a room off the parking lot.Weekends.Week Days stay off the from main street.Buses start early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Good Hotel in downtown. Attentive staff and clean rooms. Nice breakfast. Employees speak good English. They would do your laundry and make a good drink for you at the casino bar. It's a gated property located in a rather shady area, but not far from nice restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed in several hotels around San Jose and most of them are in areas not worth the money. The problem in San Jose is that it is a typical downtown city in a Latin American country, full of people and not all of them with good intentions. Tourists stick out like sore thumbs and if you decide to walk around, it can get a bit tedious having many of the people asking for money or offering watches, sunglasses, tobacco, etc. You can only walk safely during the day anyway, so staying in an area where you can feel somewhat safer is important and the Sleep Inn is that place. The property is gated and there is a casino located on premises. They offer taxi services that help if you do not want to go out into the street to find one, especially at night. The rooms are excellent, room service is good and the free breakfast is awesome. Don't be looking for any kind of views from the hotel because it is located in a downtown area, but I'm not there to look out my window. The Mall San Pedro is close and so are several other things, but taxis are inexpensive if going a bit further. The Sleep Inn is not cheap per say, but it's worth the little extra, believe me...

Room Tip: All rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was ok being at this Hotel lats August. Rooms: OK: clean, yeah, was ok; Breakfast: ok, plenty...BUT the scrambleg eggs were a little green at the borders of the pan, so they might like to change that! Client Service: ok, not that they were particularly kind, just ok. Turism advisor: not always available. The person attending was sometimes absent. The system was down: nevertheless, I got good service and advise from the person. Location is good if you want to be near downtown (teather, cathedral, museum, etc..), the "zona peatonal, ( I mean, the walking streeets where a lot of stores and food places and busines are) and the zoo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

i reserved a room and was quoted $85 per night. when i checked out they charged me $135 a night for 4 nights. i requested that they change the price. they couldn{t do that because it was locked into the sytem. i asked to see the manager, and he was on a break. i had to leave to catch a flight. i called the next day, and they told me they could not change a charge already billed to the credit card company. so, they overcharged me $50 dollars a night for nothing. next time i will take my business elsewhere.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I've been staying here since it opened. (now aptly named -Paseo Las Damas). Unfortunately, not what it was. The rooms, though very clean, show signs of aging - ragged towels, tile/tub/shower head issues,etc. The reception staff can be quite ambivalent. I received better information from the tour desk operator. All in all, the location is great , if you're into the "Gringo Gulch" / Del Rey scene. I recommend getting a room facing Park Morazon, though there is traffic noise, better than looking out over their parking lot. Park Morazon, across the street, can be dangerous at night - be aware. They have an airport shuttle service (call to book), and room service from the Colonial. Despite all, will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Sr.

Thank you for your comments, we going to check the rooms where you have stayed in order to fix the problems you mentioned, also we are receiving a new package of towels for all the rooms in order to eliminate any other towel that shows signs of aging.

The tour desk operator its part of our staff and the idea its to offer better services so they will be always waiting for your questions, our front desk staff its very qualified and nice, its difficult to know the reason you thing our front desk staff could be better, but we going to take care of your comments and improve our service every day.

About the location, as all the cities its better to be carefull during the night when you take a walk in the park or other places, so we recommend to leave your expensive stuff in your room if you want to take a walk after 10:00 p.m., taking the normal previsions you won´t have any problem.

Thank you for your comments, have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Address: Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y San Jose | Costado Oeste del Parque Morazán, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sleep Inn San Jose Down town is conveniently located in the heart of the city, only fifteen kilometers from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. It is only a short distance from tourist attractions like the Teatro Nacional, Museo de Jade, Museo de Oro, parks that are part of our national heritage, and many others.Our guests can start the day with a complimentary full American buffet breakfast, from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
San Jose Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn San Jose Costa Rica
Sleep Inn Costa Rica
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.