We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud & annoying!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Pangea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Pangea to your Saves list
Hostel Pangea
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loud & annoying!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

We chose this place out of the Lonely Planet book for a night stay before we left CR. Thought it would be fun and an interesting place to stay since we were gonna be in the city :( It sucked coming back to the city after spending 4 days in Manuel Antonio.

For $25 we could have gotten a box with a bed & shared bath, so I opted for $5 more for a private bath since it would be more airy...no fans! They put us in a room that was right under the stairs to the bar & night club. We could not sleep all night because everyone was up partying & music was blaring. My boyfriend id 30 & I am 27, so we're not old fuddy duddies, but after no sleep all night, at 7 am people were up already causing a raucus! We were annoyed and dissapointed.

To all the people that stay at Hostel Pangea....

WHY ARE YOU PARTYING IN SAN JOSE?!? There are so many beautiful & fun places in CR, GO SOMEWHERE!!!

The halls are painted with cool murals, but we didn't see any mechanical bull like Lonely Planet says & food at the retaurant sucks!!

They do have free interent wich we took advantage of & the price of drinks at the bar was resonable with many options.

Our first night in CR we were in San Jose as well and we stayed at Costa Rica backpackers (across the street they have large quiet rooms with balconies for $28). I would recommend you stay there! Matter of fact I would recommend you skip San Jose all together if you can, it's not worth your time...I would have rather spent another day on the beach!

  • Liked — Free internet
  • Disliked — Loud music until 3 am!!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    72
    92
    82
    109
See reviews for
8
101
106
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

A friend and I stayed at Hostel Pangea our first night in Costa Rica. The hostel does have a lot of amenities- a small pool, rooftop restaurant and bar, free internet and many computers to check it on, and a pool table. Unfortunately we were less than pleased with our room. We had a private room with a double bed. The room was very poorly lit and sort of dingy looking. It had no windows, and it seemed as though the walls were paper thin (we could hear everyone playing pool or checking the internet as if they were talking in our room). Both the room and the shared bath were less than clean. If you're looking for a place to socialize with other backpackers this may be for you but don't book hostel pangea for the rooms. While it was pretty cheap, we found other places with comparable prices in San Jose that were a lot cheaper. Also they charge 7 dollars american one-way shuttle ride to the airport, which we did on the way there. A private taxi that you don't have to wait for though only costs fifteen american to the airport, so their shuttle is only a deal for one person.

  • Liked — Free fast internet
  • Disliked — Rooms and bathrooms were not clean!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feldkirch, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

It's a nice hostel. Free internet, safety boxes, clean rooms and a very very good and cheap food! They have also a pool. Nice.
The first time we had a room with a window - it was ok. The second time we became a storeroom with a bed. It was so small that the backpack had to be under the bed. In the ceiling were a hole - so we could look outside. At the second time they had problems with the warm water...
First look at the rooms then you will have a good time. Try the pancakes!!

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

For a hostel, this place is pretty good. San Jose is pretty much a dump, and this is a little bit of an oasis in the desert. The bathrooms aren't the cleanest, and the rooms can be a bit loud. But on the other hand, the upstairs common areas are great, there are computers with internet everywhere, the front desk/activity desk are very helpful, and the atmosphere's pretty good for meeting a lot of cool people.

Not exactly the place for a romantic getaway but a cool place to chill out with friends for a necessary stopover in San Jose.

A good base for a day trip whitewater rafting trip to the Pacuare or something.

  • Liked — The outdoor lounge areas.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

Overall the Hostel wasn't bad for the cost.

Pool: It had a really nice pool, unfortunately when we were there the pool was not in use since it needed cleaning and there were particles floating around the top layer.

Food: Absolutely amazing food and very very cheap.

People: The people that worked there were very nice and we even ended up going to the Casino with some of the guys one night. The people we met there was what made the trip memorable. We made friends from Phili, Hawaii, Canada, a pilot from Texas and various others from all over the world. We got very lucky with the friends we made and still continue to keep in touch with them.

Area: Watch out!! San Jose in general is not a very safe place. When I first saw the hostel I didn't even recognize it from the pictures of the website. The front door has a 2 storey metal gate with barbed wire on the top. In fact the entire street and most of San Jose that I saw was like a prison. Once you knock on the front door there is a guy that peeps through a small hole where you have to show your entrance papers or wrist band to get in. Once inside it is a very beautiful place. The bar even has a very nice view of the city. Also watch out for the pick-pocketers, prostitutes (who are actually transexuals - men dressed like women who you can't even distinguish except for their big hands and adams apple!! yikes!)

Otherwise, if you need to stay in San Jose I would definitely recommend this hostel, just be careful with the area and don't be fooled by the beggers.

  • Liked — staff and food and a great stop over place while in San Jose
  • Disliked — the bathrooms and unsafe neighbourhood
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't travel to San Jose if you don't have to. Better to fly into Liberia
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

I booked HP online and there were no problems. The hostel brags of a little more than it actually delivers. Upon arriving, my room was disgusting- there was trash everywhere, the bed hwas obviously unmade and the room's window opened on to where they stored garbage and bar supplies.

Here are my complaints in no particular order: the pool was tiny, the cars blocked any use of the hammacks, the airport taxi (although I shared the ride with two others, was not shared among the three of us). The phone calls were free, but they were only for 10 minutes, the spanish speaking guests got VERY different treatement, the blaring music started at 7am and didnt' stop until 1am, very uncool! The bar prices were much higher than in any other place in San Jose- and the service was slow. It took a min of 30 for anything to be made. The staff was barely motivated or helpful to make the stay any nicer. There wasn't one sheet to use, the showers had no doors, there was only cold water, the showers and toilets were extremely tempermental. No kitchen available and laundry service was 6 bucks. The tourist information was not helpful or willing to aide me in anything- only people in groups who didnt speak spanish were sold tours and guided around the city. Also. the front desk boasts of being able to exchange money- but were unable to in the 4 days and nights I stayed there: they didn't have enough money, they didn't have change- many excuses, but not suggestion or helpful hint to get to the nearest exchange house or bank.

The good points: free internet, free map of SJ, free calls to USA, central location, book exchange. Delicious patacones con guacamole.

  • Liked — free internet, tv, phone, use of pool and hammacks
  • Disliked — cleanliness,staff,inability to exchange money
  • Tips/Secrets — do not go in speaking Spanish- act helpless like you don't know anything and you will get great service.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2006

It is a hostel so it is very basic, however, it was clean, had a restaurant, pool, free internet, and tv and pool table in main area. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Pangea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pangea

Address: Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 58 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Pangea 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Pangea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pangea Hotel San Jose
Hostel Pangea Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Pangea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.