We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in downtown San Jose but with quirks and annoyances” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Pangea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hostel Pangea to your Saves list
Hostel Pangea
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great hostel in downtown San Jose but with quirks and annoyances”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was a bit tricky to find as there are no street address numbers in San Jose and you need to scan up and down the block carefully to see a small sign with the vertical sign "PANGEA" in front of a fortress-like street steel facade. It is nicely located a few blocks away from the night-life pedestrian malls, parks and museums and has ATMs, restaurants (Campero, McDonalds, KFC, Burger King, Pizza Hut, Taco Bell), bars and supermarkets nearby as well. The hostel features a small well kept *** swimming pool *** , rooftop bar and lounge area along with several computers for free Internet access to research your great Costa Rica / Central America adventure. The place is lively colorfully decorated with paintings and murals and features things like designer faucets and sinks. They have a convenient booking desk for Costa Rica tours and informative good English-speaking staff. All the bathrooms and showers are shared between male and female and shared between all the rooms. The 10 person dorm I stayed in (#5) was a "dead space" and became quite hot and stuffy at night but it is bearable if you get a bed beside one of the windows, else switch to a smaller dorm or a private room. They removed all electrical outlets from the dorms apparently as a result of a meddling backpacker tourist in the past who fiddled with the wiring nearly causing a fire, so you need to charge your cell phone and laptop computer safely either by leaving it with reception, or in the TV lounge room. I found the wi-fi only works reliably in the reception area and the TV lounge and is non-existent in the dorms and is spotty at best in the bar and pool area. Overall I liked it and would recommend it as a great cheap sleep and rest stop in a busy urban setting.

Room Tip: Dorms are US $14 payable in cash or equivalent in Costa Rica colones and they really don't want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    62
    81
    75
    100
See reviews for
8
89
96
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at the Hostel Pangea on my first and last nights in Costa Rica, arriving late and leaving early.

For both night stays, it was the airport shuttle which swung it - $20 if alone (cheaper than a taxi) and $11 if 2+ (which you find out at the time). Both journeys I ended up sharing - though I would like to have seen the $11 reduced given the 6-8 people sharing the trip. Still, it was cheaper than a solo taxi.

I stayed in a private double room with shared bathroom. No storage (not really needed for 1 night) and pretty dingy. But it did the job, and the showers and bathrooms were clean.

My stay on exit of Costa Rica was swung by the fact that the price of the 1 night stay + airport shuttle was the same as staying closer to the airport in the linked Costa Rica Hostel Network in Alejuela, but the Hostel Pangea had more facilities - especially the clean pool/sundeck and decent roof bar/terrace with PCs and Wifis etc.

The local area isn't great, and I wouldn't recommend walking outside alone at night, but if you're only there for 1 night the facilities mean you don't really need to!.

Room Tip: private double room with shared bathroom + airport shuttle = same price as staying in hostel near ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are very expensive for what they are, but the communal areas and pool make up for it. The wifi is quick, the staff were helpful and the food is pretty good (though pricey). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Whilst volunteering in Costa Rica earlier this month we passed through San Jose a few times, and were recommended this hostel by a few other travelers we had met along the way. I found this hostel more sociable then the previous one i had stayed at, but i would suggest booking in advance as i met a girl who had been turned away one night and came back another time. The facilities are basic but when travelling it is just what you need, the bar is ok although the staff were not always at the bar even at happy hour. The food service was good but a little pricey for backpackers, the swimming pool was a nice addition, even if a little small. The rooms was suitable and clean, however quite loud if the room is placed near to the bar which plays music quite late - not ideal if like me your were up at 5am for a bus or plane. The internet facilities were really good however, a fair amount of computers for people to use.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Even thought the location is very central and the common area and restaurant is quite nice (rooftop bar, food was ok), I cant recommend this place. The dorm rooms are basic, smelly, loud, broken plugs, the pool is dirty, the downstairs common room is filthy, and above everything the staff is very unfriendly and unwelcoming. if you want a to stay at a decent hostel in san jose, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: I heard hostel Van Gogh was nice, you should check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place is alright, but we didn't sleep well because of all the noise. However, the rooms are clean and there are hot showers. They also have a lot of computers to use. But a WARNING: Don't count on the shuttle! We emailed them a day before arriving to confirm and tell them we needed a shuttle to the airport. They said it was no problem and they'd arrange the shuttle for us when we arrived. However, when we arrived they told us the shuttle was full. When I asked them why they hadn't booked us on it when we told them we wanted one, they simply said that it hadn't been full then. No sense of responsibility. We were really frustrated, but in the end it worked out because it just so happens that the public bus that goes directly to the airport is a 15 minute walk and is dirt cheap! Overall, an OK experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hostel is good for young people that want to have fun! they have a pool table, pool and a bar. The area of the hostel is not very safe so its recommended to always take a cab. If you are looking for a quiet place to sleep then this hostel is not the place for you..
Also if you want to party outside the hostel you can go to "la calle de la amargura" which is good on week ends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Pangea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pangea

Address: Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Pangea 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Pangea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pangea Hotel San Jose
Hostel Pangea Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Pangea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.