We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good communal areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Pangea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Pangea to your Saves list
Hostel Pangea
Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive but good communal areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are very expensive for what they are, but the communal areas and pool make up for it. The wifi is quick, the staff were helpful and the food is pretty good (though pricey). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    67
    84
    77
    104
See reviews for
8
92
101
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Whilst volunteering in Costa Rica earlier this month we passed through San Jose a few times, and were recommended this hostel by a few other travelers we had met along the way. I found this hostel more sociable then the previous one i had stayed at, but i would suggest booking in advance as i met a girl who had been turned away one night and came back another time. The facilities are basic but when travelling it is just what you need, the bar is ok although the staff were not always at the bar even at happy hour. The food service was good but a little pricey for backpackers, the swimming pool was a nice addition, even if a little small. The rooms was suitable and clean, however quite loud if the room is placed near to the bar which plays music quite late - not ideal if like me your were up at 5am for a bus or plane. The internet facilities were really good however, a fair amount of computers for people to use.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Even thought the location is very central and the common area and restaurant is quite nice (rooftop bar, food was ok), I cant recommend this place. The dorm rooms are basic, smelly, loud, broken plugs, the pool is dirty, the downstairs common room is filthy, and above everything the staff is very unfriendly and unwelcoming. if you want a to stay at a decent hostel in san jose, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: I heard hostel Van Gogh was nice, you should check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place is alright, but we didn't sleep well because of all the noise. However, the rooms are clean and there are hot showers. They also have a lot of computers to use. But a WARNING: Don't count on the shuttle! We emailed them a day before arriving to confirm and tell them we needed a shuttle to the airport. They said it was no problem and they'd arrange the shuttle for us when we arrived. However, when we arrived they told us the shuttle was full. When I asked them why they hadn't booked us on it when we told them we wanted one, they simply said that it hadn't been full then. No sense of responsibility. We were really frustrated, but in the end it worked out because it just so happens that the public bus that goes directly to the airport is a 15 minute walk and is dirt cheap! Overall, an OK experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hostel is good for young people that want to have fun! they have a pool table, pool and a bar. The area of the hostel is not very safe so its recommended to always take a cab. If you are looking for a quiet place to sleep then this hostel is not the place for you..
Also if you want to party outside the hostel you can go to "la calle de la amargura" which is good on week ends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

$35 for a dull double room which was more like a prison cell, also had to share bathroom. We were really disappointed with the bar. It looks really cool but the wifi didn't work, really hard to get a bartender's attention and the drinks were expensive. Don't even bother with the food, we had a really long wait and then didn't get what we ordered. Both meals were overpriced and were pretty bad. Smokers beware. They have huge open air rooftop area but would not let me smoke there. Every time I wanted a cigarette I had to find my way down through this maze like hostel to the front door which they locked behind me leaving me smoking on a pretty dodgy street. I was really angry leaving here after paying so much for so little, worst hostel so far after 3 months travelling.
Ps. Their airport shuttle is a complete ripoff. You can get there by bus for about a dollar.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The majority of rooms do not have windows to outside, rather to the common hallways where you hear noises everywhere, and are all in ear-shot of the obnoxiously loud bar. You want a shower? Good luck getting water flow for more than 1 minute before it completely cuts out (we were here unfortunately for 6 nights... They had no refund policy... so only pay night to night or they will screw you over). The staff at the front counter and travel centre were friendly, but the night bar staff were rude. Drinks and food were overpriced. We had to change rooms one night, and did not get to check in until 4:00 pm, despite having to be out at 11 am, and regular check in being at 2 pm. They charge you for every last thing. Paid $9.00 for a small/medium load of laundry, and it wasn't even folded. The movie theatre projector had broken down too so that was off the table. Try somewhere else. Oh and the beds were the very worst I've experienced thus far in 5 weeks in Central America.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window to outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Pangea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pangea

Address: Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Pangea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pangea Hotel San Jose
Hostel Pangea Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Pangea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.