We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Pangea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Pangea to your Saves list
Hostel Pangea
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed in hostel pangea for one night. i was very surprised. It's a very big hostel. They have a bar with very nice coctails, a pool table and a very big wi-fi spot. breakfast was delicius! would defenetly recommend it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    72
    92
    82
    109
See reviews for
8
101
106
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We had booked 3 nights here before leaving the uk so we could explore San Jose and then move on. But we hated it so much we left after 2 nights and lost $30. The rooms have no natural light, literally have just a bed and the windows were smashed and boarded up. It's a central location but in a bad area. Room was clean, and we had hot water, but it felt unsafe and prison like! Communal area was good, nice roof top terrace and the food was lovely. Lots of computers to use. But you couldn't smoke anywhere in the hostel, even the large open air terrace. This meant if you wanted to smoke you had to go through the barred metal front and get harassed by cars beeping at you. Staff were unhelpful their 'tourist desk' was awful. They told us incorrect information which meant we were left stranded at a bus station not able to get to our next stop so we had to pay for a minibus to take us there! If you can avoid this hostel I would. We didn't enjoy it, or San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Facilities are good in this place; nice rooftop bar, swimming pool and decent food. Found the reception staff not too helpful though, seemed unable to cope with the number of people passing through probably due to Lonely Planet. I also wasn't a fan of the huge unisex bathrooms but that's down to personal choice and they were exceptionally clean. The room for 2 people we were in was the worst stayed in on a month long trip and one of the most expensive. Advice is definitely ask to view your room first ($40 for a room with nothing in but a metal bunk and no daylight was pretty depressing). This is a really clean place and so ok for a quick one night stop over.

Room Tip: View it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hostel Pangea is an OK spot if you're looking for a place to stay on your way in or out the country. It offers clean dorms, security, spacious and nicely decorated common areas and some traveller's advice on request. Bonus is the central location. Only the overpriced restaurant, loud music from the bar (even when no one is in it) and lacking of a communal kitchen (e.g. to prepare breakfast) are less positive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I quite liked it. From the outside I wasn't expecing much, but once inside it was very nice. The walls were painted beautifully in the common areas and the rooms were clean. When we arrived the man at the front desk was very nice and ready to help us. The roof top bar was nice, lots of room for big groups, and there was a beautiful veiw of the lights of San Jose at night. The man at front was very helpful calling us cabs and allowing us to stay a little later free of charge then what was officially allowed when our bus was running late.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hostel pangea charges for absolutely everything. Five dollars if you have to wait for your connecting bus after checkout, 13 to store your luggage, another 5 for a locker. The restaurant is expensive-$8 for a burger in a Latin American hostel bar???

The staff have been creepy and rude. I could see one guy watching me while as I was sitting at the pool. My key to my room suddenly stopped working after just getting out of the shower and had to go down to the reception area full of people with nothing but my towel on. When I expressed frustration they at first blamed me saying I was supposed to have checked out which was not true, there was no apology.

The shuttle to the airport is the only good thing about this place. If they didn't have a no refund policy I would have left. Stay somewhere else with more heart.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nicely decorated in common areas, but private rooms and dorms are drab and boring, with poor mattresses and a lack of power points. We felt it was overpriced ($14 dorm-$35 private). The staff were helpful, but curt and didn't get many smiles out of them. I recommend trying a different place for better beds.

Room Tip: check the privates before you book them
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Pangea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pangea

Address: Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 58 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Pangea 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Pangea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pangea Hotel San Jose
Hostel Pangea Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Pangea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.