We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Backpackers to your Saves list
Costa Rica Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Terrible Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends and I stayed here last week. The staff member who checked us in was extremely rude. When we asked for blankets and sheets (which our rooms did not have) he argued and implied that we were trying to sneak people into the hostel. When we asked to speak to a manager, he repeatedly lied about her whereabouts. Wi-fi did not work in our room, and we could not get the showers to stay consistently warm. Also, our pillows were flat and the bed was extremely stiff and creaky. When we politely expressed our concerns to the manager, she was rude as well. She said that we obviously did not know how to use the showers. (Yes, we understand Costa Rican showers work differently and followed the instructions posted in the bathroom!) She said that Wi-Fi is only guaranteed in certain public areas (despite the ad stating that rooms have Wi-Fi). She also said that the pillows and mattresses were new, so they could not possibly be uncomfortable. Overall, this was the least comfortable (and most expensive) hostel we stayed in in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: This was the worst (and oddly the most expensive) hostel we stayed in in Costa Rica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBackpackers, Owner at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Everything you say is a lie!
We checked you in and give you the small dorm you asked for, we gave you bed sheets, blankets, key and lock. Later that night you came asking for more bed sheets, when our receptionist went to your room you had more people sleeping in the same room. We received complains of the other girl in the room for the same situation!
We refused to give you MORE bed sheets and took the extra people out of the room for security reasons.
We will not allow under any reason more people in rooms they are not, the other guests deserve respect.
Our room as the manager told you have brand new mattresses and pillows.
After all the trouble you caused you still came next morning asking for a refund arguing nothing was working in the hostel and threaten us with lies everywhere in the country. It looks like you are just trying to travel for free!
WiFi works around the hostel and once we explain people how to use showers they all make it but you.
Then you sent us an email again asking for the money back and telling us that you would do exactly this, to repeat the words you said to our receptionist: "you will ruin us on the sites"
Stop telling lies and check all the hostels before you write something like this, you can even check here on trip advisor, we offer more for the same rates that the other have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    78
    57
    24
    14
See reviews for
4
61
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pool area is very Nice but somebody tried to rob me through the window (room 9) and the staff responded by saying this happends all the time?!? I could change beds But i think they should deal with the issue. Booked another hostel coming back to san jose

Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello!
Thank you so much for your feedback!
That does not happen all the time.
We are very sorry for the excuses the staff gave you!
We will make sure this won´t happen again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For a few nights in San Jose, this is a fine, well located hostel. And cheap if you choose the cheap dorm rooms.However some of the staff are rude and very unhelpful. You work in a hostel, in a transport town. Be nicer and helpful. We are already stressed out enough, chances are we have ripped off in San Jose, badly, we dont need any added stress of a rude hostel employee to make out day worse.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBackpackers, Owner at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello!
Thank you so much for you comments, they help us grow.
We apologize sincerely for the troubles this situation caused you.
We will make things right with the staff and check what it´s causing the bad service.
We always have great reviews about our staff so this really sets an alarm here.
Thank you so much and we hope you enjoyed Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This wasn't bad at all, except for the 6 am train. The place looks great with the hammocks. The rooms are OK. People are fun out there, it's liberty. The highest price we paid in costa rica.. This is a place to stay for one night or two maximum

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBackpackers, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your comments!
We are really glad you liked the hostel and we are always looking to improve!
Places outside San José are cheaper than the city, keep that in mind.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Now this place is not a bad looking hostel the kitchen, swimming pool & common areas are quite nice. The problem with this hostel is that the train that is in town passes right past this hostel all hours of the day first train starts around 4:30am - 5:00am with the horns blaring and continues all day and into the evening the music at the hostel to 11pm. Unless you are a heavy sleeper choose somewhere else to stay

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi!
Thank you for the feedback!
We are glad to hear that you liked our areas!
The train passes 5 times a day: 5:30 a.m. - 9 a.m. - 12 m.d. - 5 p.m. and 7 p.m.
We are really sorry about the horn but that´s out of our control.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The staff are friendly. Nice pool area and nice and affordable restaurant out back. Everything was clean in our room and restrooms but the place is worn out (lobby sofas have holes on the fabric etc small details). We had a private room, which in this hostel means a bunk bed. Showers were not the best but I guess that's typical in Costa Rica. There's a train track nearby and therefore for some people this place can be too loud. For us the track was not a problem. All in all an okay place for a few night's sleep, but it's a hostel so don't expect anything luxurious or fancy.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello!
Thank you for the feedback!
It´s really helpful for us!
We have new sofas in the TV room and Internet area now.
We also have private rooms with a double bed, you just have to check the difference when you are booking. There is the bunk bed or double option.
Best regards,
CRB Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose Metro, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I'm an older traveler who takes private rooms and had a great stay across the way at their companion location, Costa Rica Guesthouse but they were booked on the night I needed to so I took a private basement room in the Backpackers lodging. The room was in a dark hallway with no natural light or ventilation but it was only for one night. The bed was okay, the lighting was unpleasant but the nearby bathrooms were adequate. The problem with many of the backpacker places is you get a lot of...well,,backpackers..and that often means younger folks who are noisy, smoke or spend their days on the internet. I wanted something a bit better and so for $30 was not impressed. However, the pool was nice, the bar was good and there was a tv lounge, an on-site travel agency and really good front desk staff and a telephone. So, if you are a backpacker on a tight budget I would recommend the place but perhaps not for someone seeking a private room with a bit more quiet...and less cigarette and marijuana fumes. However, it is a good location and I did not hear the noise from the trains perhaps because I was in the basement...the dark and rather eerie basement.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello!
Thank you so much for taking time to review the hostel.
Yes, we are full of... backpackers! We love them! We know how noisy they can get sometimes, we are always checking that they don´t get loud so people can sleep.
We are glad you liked the common areas and the staff, we are trying to give our best every day!
You are absolutely right! We are great for a backpackers budget, that´s our specialty.
Thank you so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers' favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories ! Catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Backpackers San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.