We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, big hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Costa Rica Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Costa Rica Backpackers
Avenida 6, calle 21/23 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
heredia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location, big hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

They give you locks to main doors of dorm rooms which provides a but more security. Big kitchen equipped with basics, free coffee and tea. Nice courtyard area to swing in a hammock. Hot showers.

Beds more comfortable in dorm than private. Our private mattress was like a canoe, couldn't help but roll to middle.

Staff was nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    66
    46
    19
    10
See reviews for
4
47
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ambergris Caye, Belize
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I really appreciate this place. Hammocks, big kitchen, pool, Hot shower, free coffee.. Staff are helpful and nice. There is an office where funny and friendly people help you to plan your trip (by saving time and money)
They offer good yoga lessons and a pubcrawl. There is then a bar where a lot of Backpackers are drinking, playing Foosball, sharing tips and advises. I met there a lot of great persons.
I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have actually stayed here on couple different occasions - most recently August of 2013. For $10 a night in the mixed dorm you get everything you could possibly expect from a hostel. Decent bed, sheets, pillow, towel, warm showers***, decent wifi, free coffee in the morning, and there is even a bar on site (with nightly drink specials). It's located downtown and is close to all the bus terminals, and several markets.

The crowds have always been a bit of a mix, young enough to keep things lively - but mature enough to not be obnoxious. The staff is what really makes this better than the rest - they have a full cleaning crew, kitchen attendants, and bartenders. The front desk staff is the best I've seen. Multilingual, extremely polite, and very knowledgeable.

This is a HOSTEL people! and my review is based on that. Other reviews might be more critical, and mine would of too - if I was expecting it to be a HOTEL! If you want hotel-like accommodations spend $60-$70 bucks and stay at a hotel. If you want a well run Hostel, in the heart of town, frequented by many friendly travelers, pony up the $10 and crash here for a while. It's laid back, and everyone is helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Small private room. And small bed, the restaurant food is pretty good. The pool area is pretty small. Not modern by any standards. The staff was friendly, and there shuttle guy was also. If you need a cheap place ro stay the nt, I guess it will do. But would not suggest more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Basic dorm rooms and pretty average bathrooms. Small pool in the middle of the garden bit but the weather unfortunately wasn't nice enough when I was there! The restaurant is pretty expensive and not great (and really dark!) but I had just flown into the country and was on my own for the night so didn't particularly feel like heading out into the city at night to find an alternative. They have wifi (works just in the area by reception) and 4 computers which was useful. The member of staff at reception when I arrived wasn't particularly friendly and just checked me in and pointed me in the direction of my dorm without so much as a smile but the bar staff were nice.
Only real issue was I booked their airport transfer which I was told would pick me up and bring me to Costa Rica backpackers. However when I met the driver, he actually sent me off in a taxi - slightly unnerving as I had been given strict instructions by email from the hostel not to take any transport apart from the costa rica backpackers van. Anyway luckily it was all fine but would be good if the hostel could warn that this might happen.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had arranged a $24 airport ride with them (which they confirmed via email) since our flight was a red eye and we got in early morning. After getting off the plane we waited 45 minutes for their van, turning down offers of cheaper fares from cabbies, since their confirmation stated that we would still have to pay their fee if we took alternative transport. We patiently waited since we saw many others who had been on the plane with us wait for vans as well.

After 45 minutes we figured something was wrong, since all the other passengers had been picked up and we were the only people left waiting. So, we borrowed a phone and called the office. To my surprise the rude receptionist simply said their driver "was not coming" without any explanation or apology. As a result we had to pay $26 for some random guy, who could afford to overcharge us since there were no other cars/taxis left. At the minimum the hostel should have reimbursed us for the difference since we relied in good faith on their confirmation email and waited--which was sent only a few days before our arrival. The money is less frustrating than the fact that the entire thing was handled in a very haphazard manner without any advanced notice to us, as if oversights like this are commonplace. Overall a bad way to start what has been a great trip.

After we arrived I noticed that the receptionist who we spoke to on the phone was very rude and brief to other guests (who had asked why the wifi was not working). The wifi did not work for us as well, but this is pretty common problem for all hostels, and I don't hold it against them as much as how unprofessional the receptionist's behavior was to other guests.

The room we stayed in was a very small and dark, but it was reasonable given the low price.

The one redeeming thing about this hostel is that the next morning there was a different staff member at the desk and he was more than helpful and nice, helping us arrange for transport to Monteverde and giving us tips for our half day in San Jose.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello,
We are very sorry about this situation, we didn´t know about the airport pick up, we normally confirm our shuttle reservations by email and we have people at the airport 24/7.
We never have problems with the airport shuttle that is really efficient.
We sincerely apologize and we will make sure that none of those things happen again.
We have great staff here that makes sure to help people with anything they need as you can see in all the other reviews.
Thank you for taking time and letting us know what we need to improve in.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My first day in Costa Rica was spent at this hostel, and it was a very good time. The hostel itself seems very average, however it is equipped with certain amenities that make it very noteworthy. The pool is great. The attached bar is really convenient and fun, and we met a lot of cool people as a result of the presence of this meeting place. The food and drinks are very reasonable. The rooms are okay, nothing great, so come here if you are looking for a good social experience, not a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello!
We are truly glad that you liked it, we hope you had a great time in Costa Rica.
We are now improving our rooms and giving them more style, so next time you come here you´ll enjoy more!
Thank you very much, we really appreciate you taking time to let us know your likes and dislikes.
Hope to see you soon around here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Address: Avenida 6, calle 21/23 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Specialty lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers’ favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories, catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Backpackers San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.