We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Costa Rica Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Costa Rica Backpackers
Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Had a great time here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My first day in Costa Rica was spent at this hostel, and it was a very good time. The hostel itself seems very average, however it is equipped with certain amenities that make it very noteworthy. The pool is great. The attached bar is really convenient and fun, and we met a lot of cool people as a result of the presence of this meeting place. The food and drinks are very reasonable. The rooms are okay, nothing great, so come here if you are looking for a good social experience, not a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello!
We are truly glad that you liked it, we hope you had a great time in Costa Rica.
We are now improving our rooms and giving them more style, so next time you come here you´ll enjoy more!
Thank you very much, we really appreciate you taking time to let us know your likes and dislikes.
Hope to see you soon around here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    67
    47
    19
    10
See reviews for
3
48
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place was our base station (and home) in San Jose. Really lucky to have stumbled down to this place! From the outside it may not look like much, but once you get in, you realize what a chill-pad this place actually is. You can choose different options to chill - hammocks, couches, swimming pool, beach chairs, they've got it all! The dorms are decent, nothing spectacular but as a backpacker you shouldn't be expecting more. What is really important to a backpacker is clean toilets and showers, and these guys score in that area.

There's a restaurant at the back. I had food thrice in that place, and it was pretty good twice. The third time was just a bad day for the cook or maybe a bad cook, I guess. Do try the chicken sandwich, it is absolutely fresh.

The staff is absolutely brilliant. There's a travel desk in the hostel to plan your trips, and I must give credit to Diane for spending a lot of time with us to plan out exactly the kind of trip we needed. And the rates are really reasonable too! I suggest giving this a look even if you're a backpacker, because you might save instead of spend more with some of the packages. Diane also handles the bar on some days and she and the other Irish bartender, Darragh, are really awesome and funny people. Also, Steve at the reception is really awesome and handles 10 things at a time, and does all of them with perfection.

There's also free wi-fi and about 5-6 computers that you can use to browse for free. This place has all that you, as a backpacker, need. Must revisit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stopped off in San Jose for only one night intentionally, but ended up staying longer! Beds are comfy and the staff are all really friendly. Found this to be a really nice chill out spot with the bar area just next to the pool too. The food is dead nice and real cheap, but also has a well equipped kitchen! Definitely the place to stay in San Jose in my opinion!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Really great chilled place to spend a few nights in San Jose. Nice staff and an amazing pool! The bar is open till late and the food is really nice and quite cheap. Comfortable beds and free Internet and computers to use anytime.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hostel was a nice and quaint place for the two non consecutive days we stayed there. It was in close enough walking distance to everything. The Irish bar keep, Darragh, was a blast who has a both great cocktail and social skills. He entertained us with stories and was a definite reason to revisit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were only there for one night, but got a pretty good feeling of the place. Its not that close to anything, but taxi's are CHEAP around town. I think one way from the cocacola bus station was 2000 colones (approx $4). The reception hosts were friendly and spoke english; gave us all the pertinent information and offered us a breakfast for an additional $2.50 each. Consisted of eggs, toast, gallo pinto, OJ and coffee. A good portion of food that set us up for the day.

There is a pool area with hammocks, restaurant/ bar and a few couches in the main building within range of wi-fi. I felt very safe there with a locked doorbell entry front gate and secure rooms. Showers were a decent size and had a little temp gauge. You have to be aware that any showers with heat in central america are heated by electricity so DO NOT reach above the shower head. Not everywhere has a sign detailing this. Very important to remember.

Over all a pretty good place to stay and had a chill backpacker vibe. Stayed in a private double with shower down the hall for $15 each. They ask you to book online and give your credit card number but they don't take the money until you get there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBackpackers, Owner at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello!
We are very glad you liked our hostel!
Thank you for letting us know which things we must improve to be better!
Please remember we are about 10 minutes walking from downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. Our university group used CRB as a hub in San Jose between trips out to both coasts, La Fortuna, etc. No complaints about the place. Our group particularly liked the chance to meet travelers from around the world and hang out at the bar after a long day of travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers' favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories ! Catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Backpackers San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.