We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new standard for service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct - 15% off!
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A new standard for service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I must thank the team at the Adventure Inn, not only did they provide a lovely stay with gracious service at a very fair price, with a delightful breakfast; They all went out their way, to assist with every need we had. Well done- you deserve a big 10! Thank you

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    476
    90
    47
    17
See reviews for
438
696
214
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is close to the airport and easy to find. When you arrive you are greeted with a family style hotel that is hard to ignore.The front desk is friendly and inviting. The staff bi-lingual and smiling.
The rooms are spacious and clean and modern with all the things you would expect in a 4 star hotel for a 2 star price.
The manager is the most accessible guy ever ( really ). Want anything .....ASK. He negotiated the price for the rental car. Who does that?
The restaurant has great food and staff. Introduce yourself to Manuel and you will be a friend for life(we are).
It is safe,central,and convenient. Don't pass this place up, you will regret it!

Room Tip: Get one with a jaccuzzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I'm halfway through my stay and unless something changes this is going to be a favorable review.

It is close the airport and just off the highway leading into San Jose, but surprisingly the hotel is insulated from the noise of the freeway.

I won't say it is in the middle of nowhere, but it should be used as a home base for day trips. There is a small park with waterfowl down the street, it is close to a grocery and it is along a strip of hotels. Not next to each other, but in a hotel zone. The most incredible chocolate shop, Nahua, is just down the street.

My room was very comfortable, very clean and no complaints at all. Wifi available in the room, but a computer room with 4 public computers is also available.

Everyone is different, and for me I rented a car and am day tripping every day. They hotel does arrange adventure tours and although I didn't take one personally, the people I talked to had nothing but good things to say.

The hotel made all the arrangements for me to rent the car. The car was dropped off right at the hotel and that is where it will be left. Very good service.

A breakfast was included with my room. Absolutely delicious fresh fruit buffet and it also included coffee and juice. I also was allowed to order a traditional breakfast off the menu if I wanted (bacon, eggs, pancakes, etc). A great way to start the day. Lunches and suppers off the menu here we very good,

Pool area is nice, kept clean and a great spot to relax after a day of touring.

Staff is extremely freindly and accomodating.

If my go to place is booked in Costa Rica, this will definately be my number 2.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wonderful- great people- great service -room excellent- food awsome- drinks great very helpful and friendly. Anything I needed they found- breakfast was a great value. dinner was a good value and great food- pizza and pasta and the local dishes. .Walking distance to the ATM. They made all the arrangements for me to travel in the city and I had to do nothing except enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool if you like quite. They will go out of their way to help you find what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericadventureinn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
When you spelled the title 'Adventrue Inn', I wonder if that was a typo or intensional. If it was intensional, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our first and last night in Costa Rica. It was super close to the airport with free shuttle service, free breakfast every morning and super friendly staff. The rooms were spacious and clean, the pool and jacuzzi was lovely. I loved the Mayan art, murals and sculptures that decorate the hotel from ceiling to floor. A wonderful beginning and ending to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Airport shuttle was waiting for us as we walked out of airport and we were checked in and in our room within 15 minutes. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Perfect location away from traffic and a beautiful area especially for a run after a long flight. Wonderful breakfast and some of the best pancakes I've ever had. We were looking for a place on the beach for a few days before beginning a tour and they arranged a nice hotel on the beach in Manuel Antonio and arranged door to door transportation. This was our second stay at the Inn and it was as wonderful as our first stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We spent all 5 nights at the Adventure Inn, it is about 15 min from the airport. Our room was very big, comfortable, clean and the Wi-Fi was really good in the room, it was bit humid but not a big deal. The food, specially breakfast was fantastic, great menu selection and everything delicious specially their fruit juices. The pool was not big but we had it pretty much to ourselves the whole time. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. They were a great help in booking our tours. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.