We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct - 15% off!
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bad hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Bad Hotel!!!
We paid $ 120 per night (Includes taxes), worth a maximum $ 70 per night. We were in eight hotels in Costa Rica and this was the only disappointing one, and was a bad hotel.
Old and smelly dark rooms.
There's really no reason for the high rating.
Breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
I am not sure why we this person thought we deserved to be called 'bad'. Maybe something unfortunate happened at check in and they only focused on what they could complain about after that. The hotel was built in 2001 so it isn't old, some rooms let more light in than others, but none are too dark as they all allow natural light in, nor are any 'smelly' as he stated. Is this review even legitimate? All rooms are relatively modern (check out our website) and spacious, and have A/C, lighted ceiling fans, two new queen beds, telephones with free international calls, free WiFi, a reading table and chairs, an in-room safe ($1 / day), cool tile floors, coffee makers, hair blowers, a private four or five piece bath with a generous amenity basket and most rooms have large new flat screen TVs. As far as value, what $70 hotel offers free airport transfers? Other San Jose hotels cost you $30 each way by taxi from the airport. We have a nice pool area and Jacuzzi, a gym, four guest computers, free guarded parking, a great little restaurant and bar and a huge breakfast offering basically anything normally served for breakfast. Our decorating style is unique; lots of exotic plants, Mayan statues, and Costa Rican murals, maybe not everyone's taste but at least fun and interesting according to most guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    476
    90
    47
    17
See reviews for
438
696
214
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Coast B.c.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hubby & I have stayed here several times including last year .
Such a convenient place to call "home base" or just relax before or after an international
flight.
(Which included free airport shuttle with reservations)
Staff is always pleasant and helpful and the breakfast included is just great; whatever your taste.
Nice and close to the airport.
Rooms are simple but nice and clean.
Will come back again.

Room Tip: Upstairs has nice rooms away from roadside with quiet reading/library area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteborg, Sweden
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A very cosy hotel far from any international chain. Perfect for a stop-over or shorter stay. Not sure if I would chose it for business but great when on vacation as you will meet fellow travellers.

First occastion we got a room on the second floor. Fairly basic but with plenty of hotwater, wifi and two large beds. As we arrived late the kitchen was closed but the reception managed to order som take-away for us!
Free reliable shuttle service to and from the airport.
I thought the included breakfast was one of the better we received througout our trip. First there was a continental buffe with fresh fruits, freshly squeezed juice, bread, cereals etc. Additional to that we could order a hot dish from the menu - also included -pancakes, omelettes etc.

Second occasion we got a room in the back of the hotel at the swimmingpool. The air inside was kind of stiff but worked for one night. As we left early we missed out of the breakfast but got some sandwiches to go.

Between our visits we were able to store our suitcase with winter clothing behind the reception.

Never used the swimmingpool or the gym.
Bear in mind this is not a five star hotel but a nice, friendly place to start and end your vacation at or spend a few days while visiting San Jose.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at the Adventure Inn on our first night in CR based on other trip advisor reviews. The hotel is 10 minutes from the airport and provides a complimentary shuttle (make your reservation online through hotel website). The hotel offers everything you need but is slightly dated but comfortable. The ambience is very Costa Rican with bright colors and a tropical breeze. What sets the Adventure Inn apart from some other hotels is their willingness to help you out with tours/transportation during your stay. When you make a reservation you will get a wonderful welcome letter from the owner, Eric, that has everything you need to about visiting Costa Rica. If you want to use the hotel as your base they will take care of all of your side trips. They can arrange a shuttle for you or a car rental and have great recommendations on everything from food to banking to the Tico culture. The morning breakfast is really good offering local specialties on a buffet along with a meal choice from a menu. If you pay with US $ cash you will get a 10% discount. At the airport there will be people offering to help you find your ride. Just walk out the doors and bear right and you will find the Adventure Inn shuttle. If you seek local flavor with personalized service then this is the hotel for you...if your expectations are 5 star rooms then you should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road may be a little loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked this hotel because it is less than 10 minutes from the airport and received good reviews on this site. However, this hotel wasn’t for us. The shuttle did come on time the next morning, and the restaurant was enjoyable for appetizers and drinks. However, our room (Room 21) had no window, and the beds were uncomfortable and a bit outdated. We were on the second floor, there are no elevators. The front desk staff, while efficient, were not overly friendly and surprisingly, did not offer to help with the luggage. While the hotel is average and was acceptable for one night, we’ve stayed at other, more comfortable hotels at the airport at a more reasonable rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry the hotel wasn't what you expected. Room # 21 HAS a nice window that overlooks the pool down below and through the trees of the park behind the hotel, you can see the distant Escazu mountains. All rooms in Adventure Inn have windows, most to the outside, some with windows into the solarium, with its diffuser panels to allow natural light to enter, so I am not sure how to address his complaint, it is black or white, it either has a window or it doesn't, and yes, I am sorry but it has a 5' by 4' window from the main room and a second window to the outside from the bathroom. Also, all the beds in Adventure Inn are less than two years old and are hotel-grade semi-orthopedic, sorry if this reviewer found his new queen size bed uncomfortable, most people say they have a great night's sleep on them. Yes, Adventure Inn has two floors, but to help you with your luggage, we have a 24 hour guard to assist you, I'm not sure why they didn't use him, or guests can simply request a ground floor room if stairs could be a problem. I think if these guests looked around they would be hard pressed to find an accommodating hotel in our area that offered better value; free airport transfers, free international phone calls, large fully equipped rooms, free WiFi, a huge breakfast, great city/airport location, a nice pool area, gym, four guest computers, and staff with excellent knowledge and assistance for transfers, car rentals and tours from our door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Scarborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I went backpacking across Costa Rica for two weeks. We wanted our first stay to be comfortable and relaxing after our long flight. We were picked up from the airport and brought to Adventure Inn. The check in was easy and we confirmed our first adventure of the trip which was White Water Rafting in the morning. Adventure Inn set everything up for us all we had to do was be up and ready for 6am pick up (They even packed us a great lunch). Our room was way more than we expected it to be. We spent the night having drinks (from the hotel bar) and getting to know our neighbors from Nova Scotia. I only wish we could have stayed a few more nights one night was far too short of a stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Adventure Inn-San Jose CR is amazing!! We would stay here again without a doubt. We stayed 2 nights upon entering the country, as well as our last night in the country. All 3 nights were perfect. The breakfasts, the dinners, the rooms, the pool.....and especially the staff...none of it could possibly have been any better!
The staff advised us on how to catch the local bus into San Jose to do some sight seeing, as well as info on getting back to the Hotel and we had no problems whatsoever.
We had a very early morning flight out of Costa Rica (breakfast would not have been served yet), but..... along with our wake-up call, we received 2 breakfasts to go which included juice boxes, fruit, and some delicous loaf (kind of like banana bread). It sure hit the spot when the line up at the Airport came to a standstill!
Would absolutely stay again:)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, getaroom.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.