We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Jose Layover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct - 15% off!
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
“San Jose Layover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had spent most of time in San Juanillo and La Fortuna -- our connection in San Juanillo- Paski Adventures ( great too ) recommended that when we fly out of San Jose try the Adventure Inn. Most American gravitate to Amer Hotels, making a big mistake. The staff at the Adventure Inn were outstanding. Great English speakers. Food was awesome. Breakfast was the best we had on our trip. And the rooms were very clean. Cool place. Costa Rica Hospitality at its finest. Shuttle to Airport. Would and will stay here again. Pura vida

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    492
    91
    48
    18
See reviews for
470
712
221
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I don't get it. I booked this place solely based on it's rating and was thoroughly disappointed. First off, everything is just old.

The showers alternate between 5 seconds of hot water and 5 seconds of cold water.

The gym, if you can even call it that, is a joke.

To get to the market down the street you have to walk about 6 inches away from the main road, which is pretty unpleasant.

Small TV, no mini fridge, loud and barely functioning AC.

I guess it's relatively cheap.

Honestly though, if you are going to pay 100 dollars a night, why not pay an extra 50 and stay in a classy new hotel that is actually in San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Manager at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please note that we take all constructive criticism seriously. Adventure Inn was built in three stages, 1996, 2001 and 2010, so to say we are old doesn't quite reflect the reality. Perhaps it is all the stone work we have added, mature plants and our resident artist's wall paintings that give it an impression it has been here longer.

Currently our smallest TV is a 28", but because of guest comments like this one, we are slowly transitioning to having only larger LED TVs, and within the next few months, we will have brand new quieter A/C throughout.

This person took the wrong route to the Fresh Market, and should have taken the quiet relaxing neighbourhood, just about as fast as walking down the highway service road and much more pleasant. Not that you will need one, but we have a free local area road map available at our front desk for anyone who requests it.

Some people coming from North America do not understand the concept of an on-demand shower, however this is by far the most popular type of shower in Costa Rica. With on-demand showers, if you increase the flow of the hot water, a few seconds later the water will actually get cooler. Our 24 hour front desk staff are more than happy to assist you with a 30 second crash course if you have trouble getting the water temperature to be adjusted correctly, however almost everyone can figure this out by reading the small sign inside the shower wall that explains it.

If this person wanted a mini-fridge, why didn't he reserve a Jacuzzi suite which also includes a microwave, and a nice sitting area overlooking the upscale Los Arcos neighbourhood and the distant Escazu mountains?

As this guest mentions, you can always stay at a hotel in downtown San Jose for $50 more, but remember you'll be paying around $30 each way for your airport taxi (ours are free), $1 or $2 per minute for your international phone calls (ours are free), extra for your WiFi (ours is free), and line up to use the guest computer (we have four of them), and our complimentary breakfast is hard to beat for what we offer. After some time in central San Jose, most guests appreciate returning to our uncrowded, quieter, unpolluted and safer neighborhood.

With the open Internet, it's hard to please everyone all the time, we certainly aren't perfect, but I think most people like the sincerity of our hand-picked team of friendly and accommodating staff, and the fact that we offer many more value added and personalized services than most of the larger hotels for less money. And that, to answer the question posed in the title of this review, must be how we are currently #2 on TripAdvisor in San Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The room was huge, the service was friendly, the restaurant convenient and the free shuttle to the airport quick and timely. Considering the short amount of time we usually spend in San Jose (usually just the night before an early flight out) this worked out beautifully. There's even a cool little pool outside the bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here at the start and the end of our visit to Costa Rica. The staff was friendly and efficient. The accommodation was clean and quiet. When you consider the included very nice breakfast, transportation to the airport, and phone call back to the states the room rate is very reasonable. Should we return to Costa Rica the Adventure Inn will once again be our choice in San Jose. Thanks, Glenn

Room Tip: Rooms 26 or 28 are the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Arriving in a foreign country at night can be nerve-wracking, but the staff at Adventure Inn made it a breeze. Surw, there's fast, reliable free wi-fi and a nice pool by the bar, but the highlight of our visit was the accommodating staff. Nancy helped us figure out how to navigate to our next destination by public bus, exchanged some of our US dollars to Colones for bus fare, and when it turned out we had to check out at 6am, she reserved us a cab and even packed us a lunch! As a result, we'll be returning for the last night of our Costa Rican odyssey. Thanks Adventure Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place is dedicated to making your stay comfy and easy. The staff is absolutely incredible! The place was clean as a whistle in all corners.

If I had to make only one criticism, it is a very tiny one: the restaurant and all of its staff were fabulous and all meals were fresh, hot and delicious. However, it would benefit them to become familiar with what Americans expect when ordering a ribeye. The ribeye special was tasty but not what an American would expect: very small and as thin as an iPhone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

i've stayed at adventure inn several times now, for several reasons: the place is immaculate; the front desk staff is professional, welcoming and extremely on point (they even helped me sort a shady cabbie's attempted shakedown); the restaurant experience is top shelf, the wait staff perfectly mannered (and extremely attractive); big, clean rooms in an easy, cozy, relaxing environment; right-priced.. right move.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
4.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
5.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#15 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#6 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
4.5 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.