We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adventure inn, san jose, costa rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct - 15% off!
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“adventure inn, san jose, costa rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

just wanted to pass along to the nice people working at the Adventure Inn near the San Jose airport that you made our stay that much better. We used the inn as a starting and ending point of our CR vacation, flying in at night and flying out in the early am. Adventure Inn provided great service getting us to and from the airport as well has having a very nice restaurant, thus preventing its patrons from having to find a local restaurant. Believe me, considering where the hotel is located, that would not be a trivial pursuit. The bartender, Mike, was a great conversationalist and being from Michigan, it was easy to communicate our questions about CR to him. I would highly recommend anyone flying to CR to use the Adventure Inn as a starting point -- they are able to provide a multitude of services and a wealth of information regarding tourism in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Actually, there are several nice restaurants in a new open-air mall about four blocks from Adventure Inn, another six within a ten minute walk, and if you cross the foot bridge over the highway, maybe fifteen minutes, is a large mall with everything from a food court to fine dining. In total there are over thirty restaurants within a fifteen minute walk or a two minute drive of Adventure Inn. Of course, especially at night, instead of wandering the streets, we do love when guests just decide to safely dine in-house to enjoy the value, convenience and home-made Tico and international dishes of our own open-air restaurant, the MoonGlow Bar and Grill, open daily until 9:30 pm for full entres, and up to 11 pm or later for lighter meals and snacks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    484
    90
    48
    18
See reviews for
451
706
217
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Adventure Inn in December before going to other parts of Costa Rica. The staff was fantastic, the room was very nice, and the value was incredible (breakfast and airport transportation included). I wish we had stayed longer. Highly recommend this property.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on both ends of our trip in and out of San Jose. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was very nice. Airport shuttle was awesome and the beef nachos at the hotel restaurant were great. We would stay there again. The only down side was if you wanted to walk into town I didn't know where that was. But we landed late and this place was perfect. We had 2 beds for 4 people so it was great for the family......you also can beat the price.....the rental car company dropped off at the hotel and was there to pick up when we got back....

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater MA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hi I booked the Adventure Inn as part of a Desafino tour package. My room was great. The staff at the front desk couldn't have been nicer and they also let me call home for free. They have internet access and they had a great drinks. What I ordered in the resturant wasn't cooked properfly and they took it right off the bill without me having to ask. The transportation was free. I would reccomend paying cash at the hotel because you can get an additional discount. Breakfast was included and it was excellent. You can order off the menu. The location was good not too far from San Jose City center but in a safe area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Check in was easy and hospitality was ever present.. I inquired about an upgrade room and got a good deal.
Wi fi no problem and gym is open 24 hours. Cool bar and lounge and food . You can walk to a casino about 20 minutes away or stroll around . Taxi buddies there will take you where ever you want or they can sugggest about anything you desire for cheap.I liked it because it was away from the downtown district where a gringos are hunted after hours.Safe , sane and a bargin.

Room Tip: Haggle. It is o.k. here to get what satisfies you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our group of five really enjoyed staying at Adventure Inn, both for the convenience to SJO airport and because it was outside of San Jose (we wanted to avoid driving in the city). We stayed there for three non-consecutive nights and each experience was great. The room was spacious and clean, no major noise problems while we were there, and a decent, large breakfast was included with the stay. We ate at the hotel's restaurant for dinner as well, which was not the best but it was convenient. The staff members were friendly and helpful. We also rented a car through the hotel which worked out perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After searching tripadvisor for decent accommodations in San Jose saw that adventure inn was listed as #2, and for the price, it looked like a good value. We originally were supposed to stay our first and last nights at the Adventure Inn, but after a major snafu with Delta airlines we ended up getting routed through Nicaragua and had to spend our first night in Managua. Mike and Eric were extremely accommodating with our travel issues, and still arranged for us to meet the rental car company the next day at the San Jose airport. I must mention that I ended up renting a car through Adventure Inn, which worked out so well because we only had 6 days in Costa Rica and we like to be able to come and go as we want. We also found our hotel in Manuel Antonio through their website.
So for the hotel itself, they clearly have done a great job to add some American comforts to the ecological philosophy that is a common theme throughout Costa Rica. The decor is comfortable and thoughtful, despite what another review had said. The pool was the highlight for our six year old, and the jacuzzi was much appreciated by my husband after our travelso
through the country. The staff were all very helpful from the moment we entered. Bathrooms are easily accessible in all areas. Our room was located in the main corridor so I suppose we were spared some of the noise from the pool and restaurant area that I read in other reviews. I would imagine that the white noise from the AC would block out most outside noises anyway. Our AC worked great. I was also so thankful for the extra pillows on the beds and the hand towels, since we had been traveling in the ecological manner for the last week. That can often be a challenge with the messes a 6 year old can create. The beds were great, and as we requested we had our 4:15am wake up call and a breakfast waiting for us when we checked out. That was so nice of them, because it really did make a difference once we arrived at the airport. The taxi was early for the airport, and I was very glad we decided to rent the car through them so that we did not have to return a rental car and worry about arriving for our flight on time.
There was really only one downside to our stay, and even this was not a major thing since there are other nearby restaurants. The Moon Glow offers an array of American and Costa Rican dishes. We opted for something easy by ordering nachos, a chicken sandwich and a hamburger. Service was a bit on the slow side, even though our server was very sweet. There was complimentary garlic bread served, but it was burned and looked to have either margarine or oil poured over it after it had been toasted. We normally think of garlic toast being toasted after the oil and seasonings have been applied. One of the staff then told us that the hamburgers were still frozen (this a faux-pas in restaurants- no one wants to know they are ordering a frozen piece of meat - just say you are out of hamburgers!) and so we substituted for spaghetti. Our food was served, and I was a little surprised by the tiny salad that came in a ramikan. The French fries appeared to be homemade, although a little soggy, but nothing some salt and mayo couldn't help. My husbands nachos were soggy and the appearance was not esthetic. I should mention that my husband is an ex-chef, so food does not go unnoticed by him. It was my suggestion to try to make things easy since we had to get up before the crack of dawn. The chicken sandwich was not too bad. I am curious if the Costa Rican dishes are better. The strawberry daiquiri was pretty good, and as I mentioned because we had a lot of other pluses like the pool, cable, Internet, great beds, towels, in room coffee, etc. I can forgive the poor meal, and it was not overly expensive. In fact, my husband will extend an invitation for consulting services for the kitchen, as he thinks that is a missed opportunity for such a great hotel!
Overall, we would recommend this hotel and if we travel to San Jose again we will stay again. We really want to thank the staff for accommodating us, especially with all of our travel changes.

Room Tip: It sounds like one may need to list a preference of where they want their room located, especially i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.