We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct - 15% off!
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here a couple of years ago on my last night of a 2 week trip. It was so good I didn't even consider another hotel for this trip. We stay our 1st night and last night of this 11 day adventure. Paid for the standard and also received 20% off as promised if I returned. The last night we were upgraded to the jacuzzi room. Such a treat. I will never consider another hotel. I think this place is more than just a before or after flight hotel. You can do many excursions. The staff is wonderful. The free breakfast is great. Very tasty. Paid transportation to and from the airport, free wifi, free local and international calls. Very clean rooms. Lovely decor. Outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Eric the owner will give you great advise on anything you ask him by email. What more can you ask for? Such a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    476
    90
    47
    17
See reviews for
437
696
214
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at the Adventure Inn 3 nights with my daughter, and then a 4th night the following week. The location is good, very close to the airport and a short cab ride to downtown San Jose. They have free wifi and 4 guest computers in the upstairs lounge area. They also have a nice pool and jacuzzi, a workout room, and a very good restaurant and bar, and all of this at very reasonable prices. The staff is incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. When I left to return to the U.S. I felt like I was leaving family! I highly recommend the Adventure Inn and will be staying there on my next trip to CR in March to pick up my daughter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

we only stay in san jose when we are flying out the next day with sansa air or nature air to a remote Costa Rica location. this is the perfect Inn for this kind of visit. Have you just arrived at the International Airport after long travel day...go to Adventure Inn... Its comfortable, internet friendly, convenient to get to via taxi ( our red taxi fare was 12 bucks) , great, great food. Complimentary breakfast is awesome. has a pool, our room had private hottub, microwave, fridge, office area, free phone with free international calling if needed. Its got everything we need for a easy night prior to another big domestic travel day to remote location. They arranged our cab back to airport, everything was easy

Staff is extremely friendly and accomodating.

Hotel is Clean

Restaurant is professionally equipped, delicious, decorated, and fun

Restaurants, grocery store, and other conveniences are within short min walk

Room was easily under 100 US bucks, paid in cash...great affordability considering amenities

our room had cozy communal outside seating area with painted bird murals on walls...

we will always come back and we brought friends this time and will continue to recommend Adventure Inn to others

Happy Traveling

Room Tip: pay in cash will give you a discount...staff will answer all your questions, ask in advance and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have been to Costa Rica three times now and have looked around for a different place to stay, but always go back to Adventure Inn. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and the cost is very good. It included a hot breakfast (Tico or Canadian) too! With shuttle to and from the Airport it is also very convenient. The newly renovated pool area is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We travel to CR regularly, and have been staying at the Adventure Inn for the last 4 years and have found no reason to go elsewhere. Great location, knowledgeable and helpful staff, restaurant, bar and pool. Transportation to the airport, rental car deliveries to the hotel, the list goes on. The rooms are large, comfortable and air conditioned, breakfast is included. We have recommend this hotel to all our friends that are traveling to San Jose. Looking forward to and starting to plan to our next trip there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I travel to Costa Rica quite often. I have stayed at many hotels over the years. I am always looking for a regular place to lay my head. I believe I have found it. This stay was my second, and on this trip had dinner in the restaurant and hung out a bit more. It was great. I could not ask for anything more. A fantastic staff, each and every one, great grounds, very clean, a super nice complementary breakfast, free airport shuttle each way, clean rooms, spacious with some nice touches. I would recommend this place to anyone, even my Mom, whom is super picky. I spent a lot of time talking with the front desk staff, the dining staff, and Jose (Manager?). They were all fantastic, and made me feel like a VIP guest. I will be back and without hesitation would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel for the start and finish of my journey. Food is good, staff is nice and they will help organize your tours. The shuttle to the airport is also very helpful. I would recommend this hotel highly for the beginning and end of your stay if you want to have a great experience in Costa Rica. They make it easy to get started.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.