We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Del Museo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Del Museo to your Saves list
Posada Del Museo
Avda. 2 and C. 17, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This a great hotel to stay in while visiting San Jose. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel makes for great city walking with plenty of restaurants and shops to vista close by. It's about thirty minutes from the airport. The little cafe downstairs makes a nice light breakfast for the guests. It can be a little noisy with the little train that runs along the main street, so bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. All the staff at the hotel were wonderful and very accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posadadelmuseo, The Staff at Posada Del Museo, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hello, thank you for your comments.
We hope to see you in the future!

Best regards,
The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

great hosts ! i got in late and the host made me a sandwich !!!! I took the backroom it was pretty quiet and got a good sleep as a little train goes by the other side of the hotel ! the hosts and their staff are very helpfull ! B-first is good and lunch is Fantastic!!! its close to parks,museum, governement Buildings and if u go up a block then walk left you get to the walk only shopping/market area great ! Its a great and safe place to stay !!

Room Tip: rooms to the back tend to be not so noisy its the city !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Posada is a great result of a family runned hotel. Tha ambien is so cozy, the rooms so well decorated, the sharing rooms make you feel like you are over a friend's place. Location is great, walking distance from the main shopping street and the mercado de artesania. Approved and Loved :)

Helpful?
Thank SerenaMorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posadadelmuseo, Gerente at Posada Del Museo, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write on Trip Advisor. We are always happy to know that our guests like our Hotel and feel comfortable. Our main interest is to make our guests feel at home, and we are pleased to know you appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
252 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great ambient and style!!! The hotel is very rustic with unique decoration, very cozy, sofas, dimed light, wooden floors, walls filled with pictures of the owner´s family, I love that. Rooms are decorated in the very same style, but each one is different so it´s quite fun to choose the one you want. My room was clean, pretty and tranquil considering you are in the middle of San José. The location was ok, it´s about four blocks from the main center with shops and restaurants and there are two kind of ugly streets you need to cross to get there. But then San José´s center is nothing really pretty anyways. The hotel is just in front of the Museum (nice big building that is well lighted during the night) and on a pedestrian walk, so in a reasonable neighborhood. There is a railroad nearby, but the train passes very rarely and it did not bother me at all. The price (around 60 USD ) includes breakfast and generally speaking I think it is a very good deal for San José.

Room Tip: Really difficult, I wished I could try them all. But if I should recommend one it would probably be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posadadelmuseo, Gerente at Posada Del Museo, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We appreciate when our guests give us their opinion of Hotel Posada del Museo,it is the way to improve..But what we appreciate most is when our customers enjoy their stay with us and see our efforts to make them feel "at home" ..Best regards from the manager and staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Great Hotel with lovely rooms in a good Location. Every room is decorated individually with lots of details. Great help with booking tours. Trains tracks did not bother us at all because trains didnt run at nighttime and during daytime we were out of the hotel most of the time. Definitly recommend the place and would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nudel121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotel is a nice historic building in the heart of San José. The staff is friendly and very helpful.

So far, so good.

The problem is the noise. The rooms are not well isolated, so that you can hear any noise made in the hotel or arround it.

It's right next to a major road (lots of traffic) and even worse: railroad tracks. In the night you get the feeling that the freight trains run right through your room.

We did hardly sleep at all. Too bad!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffemedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on 3 separate occasions now, so clearly it is a decent enough place to keep drawing me back. Every time I have arrived I have had a member of staff greet me by name (I wasn't the only guest there either!) and then go out of their way to help me and make sure I was comfortable. The rooms are fairly large and clean, the bathrooms have a shower but no bath. The first time I stayed there I struggled to get hot water as did my friends but the trick to the taps is you have to turn them on slowly and gradually and once the water is warm you can turn them up more (I'm not sure why but trust me it worked). The only problem with this hotel is that it's very close to the railway line and it is unbelievably noisy. I was told that the train lines were built after the hotel and if that's the case then it's very unfortunate. The first night I stayed there was a Sunday and the trains didn't seem to be running during the night but 5am on the dot on Monday I was woken up by a train horn right outside my bedroom which scared me half to death. The other 2 nights that I stayed there the train ran all night and to say sleeping was difficult would be an understatement.

I would recommend this trip for a night, it's a basic hotel but it's clean, has hot water, TV and free wifi access. I think for longer stays I would struggle as I couldn't sleep due to the trains and that would definitely impact on me.

Room Tip: Try get one away from the train lines, it's still not going to be silent but it makes a massive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#14 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#10 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#18 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#23 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#36 of 86 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Museo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Museo

Address: Avda. 2 and C. 17, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
``where you will feel at home´´ Warmth, charm and a personalized service. La Posada del Museo is a 1928 Victorian style wooden building that has been restored to offer its guest great comfort. Located in the historical and cultural district of San Jose, on a palm-lined boulevard, within walking distance to touristic points of interest: museums, theaters, parks, monuments, shops and cinemas. All our rooms are equally well equiped. The hotel offers 24 hour wi-fi service, a computer available for guests at the reception, cable tv private parking, You can also visit our ''Cafe de la Posada'', an Argentinian-European cafe-restaurant, with an outdoor terrace overlooking the boulevard; Making it the perfect location for people to experience the lovely climate of San Jose while enjoying one of our delicious specialties. Rotating art exhibitions take place every month at the cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Del Museo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Museo San Jose
Posada Del Museo Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing