We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Del Museo

Save Saved
You added Posada Del Museo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Posada Del Museo
Avda. 2 and C. 17, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

great hosts ! i got in late and the host made me a sandwich !!!! I took the backroom it was pretty quiet and got a good sleep as a little train goes by the other side of the hotel ! the hosts and their staff are very helpfull ! B-first is good and lunch is Fantastic!!! its close to parks,museum, governement Buildings and if u go up a block then walk left you get to the walk only shopping/market area great ! Its a great and safe place to stay !!

Room Tip: rooms to the back tend to be not so noisy its the city !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
18
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Posada is a great result of a family runned hotel. Tha ambien is so cozy, the rooms so well decorated, the sharing rooms make you feel like you are over a friend's place. Location is great, walking distance from the main shopping street and the mercado de artesania. Approved and Loved :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posadadelmuseo, Gerente at Posada Del Museo, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write on Trip Advisor. We are always happy to know that our guests like our Hotel and feel comfortable. Our main interest is to make our guests feel at home, and we are pleased to know you appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great ambient and style!!! The hotel is very rustic with unique decoration, very cozy, sofas, dimed light, wooden floors, walls filled with pictures of the owner´s family, I love that. Rooms are decorated in the very same style, but each one is different so it´s quite fun to choose the one you want. My room was clean, pretty and tranquil considering you are in the middle of San José. The location was ok, it´s about four blocks from the main center with shops and restaurants and there are two kind of ugly streets you need to cross to get there. But then San José´s center is nothing really pretty anyways. The hotel is just in front of the Museum (nice big building that is well lighted during the night) and on a pedestrian walk, so in a reasonable neighborhood. There is a railroad nearby, but the train passes very rarely and it did not bother me at all. The price (around 60 USD ) includes breakfast and generally speaking I think it is a very good deal for San José.

Room Tip: Really difficult, I wished I could try them all. But if I should recommend one it would probably be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posadadelmuseo, Gerente at Posada Del Museo, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We appreciate when our guests give us their opinion of Hotel Posada del Museo,it is the way to improve..But what we appreciate most is when our customers enjoy their stay with us and see our efforts to make them feel "at home" ..Best regards from the manager and staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

Great Hotel with lovely rooms in a good Location. Every room is decorated individually with lots of details. Great help with booking tours. Trains tracks did not bother us at all because trains didnt run at nighttime and during daytime we were out of the hotel most of the time. Definitly recommend the place and would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a nice historic building in the heart of San José. The staff is friendly and very helpful.

So far, so good.

The problem is the noise. The rooms are not well isolated, so that you can hear any noise made in the hotel or arround it.

It's right next to a major road (lots of traffic) and even worse: railroad tracks. In the night you get the feeling that the freight trains run right through your room.

We did hardly sleep at all. Too bad!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on 3 separate occasions now, so clearly it is a decent enough place to keep drawing me back. Every time I have arrived I have had a member of staff greet me by name (I wasn't the only guest there either!) and then go out of their way to help me and make sure I was comfortable. The rooms are fairly large and clean, the bathrooms have a shower but no bath. The first time I stayed there I struggled to get hot water as did my friends but the trick to the taps is you have to turn them on slowly and gradually and once the water is warm you can turn them up more (I'm not sure why but trust me it worked). The only problem with this hotel is that it's very close to the railway line and it is unbelievably noisy. I was told that the train lines were built after the hotel and if that's the case then it's very unfortunate. The first night I stayed there was a Sunday and the trains didn't seem to be running during the night but 5am on the dot on Monday I was woken up by a train horn right outside my bedroom which scared me half to death. The other 2 nights that I stayed there the train ran all night and to say sleeping was difficult would be an understatement.

I would recommend this trip for a night, it's a basic hotel but it's clean, has hot water, TV and free wifi access. I think for longer stays I would struggle as I couldn't sleep due to the trains and that would definitely impact on me.

Room Tip: Try get one away from the train lines, it's still not going to be silent but it makes a massive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Lovely historic building, now hotel and extremely sweet, helpful, staff. Even young lady at café was very sweet. The small hotel is on the corner of a busy street (pretty quiet at night) and a pedestrian-only cobblestone street. A block away is the court house, so morning and evenings legal staffs, etc., walk to and from work—interesting people watching. The mention of a train that passes right next to the hotel concerned me. (Always take ear plugs when traveling.) I come from a quiet town and the train didn’t even wake me at 6:00 a.m. The train, filled with Ticos, adds a certain charm. The rooms are lovely and all bathrooms have been newly remodeled. Very clean sheets, towels, etc. Hot water. Internet. Stayed there when we arrived and returned before leaving. Coffee and pastry included at café each morning. Good prices and willing to upgrade upon arrival. I had no problem with any hotel in Costa Rica regarding reservations and prices. Did it all in advance, online, and paid. No confusion about taxes, etc. A trip to Costa Rica is an adventure--roll with it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the corner suites arriving and departing. Maybe a bit noisy, but ear plugs and exhaust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posadadelmuseo, Director de Recepción at Posada Del Museo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for giving us your opinion, not only about your stay in our hotel but also your experience during your trip in Costa Rica. We are happy that everything went on smoothly and that you enjoyed it.

Best regards,

The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Del Museo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Museo

Also Known As:
Posada Del Museo San Jose
Posada Del Museo Costa Rica/San Jose
Address: Avda. 2 and C. 17, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
``where you will feel at home´´ Warmth, charm and a personalized service. La Posada del Museo is a 1928 Victorian style wooden building that has been restored to offer its guest great comfort. Located in the historical and cultural district of San Jose, on a palm-lined boulevard, within walking distance to touristic points of interest: museums, theaters, parks, monuments, shops and cinemas. All our rooms are equally well equiped. The hotel offers 24 hour wi-fi service, a computer available for guests at the reception, cable tv private parking, You can also visit our ''Cafe de la Posada'', an Argentinian-European cafe-restaurant, with an outdoor terrace overlooking the boulevard; Making it the perfect location for people to experience the lovely climate of San Jose while enjoying one of our delicious specialties. Rotating art exhibitions take place every month at the cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Posada Del Museo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Del Museo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.