We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as clean as it seems” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Inca Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Inca Real to your Saves list
Hotel Inca Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 11 entre calle 3 y 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Pinellas Park, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not as clean as it seems”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a family reunion. There 9 of us total 4 different rooms. The lobby is real cute. The rooms look cute. But, Each room had its issues. One smelt like raw sewage, they all had German cockroaches you will only see them at night by the bathrooms, There is mold in the bathrooms some rooms worse than others. All though they try to keep the noise down you can hear everything going on from outside or inside. The front desk workers were not very helpful and would flat out ignore you if they were watching soccer. The area it's in is NOT very safe. If I was in a group of only women I would not recommend staying here at all or a family with young children.They made us pay in advance for our stay. This is the ONLY reason we stayed the whole time. You get what you pay for. I always felt uncomfortable. The cleaning crew and the breakfast staff were very nice women. That was the only nice thing about the place.

Room Tip: There is no A/C in any of the rooms. WIFI works the best in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    21
    15
    28
See reviews for
10
22
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I really liked the price of the hotel. After I checked-in which took a while (reception lost the key to the room) I thought that the hotel wasn't bad for the price I got. I had cable, internet, breakfast, and security. The location also isn't bad during the day and it is 5 blocks from the center of San Jose where all shops, museums, restaurants, and cafes are located. However, I couldn't take a hot shower (water was freezing); I didn't have the freedom to have guest in my room (without $10 charge) even based on a double occupancy; the breakfast went from eggs to cereal only (because patrons complained); the receptionist were pretty rude; and when I cut my stay short (after 3 days), they wanted to charge me for a full stay (a week) based on my reservation (fear of losing money) and I refused. I only recommend this hotel to people on a tight budget or needing a night before heading to coast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I like the way the hotel is decorated, very homely. Our room was clean and smelled fresh. Only bad thing is that you can hear EVERYTHING going on outside and breakfast was 2 rolls,1 hot 1 cold and half cooked eggs. No menu, you sit and they bring it out to you.. Awesome friendly staff though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Cheap, nasty and with a lying surly man on the desk. The lie involving a remote control for awful radio from the (empty) hotel bar he denied having. Nobody here looks happy. Also it looks nothing much like in the photos.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

close to calle central. Beautiful location with very clean rooms. Everything was new and modern. San Jose can be scetchy in areas, but not this area. Close to busses, gas stations and shopping. Very helpful front desk. This is the only place I will stay in San Jose. They also will arrange very fair airport transport for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Run! This place is a hole-in-the-wall. No A/C or ventilation in the room. The rooms are dirty and smell like backed-up sewer. I would class this place more like a 20 dollar motel. The breakfast is crap and eggs cost an additional 2 dollars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

An old-fashioned but well-kept small property a few blocks from the downtown area. Mid-range priced with ok rooms for the price. Not a top-end place but decent for a night or two while transiting through San Jose.

This gated hotel with security prevents just “anyone off the street” from wandering in. Staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was copious. A large selection of restaurants and shops are within a short walking distance.

Due to its location, the hotel is relatively quiet and situated in a half-way decent part of town. Keep in mind that this is “relative” as it is downtown, with all its “nightlife”, including the “working girls and boys”.

We would go back if we had to overnight in San Jose.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have bigger windows, more light and a more open feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Inca Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inca Real

Address: Avenida 11 entre calle 3 y 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Inca Real 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to our location in the aristocratic neighborhood Amón, our customers will enjoy all the facilities for transportation around Costa Rica as well to live the culture and nightlife of San Jose. With the best comfort and kindness that you enjoy in our hotel at the best priceWe have spacious rooms with all amenities to make your stay in San Jose is as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Inca Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inca Real Hotel
Hotel Inca Real Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Inca Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.