We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced and dangerous location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Inca Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Inca Real to your Saves list
Hotel Inca Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 11 entre calle 3 y 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Ranked #77 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Bossier City, Louisiana
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Over Priced and dangerous location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here as a transitional point upon arrival in San Jose on the advice of the cab driver we hired at the airport. He told us it was a decent place to stay near the city center.
The hotel itsself is old and dated but outside appearance was good. The staff was friendly and very helpful, especially Damien who was full of good advice. The rooms however, were some what dirty, there was a problem with the shower and in the first room I had the toilet did not work so I was moved to another room. The lighting was very dark, the cable service was poor for the TV and TV itself was very old, at least 15-20 years old. Breakfast here is a joke, consisting of coffee, rice and beans and two slices of toast...a very scant breakfast to say the least. This place is severely over priced even in the low season..paid $55.00 a night. The location, while near the city center is less than desirable, just down the street about 50 yards away is a sleasy bar and across the street and a half block up the next street is a lesbian bar which we accidently stumbled into before realizing we had done so. Also was approached on the same street by a few trannys. Not the best value in San Jose.

Room Tip: If you stay here try to get a room on the second or third floor...much quieter than the lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    19
    14
    24
See reviews for
10
20
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hollywood
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a decent place for a transition night before leaving the city. Its right in the middle of San Jose so you can check out the city. When the sun goes down DO NOT go walking more than a block away unless you want to get a tranny beatdown. The hotel itself is safe though and the staff will have a taxi ready to take you anywhere.

The room appeared clean but I wasn't carrying my blacklight so who knows what was going on in there. I wouldn't bring small children.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor. These are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel insisted I park on sidewalk in a dangerous neighborhood. They had secure parking available. The rooms were dirty, especially the carpeting. The lighting was very poor especially in the bathroom. I could not shave in the dark! The television was ridiculous. It was a 21" monitor mounted about 6' feet up on a wall. Generally the offerings were substandard. If you were to have a guest they would insist on a $10 surcharge.
Never Again

Room Tip: Go to Hotel La Amistad
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I spent my first night in Costa Rica with 2 friends at Inca Real, which we reserved from abroad.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay since the room was neat, well furnished and decorated. The bathroom was better than the average we had in our other hotels in Costa Rica. Breakfast was too small..just a mug of cofee with toasts and jam. We asked for a refill, but they would charge us for the second round.

All in all, the hotel is nice. The location is not among the best, but we never felt endangered in the neighborhood. However, this was our most expensive night in Costa Rica and, frankly, other hotels were far better than this one..so it's not great value for money. Also the staff was kinda unwelcoming and cold.

Next time, I would try another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our stay was off-season (end of July – beginning of August 2012)
Sunrise approx 5:15AM - Sunset approx 6:30PM

Hotel Inca is a ‘get what you pay for’ hotel. We saw lots of 20 something year old tourists in the neighborhood but for my 40+ years, it wasn’t my type of hotel or neighborhood but it served its purpose for a one night stay and the staff was pleasant. The hotels photos online are very flattering. Our room had no window facing outside and smelled musty. They may have nicer rooms.

If your purpose is to sightsee/vacation, look for a different hotel.
If your purpose is to hang out and party then you may be willing to stay anywhere.

Pros: Close to Clinica Biblica, close to or in downtown San Jose, tv

Cons: Neighborhood is not nice (strip clubs, ladies of the evening), appeared to only have parking for 2 cars but you can check with the hotel to confirm.

Where we ate/drank: N/A

I love Costa Rica. It’s a beautiful place with friendly people and LOTS to see. You can spend as much or as little as you want on the trip.

A few tips:
Gratuity: A 10% tip is built into most restaurant tabs but feel free to leave a little extra if you like the service

Take with you: GPS or rent when you arrive, a pocket flashlight; a couple pens, have plenty singles unless you’re going to use Colones, a pocket translation dictionary or have a program ready; when leaving CR you have to pay $28 departure tax so have some money or a credit card ready at the airport

Smart Tourist: Let your credit card company know you’re leaving the country; don’t leave anything visible in your car; look into the car rental situation – on our last trip everyone forced the basic insurance on us (that didn’t happen on a past trip); for rural areas 4-wheel drive or a small SUV may come in handy as some of the roads are rough but many/most are fine; no problem charging electronics without a converter; parts of the country are malaria zones; we were able to make calls home through Google Talk/Vonage on our phone even though we didn’t have phone service; Verizon currently does not have service in CR and they will dump your voicemail/texts from their server if you’re out of their service area for more than 3 day for voice and 6 days for text

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor. In the morning even conversations at normal voice levels seemed lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Inca Real. 

Check in: This was very smooth and efficient. They were expecting our group and I was allocated room 6. The staff were friendly and offered me directions on where to eat later in the day. 

Room: My room had a double bed and a single. The shower/bathroom was clean and adequate. There was a coffee maker but no cups, coffee etc. A tv with some English channels. Also free wifi. 

Breakfast: This was downstairs in a fairly dark room. You had to pay at reception before you go down and it was $4. 

Breakfast consisted of egg in toast, juice and coffee. It would have been cheaper to find a local soda (cafe). 

Overall my stay was average. I wouldn't choose to stay at this hotel again purely because the location was in an undesirable area. There were a few night clubs and 'gentleman's' clubs close by. 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Signed up for this hotel since we are visiting Costa Rica for an Active 20-30 convention. What a disappointment!

We had a bad feeling from the beginning since our emails went unanswered for days. Room is smelly, cigarette hole in comforter, the neighborhood is dangerous/unsafe, place is noisy, the staff in the lobby are not helpful at all. Front desk guy is sleeping on the freaking couch in the lobby! No kidding!

We really wish we had paid extra and join our other friends at the Ramada Herradura. They ARE having a great time in a REAL hotel with a great restaurant and 3 swimming pools.

This is not the "Costa Rica experience" we were looking for. We feel totally ripped off.

Shame on you Ruben Salas for recommending us this garbage hotel!

Room Tip: Active 20-30 Members - Avoid this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Inca Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inca Real

Address: Avenida 11 entre calle 3 y 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Inca Real 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to our location in the aristocratic neighborhood Amón, our customers will enjoy all the facilities for transportation around Costa Rica as well to live the culture and nightlife of San Jose. With the best comfort and kindness that you enjoy in our hotel at the best priceWe have spacious rooms with all amenities to make your stay in San Jose is as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Inca Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inca Real Hotel
Hotel Inca Real Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Inca Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.