We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you must.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Cafe, San Jose, Costa Rica

Hard Rock Cafe, San Jose, Costa Rica
Route 111, San Jose, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 316 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Only if you must.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hard Rock Café in San José is great for two things, and two things only: celebrations for locals and those who enjoy collecting Hard Rock visits around the world. If you're in town and looking for a place to eat, I suggest a local restaurant. HRC is expensive American food (just about the same recipe and menus throughout the globe) and outrageously expensive drinks - so a definite 'pass' for tourists. The customer service is okay, but be aware that English is not readily or easily spoken. We had a decent visit but knew in advance that it wouldn't be our best meal of the trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    22
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Are you worthy to be served?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Service is horrible. Huge staff stands around talking to each other as if they are guests in a nightclub. Staff has an ATTITUDE which I describe as they really think they are someone special and you as the customer are not. Don't waste your time or money. They don't deserve either.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack b.c.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cold dinner with no cervesa.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We arrived in anticipation of a nice dinner , a few drinks, and the second half of the Super Bowl.
We ordered chicken wings, ribs and a drink. We were told it was election day which was obvious throughout the day a cars with political flags were everywhere along with roadside voting locations, so we were told no liquor today....why only them?????
We traveled throughout the day with several beer stops along the way as well as neighboring locations in San Jose.
Well the chicken wings came along with our soft drinks. The drinks had ice in them but were still warmer than the wings. I ate some as cold chicken is not that bad but not an appy by a long shot. Then about a half hour later the ribs showed up. Nice rack and looked delicious. Meat was tender but when I got to the thickest part of the rack the inside was cold to.
After a two week Costa Rica trip with all meals being great to excellent the Hard Rock lost out.
To top it all off the cost was abnormal high.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Salty, Sugary Junk Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I havent been to a Hard Rock Cafe in C R before. This place was the pits. Everyone looked really uncomfortable and you could have been anywhere in the USA rather than Costa Rica which is a shame as the view would be nice seen from inside somewhere else. The service was generic, the music was so loud you couldnt have a conversation and it was very expensive. I ordered a non alcoholic fruit cocktail and it was so full of added sugar that you couldnt taste the fruit. The burger was full of added salt and the fries also covered in too much salt. The next day the inside of my mouth felt really sore thanks to all the added salt. I spose its just not my kind of place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Way too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Went to the Hard Rock San Jose and I was in shock to see how freaking expensive it is. A mojito for 8,500 colones ($17), a Margarita for 6,500 colones ($13), a burger for 10,000 colones ($20), and a Chicken Club sandwich for 9,0000 colones ($18). Are you kidding me? I've been to the Hard Rock Panama, and while I know restaurants in Panama are much cheaper than in Costa Rica, I was not expecting the prices to be as expensive as they were. In HRP, most drinks are $4.75, the burger is $13 and the sandwich is $9.

Aside from the prices, the food was delicious and the service was good. The place is beautiful.

Like someone else said, the music is V-E-R-Y loud and it is quite impossible to speak with the people at your table.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe, San Jose, Costa Rica also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe, San Jose, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Cafe, San Jose, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.