We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute & relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1492

Save Saved
You added Hotel 1492 to your Saves list
Hotel 1492
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel 1492
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle 31-33 Ave 1, San Jose 4988-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 54 San Jose B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cute & relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Cute little b&b ~ fun, cheerful décor. Lovely garden area out back, where guests eat breakfast. Would stay here again. Not sure about the area as we did not do much exploring. No swimming pool or fitness area but was required to rate below (hence the low rating).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
10
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cummington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

First time I've ever experienced bedbugs. Ughh! The itch is terrible. This hotel is bad. The train starts blowing the whistle at 5:30am and again every 15 minutes after that there is another train.

They told me that they emailed me to confirm my reservations, but I didn't respond and they held the room anyway. I'm not sure why they would do this as I had already confirmed the room with a credit card previously. They said they tried to contact me when I was in the rainforest not sure how I could check my email in the rainforest. When I got home and checked my email. . . it was a lie. They never tried to contact me.
Also, I had to ask for towels and the man checked my room first to make sure that I knew where to look for the towels.
Wow, I've had such good experiences in Costa Rica before that I am amazed to find this terrible place.

Room Tip: Don't sleep here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschlandsberg, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean and spacious, the interior is ageing. The hotel is not far from the main road and in a save area with some good restaurants. In the night it's quite, but from 6 o'clock in the morning there are passing noisy trains (it's not only the trains: they're blowing the horn every second because of the railway crossings, so it's definitely not possible to sleep longer).
Breakfast: poor, with hot drink not worth calling it a coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place was great. I spent two nights here in April 2013 and was very pleased. My room was clean, it was away from the main street and therefore quiet (except for one night when there was a birthday party but that was fine because we all ended up being invited!), and breakfast was simple, tasty, and peaceful. For unlimited coffee, really fresh fruit, eggs, and toast, served in a garden in the hotel, for $5, what's not to like?

If I can find one negative, it's that you're a bit far from the down town area, but really only a 15-20 minute walk. There are excellent restaurants right around the corner.

I was even able to book a nice city tour through this hotel, with pick up and drop off at the hotel. Definitely worth it.

J. Ernesto was great to deal with, and extremely pleasant. Great guy.

I'd stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night before setting off on our tour of Costa Rica. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Room was clean and spacious and we got a good nights sleep. Th hotel is a short walk from downtown San Jose, and just around the corner from some very nice restaurants.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights at hotel 1492 with my family (5) during our trip to Costa Rica, we were very pleased by the service, the warm welcome and the support for transfers, advises... The hotel was nice, authentic, colonial style, clean, breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 1492? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1492

Address: Calle 31-33 Ave 1, San Jose 4988-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel 1492 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel 1492 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1492 Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1492, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.