We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1492

Hotel 1492
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 1492 to your Saves list
Hotel 1492
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle 31-33 Ave 1, San Jose 4988-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 55 San Jose B&B and Inns
Deutschlandsberg, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean and spacious, the interior is ageing. The hotel is not far from the main road and in a save area with some good restaurants. In the night it's quite, but from 6 o'clock in the morning there are passing noisy trains (it's not only the trains: they're blowing the horn every second because of the railway crossings, so it's definitely not possible to sleep longer).
Breakfast: poor, with hot drink not worth calling it a coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
11
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place was great. I spent two nights here in April 2013 and was very pleased. My room was clean, it was away from the main street and therefore quiet (except for one night when there was a birthday party but that was fine because we all ended up being invited!), and breakfast was simple, tasty, and peaceful. For unlimited coffee, really fresh fruit, eggs, and toast, served in a garden in the hotel, for $5, what's not to like?

If I can find one negative, it's that you're a bit far from the down town area, but really only a 15-20 minute walk. There are excellent restaurants right around the corner.

I was even able to book a nice city tour through this hotel, with pick up and drop off at the hotel. Definitely worth it.

J. Ernesto was great to deal with, and extremely pleasant. Great guy.

I'd stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night before setting off on our tour of Costa Rica. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Room was clean and spacious and we got a good nights sleep. Th hotel is a short walk from downtown San Jose, and just around the corner from some very nice restaurants.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights at hotel 1492 with my family (5) during our trip to Costa Rica, we were very pleased by the service, the warm welcome and the support for transfers, advises... The hotel was nice, authentic, colonial style, clean, breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I can't say enough great things about this place. It's small and the owner and his wife are almost always around to be super helpful and kind.

My partner and I are vegetarian. When we asked about a restaurant on the first night that might be safe to walk to, the owner's wife said she'd give us a ride as she was headed that way anyway. In the car she gave us the best local's orientation possible! On another night the owner walked us down the block to point out a place he thought we would like. Also when it was time to leave they called and confirmed a cab for us! This kind of hospitality and professionalism made a major difference in our whole vacation! We can't express enough gratitude.

On top of all that it's in a nice quiet neighborhood. We met other visitors who complained that San Jose was loud and crowded, but staying here that was not at all our experience. We loved morning breakfast, not only was it fresh but their courtyard is lush a beautiful--perfect way to start the day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The price is right for this hotel but the breakfast selection is fairly average. It was, though, a nice introduction to the 'tipico' Costa Rican breakfast. The hotel is located closer to the east side of San Jose and some taxi drivers do not appear to know where it is. Driving from here to the highway out of San Jose (toward the Pacific) is a challenge. Hotel staff is helpful (especially Nils). We did not even know that trains were running (we stayed from Friday to Sunday night).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 1492? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1492

Address: Calle 31-33 Ave 1, San Jose 4988-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel 1492 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 1492 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1492 Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1492, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.