We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1492

Hotel 1492
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel 1492 to your Saves list
Hotel 1492
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle 31-33 Ave 1, San Jose 4988-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 54 San Jose B&B and Inns
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
10
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights at hotel 1492 with my family (5) during our trip to Costa Rica, we were very pleased by the service, the warm welcome and the support for transfers, advises... The hotel was nice, authentic, colonial style, clean, breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I can't say enough great things about this place. It's small and the owner and his wife are almost always around to be super helpful and kind.

My partner and I are vegetarian. When we asked about a restaurant on the first night that might be safe to walk to, the owner's wife said she'd give us a ride as she was headed that way anyway. In the car she gave us the best local's orientation possible! On another night the owner walked us down the block to point out a place he thought we would like. Also when it was time to leave they called and confirmed a cab for us! This kind of hospitality and professionalism made a major difference in our whole vacation! We can't express enough gratitude.

On top of all that it's in a nice quiet neighborhood. We met other visitors who complained that San Jose was loud and crowded, but staying here that was not at all our experience. We loved morning breakfast, not only was it fresh but their courtyard is lush a beautiful--perfect way to start the day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The price is right for this hotel but the breakfast selection is fairly average. It was, though, a nice introduction to the 'tipico' Costa Rican breakfast. The hotel is located closer to the east side of San Jose and some taxi drivers do not appear to know where it is. Driving from here to the highway out of San Jose (toward the Pacific) is a challenge. Hotel staff is helpful (especially Nils). We did not even know that trains were running (we stayed from Friday to Sunday night).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel about 5 times over my trip and loved it nice and quiet - there are trains but they didnt really keep me awake
the garden is really cute and there are lovely paintings everywhere
the area is a short walk into san jose
good restarants around here as well
olio, mediterraneo and limoncello
the staff here are fantastic really helpful- i would reccommend this place

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I wouldn't recommend this place.
The building is very charming at first, but the noisy train at 6am to 10:30pm can ruin it all! Also walls are too thin and you can hear everything is going on next door.
The breakfast is very poor - comparing to other options in San Jose for the same price.
Tiny room, difficult to stay longer if you are not alone in there.
We planned to stay there a week but canceled in the 2nd night.
We went to Costa Verde Inn; it's in Escazú, a bit far away from the center, but at least we could sleep!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

A hidden gem! Quiet, relaxed, clean,, good breakfast and coffee, internet, secure. Very comfortable, airy, sunlight, Lots of living room, well decorated. Bi-lingual staff, quiet and safe/beautiful neighborhood. I am a businessman from USA and an experienced Central American traveler, having lived in Belize, Nicaragua, and San Jose.
The value is great. I love this pace!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 1492? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1492

Address: Calle 31-33 Ave 1, San Jose 4988-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel 1492 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 1492 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1492 Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1492, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.