We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bed, average breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1492

Save Saved
You added Hotel 1492 to your Saves list
Hotel 1492
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel 1492
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle 31-33 Ave 1, San Jose 4988-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 San Jose B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good bed, average breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The price is right for this hotel but the breakfast selection is fairly average. It was, though, a nice introduction to the 'tipico' Costa Rican breakfast. The hotel is located closer to the east side of San Jose and some taxi drivers do not appear to know where it is. Driving from here to the highway out of San Jose (toward the Pacific) is a challenge. Hotel staff is helpful (especially Nils). We did not even know that trains were running (we stayed from Friday to Sunday night).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
9
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel about 5 times over my trip and loved it nice and quiet - there are trains but they didnt really keep me awake
the garden is really cute and there are lovely paintings everywhere
the area is a short walk into san jose
good restarants around here as well
olio, mediterraneo and limoncello
the staff here are fantastic really helpful- i would reccommend this place

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I wouldn't recommend this place.
The building is very charming at first, but the noisy train at 6am to 10:30pm can ruin it all! Also walls are too thin and you can hear everything is going on next door.
The breakfast is very poor - comparing to other options in San Jose for the same price.
Tiny room, difficult to stay longer if you are not alone in there.
We planned to stay there a week but canceled in the 2nd night.
We went to Costa Verde Inn; it's in Escazú, a bit far away from the center, but at least we could sleep!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

A hidden gem! Quiet, relaxed, clean,, good breakfast and coffee, internet, secure. Very comfortable, airy, sunlight, Lots of living room, well decorated. Bi-lingual staff, quiet and safe/beautiful neighborhood. I am a businessman from USA and an experienced Central American traveler, having lived in Belize, Nicaragua, and San Jose.
The value is great. I love this pace!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Agree with previous reviewer about noise of train. That said, and on the basis of a three-night stay there, I will look here first next time I an in town. Good location, atmosphere, service, and cleanliness. We were offered a nice glass of wine when we came in after spending each day touring.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Real nice place and very friendly staff. Good breakfast too! Conveniently situated in a quiet 'barrio', the only thing that can be disturbing is the train that passes 2 blocks behind the building and is rather noisy. On the other hand you're up early... Carpe diem! :-) Stayed there twice during the same trip to CR (4 nights and 2 nights) and it will be my HQ again during my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

Our party of 7 people loved the little hotel, although it is more of a B & B than a hotel. The staff were very friendly, made us tea when we arrived and directed us to a nearby pub, (the Olio I think is its name),where we walked to dinner. Free internet access and my friends all loved the place because of its 'local flavour'. There is a train nearby (used for commuters?) which operates only in the morning and evening rush hours so it isn't too bad.

  • Liked — Local flavour
  • Disliked — Too far to walk to central city
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 1492? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1492

Address: Calle 31-33 Ave 1, San Jose 4988-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel 1492 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel 1492 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1492 Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1492, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.