We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room in decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Autentico Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Autentico Hotel to your Saves list
Autentico Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave 5 and 7, calle 40 | Sabana Este, San Jose 10108, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average room in decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here with G Adventures before and after our trip. Rooms we had were basic and on the dark side. Bathrooms were small with average to poor showers. In room safe will cost you extra. 1st room had over powering smell of bug spray. Working A/C both times, though not required on our way through the 2nd time. Front desk staff was great, offered to print boarding passes and wake up calls at 3 am (not an automated machine). Breakfast in the hotel is average, but there is a grocery store 2-3 blocks away if you want to do some self catering. Electrical outlets were the ungrounded type so any three prong devices won't work. Beds were soft and lumpy, not the best for sleeping. There was a pool in the centre of the hotel, but didn't see anyone use it. Hotel had free wifi and was useable.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 1st floor if you don't want to climb stairs with your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinecure_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
SanDiego
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was tired and in need of some quiet and good air conditioning when I reached this place. I was wary, other reviews were not great. But my experience was excellent! My room was perfect for sleeping, which was all I needed, plus a hot shower and luggage storage and transport to the airport. I thought this place was classy, I liked the bar / restaurant, though I was not there long enough to eat. Transport to the airport was about $25, more than in other places, but it is closer to downtown San Jose.
One wee minor point, this place has 2 stories with no elevator, so if you have someone who cannot handle the stairs it might not be for you, but I found the staff more than willing to take your luggage upstairs for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo Beach, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed there many times... never having a bad night. Lillina & Jami, the gals at the front desk have always treated me special and made my room very comfortable for me, with extra pillows!!! The restaurant gives great service and it is a very comfortable place to be --- out at pool side.

James cambridge

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in July twice for one night each time, at the start and conclusion of a week long G Adventures trip around Costa Rica.

The hotel is about 20 minutes drive from the airport. It looks like it's being refurbished, as the bedrooms we had both looked a little tired; the restaurant area looks more modern.

It was clean and not too noisy. It has pool in the garden that seemed clean and ok. The staff were fine at reception and in the bar.

The area seems ok; we found a bar (think it was called Central Bar (out of main door turn left about 3 blocks up the hill - you can't miss it)) and had a couple of drinks and a quick snack there on both nights. That was a decent place with friendly staff.

A further walk straight down a busy road takes you down town. We walked in but I don't think San Jose is a place you would want to spend too many days in. Not much to do of note.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F11PSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here as part of our holiday with Gadventures - Five minutes before we were due to leave 03.15 I accidentally dropped my earring down the sink - it was valuable both sentimentally and money wise. The help we received from the staff was fantastic both in retrieving it and sending it on to the UK.
The hotel is basic but clean, the food is good but the staff very helpful and friendly especially Jorges and Jerry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel was part of our holiday via GAdventures. To cut a long story, we ended up back in SJ for an extended period after our tour. As for the hotel - the Ritz it ain't but it functions perfectly well. The rooms are clean. The pool is clean. The gardens are well kept. The restaurant & bar are fine. And, most importantly, the hotel staff are lovely and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpz_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed a total of 3 nights in this hotel, two at the beginning of my round trip of Costa Rica and one at the end. It is a 20 min drive from the airport which makes it a great spot if you just need a layover spot. It is a basic, clean, friendly hotel and you get what you pay for. The entrance and lobby have been done up recently and has quite appeasing modern decor. The staff are lovely and friendly. I stayed in the older rooms that have quite dated decor. In saying that the room was a good size and clean. It had a tv, ac, coffee making facilities. Bathroom was spacious, clean and shower always had hot water. However my room was on the ground floor at the front of the hotel and the noise of the traffic was disconcerting, ear plugs were a must. The pool was lovely and clean, fresh in July! The restaurant was nice, nice ambience with a good selection on the menu. Breakfast is buffet style and as of July '13, $7, usual selection, rice, beans, eggs, bacon, fruit, cereal, toast. On my last night in San Jose I did get a more internal room which was far quieter, again one of the older ones and only had to content with a seminar background noise until 7pm. I would recommend this hotel but only as a layover. It's location within San Jose is pretty far out for been on foot. There is a supermarket two blocks away and a few restaurants near by.

Room Tip: Request the new rooms if possible and if not, request a room that is not located in the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenR07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#6 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#10 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#32 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autentico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autentico Hotel

Address: Ave 5 and 7, calle 40 | Sabana Este, San Jose 10108, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Autentico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Hotel offers guests the experience of an oriented values and customs of the Costa Rican people personalized service. With a total of 80 rooms, guests have a wide variety of facilities to meet their different needs. Considering the needs of our guests the authentic Hotel, offers pool areas, restaurant and parking. Authentic Hotel is a destination city, with a family atmosphere that highlights the charisma of Costa Rica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Autentico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autentico Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing