We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Autentico Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Autentico Hotel to your Saves list
Autentico Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave 5 and 7, calle 40 | Sabana Este, San Jose 10108, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed here for just one night. Hotel staff were pleasant to deal with, the pool clean and refreshing to swim in (fresh, at this time of year and with rain), our room was very comfortable, although some may call the decor a little outdated i quite liked the older style of the building (it had character), we had just dinner here with a few others and we certainly enjoyed our meals very much (club sandwich w' french fries) and my g/f' had the chef salad which had oil and vinegar served on the side as dressing. I would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    59
    53
    16
    10
See reviews for
21
47
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

In need of a quick, one night accommodation close to the Embassy due to morning traffic I stayed here, having had a decent experience 13 years prior. I don't think they had changed a thing in all those years apart from a snazzy new entrance that makes the hotel appear to be boutique and modern looking dining area. Other than that, it was still a dated mediocre place. Perfectly suited for a one night stay if you are just passing through and have no expectations apart from cleanliness and service, this place will do. But, if you need spacious and bright, modern or with some classic touch, and even a touch luxe, then you will be disappointed. My husband was not with me for my one night stay so I thought I didn't care but I am not sure if I would stay here again. My room was very dark and the AC was either too cold, too loud or causing me to leave the curtain open partially at night. Tiny space overall and had we been two, we would have been stepping over each other. Even though I knew there we plenty of great restaurants in the area I opted for room service. It was ok. No dressing or salt and pepper for the salad, burger had loads of half cooked bacon which was uneatable and breakfast eggs were over fried in veggie oil. But plenty of fresh fruit and cereal...plus a decent Gallo Pinto. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel and apart from a safe location and clean linens, there is nothing that stands out about it eitherl. Suitable for a one night stay if you can overlook the little things and know will get what you pay for, nothing exceptional but nothing disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Arrived PM from San Diego, Ca.April 2013 The hotel staff was fantastic. Our room was neat, clean and very comfortable. The service and food in the restaurant was very good. Our room had AC which was fine. This hotel is 2 blocks from the grocery store. A great value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Clean, basic and the staff was very nice. We did not stay in a renovated room on our 1st stay but it was ok. On our second stay we had a renovated room, which was one of the nicest rooms i have ever stayed in. There is a very nice grocery store right around the corner which is convenient. Close to the highway and easy to travel to/from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed after arriving from the airport and before the beginning of our roundtrip. Fortunately we received an upgrade and had a hugh new renovated room. Shops are near and we ate very good near in a mexican restaurant.We had no breakfast because we left already at 6 o'clock next morning. When we came back from our trip, they gave us also a new renovated normal room.We
have been waken up at 5 o'clock by the hotel clerk and we received a lunch paket before pick-up to the airport. At all a nice stay for a Costa Rica trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

this hotel is neat, clean and comfortable. it's a nice, basic hotel that is just fine if you need a place to sleep. it's about a 20 minute cab ride from the airport, has a good restaurant, is clean, has air conditioning, a pool and a tv in the room and hot showers. nothing wrong if you are looking for a good, basic place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here on the last day of our trip. The hotel was nice, comfortable and clean. The showers were hot, the tv and internet in the rooms worked great (this was not true in several of the other places we stayed) and the breakfast buffet was very good as well. We had time to lay and play in the pool before we headed home; this was heavenly. My only warning would be that there are no elevators, so we had to lug our suitcases up 2 or 3 flights of stairs. On the way down, a staffer saw me leaving my room with my bags and offered to take them. He just wanted to help, was not looking for a tip, and seemed surprised and genuinely thankful when I gave him one. I would stay here again - it was better than the hotel we stayed in upon arrival.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacts
Hotel Cacts
#37 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Tournon
Hotel Villa Tournon
#55 of 86 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#36 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autentico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autentico Hotel

Address: Ave 5 and 7, calle 40 | Sabana Este, San Jose 10108, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Autentico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Hotel offers guests the experience of an oriented values and customs of the Costa Rican people personalized service. With a total of 80 rooms, guests have a wide variety of facilities to meet their different needs. Considering the needs of our guests the authentic Hotel, offers pool areas, restaurant and parking. Authentic Hotel is a destination city, with a family atmosphere that highlights the charisma of Costa Rica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Autentico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autentico Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Autentico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.