We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton San Jose Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton San Jose Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route 27, 350 Metros Oeste Multiplaza, San Jose 10203, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I had to stay for work and the experience was absolutely great! The service was excellent , the room was very clean and had everything i needed , the shower was revitalizing , breakfast was delicious !!! i absolutely recommend it !!!

Room Tip: Higher floor so you can see the beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario G, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Mrs. Rita

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding our stay with us, we try to make the best effort for every guest in the hotel and it´s great to have this kind of feedback. We hope to see you back again and provide you the excellent service that characterizes us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    55
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
50
7
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We only stayed one night upon arrival in Costa Rica. We headed off to other parts of the country the next morning. It is about a $50 US cab ride from the San Jose airport. This hotel was a very nice way to be welcomed to the country. We had a late check in, and service was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean, beautiful and comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast buffet had many tasty and healthy options. I would recommend this hotel for business trips, I'm not sure about extended stays, since there isn't much to do from a tourist perspective in the area directly surrounding the hotel. If you need to stay in Escazu, this is a really nice option.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario G, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Theresa K

Thank you for your comments. Iam really happy to know our staff was friendly and attentive during your stay and the breakfast had options of your preference. We really hope we have the opportunity have you has our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The bar on the roof top is amazing, the hotel perfectly new and the rooms and bathrooms fantastic. Except the service at the bar on ground floor which was chaotic, great place to stay upon arrival or departure in Costa Rica

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario G, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Emmanuel O

Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback. We really appreciate your comments as is our way to improve our service and to guarantee our guest a memorable stay. We have inform the Food & Beverage Manager about your comments of the lobby bar so he can take actions on the optimal operation of it. I hope to have you as our guest and show you our real commitment with our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I loved the location for this property. It is brand new so everything is still in good shape.
Breakfast wasn't great but its not a hotel you need to eat at, there's plento to choose from in the nearby area.

What i wasn't fond of, was the difference in guests at night. With the Casino and Rooftop bar it is not a kid friendly hotel at night. We all know what kind of crowds you have at hotels with casinos at night ;) if single you might see it as a plus..

Overall it seems great…airport shuttle would make it a biiiig plus

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario G, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear ryanchic, Thank you for the comments. We definitely are going to work about you comment in order to give a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very nice option whether for business or doing day trips from San Jose

New property, nice rooms, good facilities, immaculate and the attitude of the staff could not be friendlier

The only drawback is the restaurant which is a big problem when it gets crowded. The very well-meaning staff easily gets totally overwhelmed and service and the food suffers.

Breakfast is great except during the 9:30 weekend crunch which it's a disaster- 20 minute wait at the egg station. Dinner too - if many different tables arrive at once or within a relative short period, the service falls apart.

The other dining option is the upstairs restaurant and bar which are FANTASTIC but they are owned by the hotel

Room Tip: LEAVING SAN JOSE - Leave yourself enough time at the airport even if you are going Business class or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario G, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Mr. wdchuck1, Thank you for your feedback we are working about all your comments and also we will be more than happy to have you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is new in very nice area close to shopping,Rooms are very nice and price is great.
Breakfast was fantastic.Over all great place.
Inside parking helps.Nice bar upstairs on 8 th floor.Very nice clients late in the evening

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario G, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Tamarindorentals , Our goal is always have a happy customer so it´s our pleasure to read this excellent comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

A friendly place with warm welcome and good rooms, nice restaurant where chef goes extra mile to cook and present veg meal. It could be great if facilities at hotel are made know more clearly. Great place for business travel and tourist. casino (small) attached for winding down..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario G, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Mr. sanjivvgandhi thank you so much for your comments we are very glad that the hotel was for you purposes and more. We expect you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton San Jose Hotel

Address: Route 27, 350 Metros Oeste Multiplaza, San Jose 10203, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton San Jose Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Jose Hotel Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton San Jose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.