We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You Mona Lisa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mona Lisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mona Lisa to your Saves list
Hotel Mona Lisa
Avenida 11 & Calle 3 bis | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$39 (USD)
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Thank You Mona Lisa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I stayed 10 days here and could not have asked for a better stay. The place is slightly dated which adds to its charm. The bar and restaurant are fine and comfortable. I told one of the managers that I wish they had coffee in the lobby before 7am and he said "no problem, I'll put a free coffee maker in your room." Helmuth and Guy are very helpful and seem like friends I want to see again when I left. Great tv, wifi, clean and comfortable. Oh, yes, there is a casino there which is busy night and day. Can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Tell them you need to have seamless wifi, and they will assign a room accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mona Lisa, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for staying with us at the Hotel Mona Lisa. Happy to hear you enjoyed the Casino and felt like a King. We do our Best to treat all our guests like Kings. Hope to see you again soon.
Director of Guest Services - Guy Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    21
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
6
8
54
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Hotel Mona Lisa & Casino treated me like a king wether I gambled or not. I will stay there again on my next visit to San Jose and would recommend to anyone looking to be treated like a king or queen..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mona Lisa, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy when we can to sit down and have a drink with our guests. It's a pleasure. Hope to see you again soon.
Director of Guest Services - Guy Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

the price of this hotel is very reasonable at the given special rate of <us$56 per night. Guy and George are the managers and are very peronsonable. They will sit and have a drink with you. They are very reasonable if you are low on cash. <i always use this hotel in san jose..

Room Tip: always ask for any specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mona Lisa, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We're always happy to get feedback from our clients about our Service. Thanks for using us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Director of Guest Services - Guy Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I didn't actually stay in the hotel, but found the place when my GF felt like getting a massage. We got on-line and of course most of what we saw were massage parlors that catered to single men (if you don't know what that means, San Jose is probably not the town for you). We were lucky to stumble across a review of Yorleny's services.

We called the hotel and got thru to the manager, Guy, who booked an hour a 2-hour massage the same afternoon, which I believe was $60USD. We arrived about 10min early and were greeted by Guy, who was very personable and friendly while we waited for Yorleny to prepare. We finally met Yorleny in her massage room, where she displays her multiple accreditations, and were at first surprised by her small size and youthful appearance. Don't be fooled though - She's got a vice-like grip and knows how to use it!

While my GF was getting her massage, I hung out at the bar/casino area and enjoyed some reasonably priced beer and appetizers which were surprisingly good. The casino area was friendly and inviting, with just the right lighting and not too noisy or distracting.

My GF commented that the massage from Yorleny was really good, easily up there with the $120-$200 massages she often goes for at fancier hotel spas. A really sweet deal from a really sweet masseuse! Definitely worth trying out. The only complaint was that a phone call wasn't answered by the hotel lobby and ended up ringing in the massage room. Without that distraction things would have been perfect.

Just to emphasize, massages with Yorleny are strictly professional.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mona Lisa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your generous review about Yorleny. I happen to agree with you that she is the best professional masseuse in San Jose. I worked with her at the Dunn Inn Hotel for 3 years and now almost 2 years at the Hotel Mona Lisa. In Costa Rica like many other countries you don't actually need a degree or even any training to say your a massage therapist. Make some business cards and hang a shingle on a building and there you go.but not her. Yorleny, a single mom, put herself through Massage School for three years while holding down a night job at a factory and raising three kids on her own. She finished school top of her class with her degree in Deep Tissue Massage and since has gone back for continued education and has earned three more degrees in different types of massage. She now incorporated all the different things she learned with her four degrees together to form her own unique style of massage. Yorleny's loves her job, always has a warm smile on her face and leaves you feeling like you just had the best massage of your life. She will be grateful for your kind words and kind review. Director Guest Services - Guy Grand .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

<enjoyed being here to watch the costa rica soccer game. very exciting. the staff was very friendly and excellent service. nice large rooms and very clean. nice big casino and poker room. had a professional relaxing massage from yorleny the in house massuese. <well worth the 40 dollars.. i will return and highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: 4third floor in back very quiet and nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mona Lisa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Daniel, Thank you for your very kind review of the Mona Lisa. Happy to hear you enjoyed the football game at our sports bar. It was an exciting game. Glad to hear you enjoyed your professional massage with Yorleny, she is the fantastic. I try myself to get a massage from her at least once a month if time permits. Thanks again for staying with us and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Director of Guest Services - Guy Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Awhile back, the Mona Lisa was a Clarion property. Not a bad one, but nothing special. I "almost" stayed there several years ago when I was in SJ. I have stayed a 5 other places in my travels to SJ and, so far, this stay (at least insofar as the hotel is concerned) is the best! Unlike most of the places in this area, this hotel has all the modern comforts you'd expect in the States.

Guest relations Mgr. Guy, along with several other staff members, really give you the personal touch. It is a rather refreshing change not to be an anonymous guest and actually be treated like a VIP. Almost every time I go up to my nice large standard room on the 4th floor (with blackout curtains) and pass the front desk, I am greeted, asked how things are going and if there is anything that the staff can do for me. Impressive.

With a casino, very friendly poker room, great restaurant and wonderful ambiance...well, its a pretty darn good deal. My room is clean, well kept up, and (mind you, this was still a Clarion...not a 5 star hotel) very quiet, too!

I heartily recommend this hotel if you want a comfortable, clean and economical place to stay while visiting San Jose. There are also several great restaurants in the area that are rated in the top ten on TripAdvisor, as well.

Enjoy your stay in San Jose!

Room Tip: All good rooms, from what I can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mona Lisa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the very Positive review in Tripadvisor. Sounds to me like you had a great time and my staff was doing their job. We try our best to be friendly and make you feel at home away from home. I will let my staff know what a good job they are doing and thank you so much for your feedback. We here at the Hotel Mona Lisa look forward to Serving you again on your next visit to San Jose.
Pura Vida, Guy Manager Public relations and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at Mona Lisa in San Jose Costa Rica and it was great again. Food was excellent in the restaurant on site, they had undated safes from key to electronic, which was much better and as always the people were as friendly and helpful as last time I stayed there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mona Lisa, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review of the Hotel Mona Lisa. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us as much as your last visit. I will be happy to share your feedback with our staff and let them know that they are doing a good job being of Service to our guests. Hope to see you again in the near future. From all our staff here at the Hotel Mona Lisa, PURA VIDA
Director of Guest Services - Guy Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mona Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mona Lisa

Address: Avenida 11 & Calle 3 bis | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mona Lisa Hotel and Casino is strategically located in the historic neighborhood of Barrio Amon in San Jose near the Fanancial Center of the Capital. It is close to cultural attractions, entertainment and only 25 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. The property features 87 magnificant rooms, distributed in a four staries building including 21 Deluxe Rooms. A very inviting hotel with distinguished Costa Rica Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Mona Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mona Lisa Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mona Lisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.