We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - Very Accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mona Lisa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mona Lisa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mona Lisa
Avenida 11 & Calle 3 bis | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$56 (USD)
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value - Very Accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at the Mona Lisa twice during a July 2013 trip. Each time was in a standard room, which was newly renovated, spacious and very clean.

The internet pictures of the rooms were very fair representations. The hotel was exactly as I expected.

The front desk staff spoke English and went out of their way to assist and accommodate me, as I do not speak any Spanish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    20
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
6
7
48
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I recently had a crew of 12 guys staying at the Mona Lisa San Jose, Costa Rica.
Guy and his staff we as good as it gets!
Nice rooms- nice gambling- and beautiful bartenders!
Try the Hotel Mona Lisa you will like it too!
Lance Morgan
President
Morgan Concrete LLC

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our (wife and I) first visit to Costa Rica, and we stayed 4 nights the third week of June. When we travel we like staying in areas where we can experience the local people and culture, and the Mona Lisa proved to do just that. We were with a group, which made our stay nicer than solo, and we found both good and minor not so good things about the Mona Lisa. Good: Maid service was terrific, most of the staff was very helpful (waiters in the Cafe need more help), the "ladies" that frequent the bar area are very nice, the hotel is well located downtown (depending on your needs); we felt safe but be cautious and use good sense. Not so Good: Room safe not bolted to floor, hanger and towel racks coming out of wall, no iron or ironing board, strong WiFi signal but cannot connect on upper floors, cafe service slow, the food is adequate but nothing spectacular (we found much better choices out of the hotel), the beds only have one sheet and need comforters, and the checkout was slow as they don't have a computer system. Part of our group said that 3 staff members were fired for theft, but we did not have any problems. Overall a nice, quaint, boutique style hotel that has so much potential, we would recommend staying as long as you realize it's not 4 or 5 star accommodations.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front street give you a view of the city :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Most importantly, when visiting Costa Rica, I would stay away from San Jose. We stayed one night in the Mona Lisa and wanted out as soon as possible. The hotel lobby was a hang out for prostitutes and the hotel manager was pimping for them. The hotel security told my wife not to wear any jewelry or she would be robbed. Our room had visible mold behind the curtains. The guests in the room next to us partied all night, in the middle of the night someone tried getting in our room and we were woken early by a dog barking. We left the next day and never looked back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at the Mona Lisa Hotel two in April for three days. The experience created a mixture of complex feelings based on areas of excellence clashing with small pockets of mismanagement.

That much said, the good news far outranks the few negative. Here is the good news:

...Excellent customer service manager in Mr. Guy Grand. Just a seasoned professional who knows how to make you feel at home and special.

....The restaurant and outdoor patio/eating area is lovely. I sat there most days - reading, eating, and just enjoying watching cars and people go by. Now to some this may sound like nothing special, but believe me, in San Jose, there are hardly any hotels with an outdoor balcony where you can sit, feel the cool wind, and watch the world go by.

....The rooms were very nice. Nothing dramatic, but large, very clean, comfortable bed, and free wifi that actually worked very well, something lacking in many San Jose hotels.

....For the gamblers in all of us, there is a very nice casino and a small, but friendly poker room with daily Texas Hold-em games.

....Two large bars, one in the lobby and one in the restaurant. The bartenders care and have great attitudes. You feel very comfortable there..

Lots of security in a quiet neighborhood close to all the downtown "action". "Girl-friendly" for the single man traveling alone.

....Guess what? The Mona Lisa has a free, long distance phone in the lobby where you can call the U.S. and Canada. That's right, I said FREE!!!! In San Jose that simply does not exist. I often stay at the Hilton and they charge you money just to pick up the receiver. A call is $5.00 per minute at the Hilton. At the Mona Lisa it is FREE. I'll say it again - FREE!!!!!

Excellent security everywhere. You feel safe. These days in San Jose, that is no small thing.

....Yorleny gives massages in her private studio. These are legitimate massages offered by one of the best practitioners I've seen in all the country. Her prices will startle you they are so low. And she is a sweet and kind person, and very good at deep-tissue and Swedish. Do not miss this chance to relax.

...My room on the fourth floor was quiet. Actually surprisingly quiet. That was nice.

...This is a small thing, but details count. The elevators are very fast. Yes that's right, when you are dying to get to your room on the top floor in a hurry, you actually will.

...An excellent lobby with lots of activity. A great place to read, drink, watch sports on big screens, and just meet the local "wildlife", so to speak.

Ok, let's get the bad news out:.

...A weak chef and that is being kind. In fact, the chef at the Mona Lisa might be the worst restaurant chef I have ever encountered. Not a single plate, breakfast; hamburger; not even a signature costa rica dish like El Casado, was close to fair. Most dishes were just plain horrible. After two days I gave up and left the hotel to eat elsewhere.

...In typical costa rica fashion, service can be good or non-existent depending on what you want and when. But that is relatively consistent of many small hotels in the area.

All in all I recommend this hotel. It is under new ownership and so it has a few wrinkles here and there, but the positive far outway the negatives.

If they have already changed the chef, then book today!! If not, book anyway, and eat elsewhere.

Warm regards to Guy and Yorleny. I hope to see you soon.

Jose Luciano
Miami , Florida



....

Room Tip: Ask for a rom on the highest floor; sometimes the music from downstairs in the casino can bug you on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Its not completely finished and they have some kinks to work out but they are small problems. IE Internet shaky, having to go down and get ice from bar instead of on your floor,TV not set up righto scroll for stations,t but the staff more than makes up for it in service. George is very friendly, not a very good poker player (LOL)

Guy , the Guest Service Manager will go above and beyond for your needs and the bartenders like Marie and Lillian are have great personality that you will not find with the sharks that work the other places, most notably The The Del Rey.

Give them a try next time in San Jose, they even brought a room service sandwich up at 2 am in the morning!! Not going to get that anywhere else!!

Room Tip: Get the newly remodeled rooms on the 4th floor facing the montains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last month for a week hotel was awesome this place was very clean, short walk to anywhere downtown, staff was great extremely helpful, and at a great price this will be my hotel of choice on future trips.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mona Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mona Lisa

Address: Avenida 11 & Calle 3 bis | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Barrio Amon, the Hotel Mona Lisa has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Its spacious 93 rooms offer our guests a practical luxury unmatched in San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Mona Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mona Lisa Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mona Lisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.