We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave 6 Street 28, San Jose 10111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Wayne, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Everyone was very nice smiley and helpful. Rooms we're clean and we'll appointed. With so many Americans they should have more American TV stations. Front desk was helpful and ordered taxi for me when ever I needed transportation. The snacks by front desk a ripp off and way over priced

Room Tip: All suites are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks GaryS

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we are thrilled about all the good reviews we are getting! , we are definitely taking in count your recommendations about more American channels and the prices of the store.

Best Regards
Eduardo Carrasco
Eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    51
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
70
9
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed there for 6 nights & found it to be very clean, comfortable & well planned. The bathroom was truly zen-like, but unfortunately, that soft lighting didn't do anything for those of us who need to apply make-up! Our ONLY complaint was with the awful waitress in the RBG restaurant, where we ate nearly every night. I have never had such a completely dismissive & unavailable waitress! And from the other reviews I've read, we are not the only ones that feel this way. Too bad, because otherwise I'd rate this property a 5 star. The other staff were very attentive to our needs.

Room Tip: Our upper floor room had a FABULOUS view of the city & mountains. Gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for the review!

We are glad to read that you enjoy your stay of 1 week at the hotel!
I will check with the food and beverage manager the attitude problem os the waitres, we are alway looking ways to improve, thank you very much for let us know it

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Taking into account the service, comfort, and decor, this was the best hotel stay my husband and I have ever had.

We ate at the RBG. The food was not fancy. It was good value and well-prepared.

Very helpful front desk, Fernando, we think was his name, was particularly helpful.

Short walk to the downtown, including pedestrian-only streets. We walked about 10 minutes to the bus station to take the public bus to the airport.

Little things we appreciated:

- Fine control over the air system
- Specialty teas in the room

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for the review!

We are glad to read that you liked Park Inn by Radisson San Jose!
Park inn by Radisson San Jose is looking forward to improve our service, thanks for let us know that the food was not wonderfull, I will send the information to our chef to work to improve this area.

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I would like to extend a special "Thank You" to Eduardo (front desk), Arturo (front desk), Vanessa (housekeeping) and Jose (Restaurant). Each of them went above and beyond to answer questions, cater to our needs and ensure our stay was excellent.

My other half and I stayed here for 7 nights. As a Carlson Club Gold member, I was upgraded to a suite upon check in (early check-in to be more specific). I was very pleased with the room...separate living area, spacious, gorgeous bathroom. The room looked exactly like the website. It included a mini-fridge and coffee-maker. We were able to purchase bottled water and other drinks from a convenience store on Paseo Colon. The hotel is new and very clean. When our room was serviced by Vanessa (housekeeping), she made sure our stuff was extra tidy and created an animal figure with the towels.

Customer Service:
Excellent! The staff is very friendly and goes above and beyond to meet the needs of the guests. Eduardo (front desk) always greeted me by name.

Location:
The location is off the beaten path and could be considered remote by some. The surrounding area is “urban.” No problem for us, but it depends on what you are used to. Downtown is about a 20 minute walk. The nearest fast food restaurants (on Paseo Colon) are about a 5-7 minute walk, however, the restaurants deliver to the hotel. We ordered from Pizza Hut, but also had the option to order from fast food chains such as Wendi’s, KFC, etc. We do not speak Spanish, so Arturo (front desk), placed the order for us. I wasn’t aware of any fine dining restaurants in the immediate area.

RBG Grill:
There is a decent selection of food (nothing spectacular). We dined here several times and utilized room service. The breakfast buffet is O.K. , however, the Chef is more than accommodating. There is no omelet bar, but upon my request the chef willingly prepared an omelet to my specifications. Jose was our waiter on several evenings. He was very personable and receptive to any of our questions. Good luck in your advanced English class!

Pool/Gym:
The pool is small and designed for a “quick dip.” Don’t expect hours of relaxing pool side. We utilized the 24 hour gym…nothing fancy, but adequate.

Internet:
We never had a problem connecting in the room or anywhere else in the hotel. The connection speed was great.

Concierge:
The concierge on duty worked for Gray Line Tours. You are able to book tours with Gray Line and purchase your airport departure tax voucher through them (as opposed to waiting in line at the airport). The focus seemed to be on Gray Line’s offerings. I asked the front desk for general info on taxis and the surrounding area.

Airport Transfers:
This was arranged through the hotel for $35 USD (one-way). Pick up at the airport was very efficient. Someone was waiting for us with a sign with our name on it upon arrival. We were than whisked into a taxi van and driven about 30 minutes to the hotel.

Note:
There was no bellman. I am not sure if this is in line with the hotel’s business model. I have stayed at other Park Inns and some have a bellman while others don’t.

If you are looking for a new, clean property with excellent customer service, Park Inn San Jose is recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks!

We really enjoy to read your review, we really appreciate that you take the time to write it, I just read it to all the people that you wrote about, and they are really happy because their job was appreciated.

You know that every time you need to stay in San Jose, Park inn San Jose is your home away from home.

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@arkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The building is brand new, the staff is helpful and they always have a smile on their face, great food and room service.
Ideally located on the down town area was the perfect pick for me before continuing my CR adventure!
The manager is always around making sure everyone needs are fulfill!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for the review!

We are proud to be one of San Jose favorite hotels, our guests are always looking to come back, maybe because what you said about the service, or our comfortable and spacious rooms, or the delicious food, or maybe just the combination of all those facts.

We keep working to give a better service and more facilities for our guests, so every time you come back, you will see something new to improve your stay at Park inn by Radisson San Jose

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

There is nothing more to add than what you see on the website: the rooms look just the same. No surprise at your arrival.
Few points need to be raised:
1. if you are planning to stay the entire day at the swimming pool, you might be disappointed since it is quite small.
2. if you are on business trip, you need to know that the internet in the rooms has not the best signal. I solved the problem working from the hotel's restaurant where the waiters gives attention to your needs.
3. Since the hotel is new, few taxi drivers know where it is. I had my share of city tours that week. You should ask the hotel to give you some indications to indicate to the driver where the hotel is.

Overall, a nice stay for a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks Sandra H!

We try to show what we are in all our pictures and promotions! I will check the wifi situation with the IT manager, is the first time that we have a problem with the wifi in the hotel.

We hope to see you in our hotel once again

Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel twice while visiting San Jose. On both times we stayed in a handicapped accessible room and we were not disappointed at all. Neither of us are handicapped, but the room layout was spacious. Our rate included breakfast and the food was great. Our breakfast hostess was incredible. She did a fantastic job of training a specially challenged employee and she did it with such genuine and kindness. This hotel is about a 30 minute walk to Downtown. There were several fast food chain restaurants within a 10 minute walk from this hotel. Excellent service from everyone at the hotel; eg, front desk agents, breakfast hostess, bartender, doorman. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks GeminiTraveler

We are glad to read every week posts like yours in our tripadvisor page, we have become one of the favorites hotels in the city, and there is a reason for that, great staff, great rooms, great food and excelent location.

Thank you very much!

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica

Address: Ave 6 Street 28, San Jose 10111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just steps from Paseo Colon, SJ's main avenue and walking distance from downtown. Just minutes from the major business and shopping centers of our capital. We are a new, fresh, fun, and environmental friendly hotel of 125 rooms beautifully designed, including 10 suites (60mts2) ideal for long stays. In addition to our RBG Restaurant Bar & Grill, we offer 2 Bars, one located next to the pool, Gym, Business Center & Outdoor Pool located on the 3rd floor. Also we offer underground free Parking and 10 Meeting Rooms to accommodate up to 250 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.