We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, restaurant service needs to improve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave 6 Street 28, San Jose 10111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, restaurant service needs to improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a new hotel opened in San Jose, Costa Rica. All facilities are brand new and the staff gentle. I would rate it "very good" if the service in the restaurant could keep up with the attention and professionalism of the hotel staff. We were in a party of five, the food ordered arrived to everybody but me. The waiter seemed confused, he either did not sent my order to the kitchen or the cook forgot to prepare it. Fifteen minutes later my order arrived, but that was not the meal I ordered. The restaurant service needs improving but the hotel is very good overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear farmami2012

We are glad to read that you like Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, we are really sorry for the inconvenience with your restaurant order; we are taking all the corrective actions to avoid this situation to happen again, we are always looking forward to improve our service, our food and beverage manager is already working on this

I’m sure that if you visit us once again, you will be more than pleased with our service and food.

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Quality & Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    137
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
150
35
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My friends and I stayed here from 8/1 - 8/4 before traveling to Guanacaste. The hotel is very clean, new, and updated. The rooms are all new and look trendy. The gym was clean, and provided water, towels, and fruit. Not a bug in site! The staff were extremely friendly and helped whenever asked. They gave us directions to the bar, mercado, and the bus stop. One night they even called a restaurant for me because I didn't know how to ask certain questions in Spanish! They have a happy hour by the pool Monday - Friday, which helped because It rained everyday from 2-5pm lol. The breakfast was included in the stay and was outstanding. Beans and rice, plantains, eggs, meat, cheese, pastries and bread, tons of fruit, juice etc. If you are looking for a nice hotel near downtown San Jose, this is it. Absolutely beautiful. Thank You so much. Mi Amigas loved our trip to Costa Rica!

Room Tip: They gave us a room on the 10th floor facing the Paseo Colon. Buses pass in front of the hotel. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear prettypsych

Thank you very much for such a nice review!

Our chef choose the best local fruits to have the best ones available for the breakfast, we also like to add some tropical ones that most of the tourists are not familiar with, this has been a great decision!

Also our Pool Lounge on the third floor is a great spot to relax and enjoy our happy hour!

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Quality & Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent hotel, really modern spacious rooms with super comfy large beds and flat screen TV. The breakfast was also included which was good, plenty of fresh fruit, eggs and coffee.
The pool are is small but nice and is very pretty at night.
Good location too, 30 mins from the airport and a short taxi ride or 20 min walk into the city.
A special mention must go to Danko the concierge who helped us book our trip to La Paz, his English is really good and he is extremely friendly. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review!

Is an honor for us to read that any of our guests was pleased with the service provided by the hotel, we work very hard to create the best experience possible.

I will let Danko know that you enjoy the tour!

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Quality & Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
2257-1011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Well what a surprise. This new hotel in San Jose, ( Sabana) is going to give everyone a run for their money. Clean and new. Surprising and very pleasing is the fact the restaurant does not have a TV in the area what pleasure to go and eat and not have A TV MAKING NOISE. This hotel has broken tradition and gone for it. The staff is wonderful. The meals are great. The business class is above the norm. There are many included business services that are free where all others charge for. The facility's are prefect and the setting is great. Easy access to all parts of San Jose.
We were impressed. Great for the business person or the family just looking to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Greeting from San Jose Jeffretdcr!

We are glad to know that your stay with us was more than pleasant, probably one of the biggest advantages of Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, is that we have the whole package, a 5 stars hotel, with complimentary breakfast, High Speed Internet, local calls and with a convenient location for any travel reason.
We also have a Leed Gold Certification and we have a 100% green operation that we try to promote with all our guests.

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Quality & Guest Service Manager
Eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego,CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at Park Inn for 4 days - the experience was pretty good - friendly front desk employee and always willing to help, good internet connection (free) , decent breakfast and walking distance to some of the restaurants recommended by Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are always looking forward to give the best service, our front desk clerks are able to help our guests with any information of the area, restaurant recommendations, and even to help the guest to book a car or a room in another hotel if you are going out of San Jose.


Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Quality & Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hi- I recently stayed at the Park Inn by Radisson in San Jose, Costa Rica for 9 days. Its a new building so everything is new, and well maintained. However, my biggest issue is the fact that the hotel has a CONSTANT habit of renting out the swimming pool for private parties- that is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE!!!. Customers pay for use of a pool and not to arrive and be told it is not available because it being used for a private party. If you read other trip advisor experiences, you will read the same thing

when i did my reservations, i did not know this. The pool was one of the main reasons I stayed at the hotel, and if its not available, why stay, or most of all, WHY do they charge the SAME rate regardless of whether the pool is open or not? for a hotel to charge customers into paying for a swimming pool and then its not available because its being rented for a private party/event is EXTREMELY DECEPTIVE!NO EXCUSES! the hotel is clearly attempting to double-dip- to have double profits by charging for pool use for customers yet at the same time renting it out for a profit to a private party- I plan to file a complaint also with the office headquarters of Radisson- i should have received some type of discount at the very least- five star hotels don't rip off customers!!so therefore its a three -star rating

Room Tip: before doing reservations, contact the hotel directly by email and state you are paying for swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Mr Marvin L

We are really sorry to read that you had an inconvenience with our pool during your stay at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, we would to apologize for this inconvenience, we completely understand your complaint and we are going to work to avoid this kind of situation, thank you very much for your feedback.

I Just sent you an email to give the follow up to your case.

Best Regards
Eduardo Carrasco
Quality & Guest Service Manager
Eduardo.Carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had a most pleasant three day stay at Park Inn in San Jose Costa Rica. Highly recommend, without hesitation. The staff was super kind, the room larger than expected with all necessary ammenities for a confortable stay. Breakfast was delicius: best Galo Pinto I had in my whole stay in Costa Rica. Should I need to come back to San Jose, would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias Gustavojc

Nuestra meta es superar las expectativas del cliente al terminar la estadia, y cuando leemos comentario como el que usted acaba de compartir con la comunidad de tripadvisor, nos damos cuenta que vamos en la direccion correcta.

No dude en contactarnos para sus futuras reservaciones!

Saludos Cordiales
Eduardo Carrasco
Quality & Guest Service Manager
Eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica

Address: Ave 6 Street 28, San Jose 10111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just steps from Paseo Colon, SJ's main avenue and walking distance from downtown. Just minutes from the major business and shopping centers of our capital. We are a new, fresh, fun, and environmental friendly hotel of 125 rooms beautifully designed, including 10 suites (60mts2) ideal for long stays. In addition to our RBG Restaurant Bar & Grill, we offer 2 Bars, one located next to the pool, Gym, Business Center & Outdoor Pool located on the 3rd floor. Also we offer underground free Parking and 10 Meeting Rooms to accommodate up to 250 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.