We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel we stayed at in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stolas Hostel

Save Saved
You added Stolas Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stolas Hostel
300 mts North from La Sede Lechera. | Av 14, 35th Street., San Jose 10105, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best hostel we stayed at in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Phenomenal experience - great place to stay! Clean, comfortable rooms, and incredible staff who were kind and considerate and helped us set up trips and arranged taxi service to the airport. Located around a 20-30 minute walk from downtown, with convenient bus service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nachos18, Owner at Stolas Hostel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
First of all, thank you very much for staying with us! We are all about our customers and the experience that we offer. The fact that you had a great time really means that we are heading on the right track!

Our main goal is for travelers to really experience Costa Rica how it's supposed to: pura vida style!

Look forward to having you here again some time!

Thanks,

Ignacio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
30
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hostel is located in an upmarket area. It is surrounding by smart villas and fancy houses. The hostel is well worth its money. The staff, especially Andre is amazingly patient and helpful with the guests. I would definitely stay here again if I visited San Jose.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nachos18, Owner at Stolas Hostel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you very much for that review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff could help you out in all possible ways! A great experience starts with great staff.

We are sure that the rest of your trip went as well as your stay with us!

Ignacio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

In Costa Rica for a 2-month internship, I stayed in Stolas only for one month, but if I had known about this option before, I would have chosen it from the beginning on. After having spent one month in a shared apartment with 4 Ticos, where none of them talked to each other and shared anything with the others, I enjoyed all the more my stay in Stolas! When I moved there, I started to really enjoy the Costa Rican lifestyle.
The common areas, like the kitchen, the 2 cosy living rooms are very welcoming and always filled with good mood. The whole place, bedrooms and bathrooms, is always clean (No cucarachas, very important!!!!)
The 3 young owners are so nice and always available for anything you might need. They organize activities and parties for their hosts and try to make each stay unforgettable. I never thought I would meet so many nice people when I get to Costa Rica, by myself! But thanks to the Stolas staff and hosts, I did :)
The hostel can be quiet and peaceful and is at the same time always full of people ready to party! It’s a great choice to meet people from other cultures and speak other languages. My Spanish skill improved a lot there (verdad que si??? ;) )!
I may have plans to go back to Costa Rica in a few months for another internship and for sure, I would definitely want to live back there for a longer time!!
It definitively is the best option, no matter the length of your stay, you’ll enjoy Stolas right away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at Stolas for 4 months because I was doing an internship really close to the hostel. In my opinion, Stolas is the best option if you have to stay in Los Yoses, especially if you are doing an internship there.

The place is really well located (conveniently next to the mall and the party area, but also close to the UCR). You will be living with young amazing people living there (mostly students and people doing an internships). It is a very good way to meet new people coming from all over the world. It is owned by three really nice costaricans ! They are always ready to help you and make you feel comfortable. They are also good partiers!

As far as the accommodations are concerned, the rooms are big, 3 bathrooms, a great kitchen (with everything you need) and a huge TV with playstation.

If you want to study or work in peace, the place is calm but if you want to party, there is always someone ready !

Room Tip: The best option to stay in for an internship in Los Yoses !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Last April I stayed at this hostel and I had a bad experience. First, since it doesn't have any sign to identify it, it's not easy to find it. Second, the first night at the hostel, the mattress was wet. Apparently, it looked fine, but when I put some pressure on with my body, water sprang up getting wet the sheets and myself. In the beginning, I thought, it is a water mattress getting broken, but after feeling a very bad smell I realized it was urine. Yes. It was! The night before, someone pissed on the mattress and the owners, who are the ones attending the place, did not bother to check for something like this. They just removed the wet sheet and covered the wet and pissed mattress with a clean and dry one. Third, since the hostel is very close to a stream of water that do not run, the ponds of water are really the headquarters of many mosquitoes which go to the hostel rooms nightly eating your blood, transmitting diseases and not letting you sleep. Fourth, but not less important, in a period of time less than a week, three robberies occurred about one block away and including robbery of some of the guests of the Stolas Hostel. For all these reasons and because the place in general is not really clean, I do not recommend this hostel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are concern about safety & cleanliness DO NOT pick Stolas Hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francisco S, Manager at Stolas Hostel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

Primero agradecer su tiempo para escribir su crítica y siempre una crítica negativa nos ayuda a crecer y reflexionar sobre la calidad de nuestro arduo esfuerzo que hacemos para que todos nuestros huéspedes tengan una experiencia cómoda, segura y memorable. Pero al leer la crítica sentimos un deber de clarificar ciertos hechos que usted menciona al mismo tiempo que indagar sobre su conducta posteriormente a los hechos.

No negamos el hecho que el colchón estaba húmedo lo cual lamentamos profundamente pero alegar que era orina es completamente falso. La humedad correspondía un vaso de un jugo que derramó otro huésped por error. Posterior a este incidente hemos prohibido el ingreso a los dormitorios con bebidas. Una acusación de tal índole nos parece precoz e insustancial con el propósito de herir a la gerencia del hostal.

Acerca de sus otros criterios para devaluar el servicio brindado por el Hostal responderé todas en breve. La falta de señalización es un asunto municipal y no por falta de intención nuestra. La zona de Los Yoses es estadísticamente de las zonas más seguras de la capital y por ello alberga varios otros hoteles, hostales, bares, restaurantes etc. En cuanto los mosquitos, cuales solo se presentan en los meses del alto verano (Marzo y Abril) se tomaron medidas efectivas para mitigar su presencia; medidas para las cuales usted estuvo presente.
Por último entonces, alzo la pregunta de ¿Por qué si su experiencia fue paupérrima se hospedó con nosotros por un total de casi tres semanas? Creemos que la respuesta yace en el calor y afecto demostrado por el staff durante su larga estadía. De nuevo agradecemos su crítica. Estamos conscientes siempre el servicio se debe mejorar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nestled in a neighbourhood with some of the coolest examples of 50s and 60s architecture, Stolas is more home than hostel.

Unlike other hostels I have stayed at, Stolas makes its guests feel more like a family. Many folks who stay here use this place as a base to launch other trips, often returning just to hang out and hanging out is good at Stolas.

Wide screen tv, killer surround sound system, Playstation and probably one of the fastest internet connections to be found anywhere are just some of the goodies available for clients. Breakfast, either pancakes or gallo pinto with eggs is offered to guests. The kitchen is very user friendly and is regularly cleaned. Hell, this place is CLEAN.

The owners, all young guys are motivated to give their clients a great stay and offer access to tours and parties. Not everyone who stays here though is a traveler. There are long-term guests here who add to the family atmosphere as well as friends of the owners who drop by to catch a match on the telly or invite guests out to activities going on at the nearby university.

While there are not a lot of rooms here, perhaps that is what makes Stolas more inviting to the weary traveler....a bit of peace, less crowding but still having a funky vibe. To say that folks here have great taste in music would be an understatement.

Check the website out often as the owners are continuously fine-tuning other options for its guests.

Oh, did I mention there was a bar here?

Room Tip: Call ahead......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not only does Stolas hostel have a great location, but it also has an outstanding staff. Always there to attend you and make you feel at home, the staff have for sure proven to be the attraction, i mean, their welcome gift is a beer!!. The building itself makes any backpacker want to peak in, and the cleanliness of the hostel is greatly appreciated, unlike in other places....
I would for sure advise anyone needing a place to stay in San Jose, to be Stolas Hostel!
Pura Vida!

N.A

Room Tip: Every room will fit to your accomodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stolas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stolas Hostel

Address: 300 mts North from La Sede Lechera. | Av 14, 35th Street., San Jose 10105, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Specialty lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stolas is a new hostel and rooming house located in Los Yoses, San Jose, Costa Rica. Conveniently located in the city, Stolas is equipped to provide every service and amenity required by backpackers and tourists visiting Costa Rica; the ideal hostel for those who seek the perfect combination between rest and leisure.The hostel’s size makes it easy for our staff to personally tend to your needs; its owners, three young Costa Rican entrepreneurs, can guarantee that you will not forget your stay in San Jose.Stolas is located in Los Yoses, a safe and calm neighborhood just outside downtown San Jose. Once mainly residential, in the past years a lot of people have left Los Yoses, giving way to an array of business such as law firms, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Stolas Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stolas Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stolas Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.