We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocoon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cocoon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocoon Hotel
Calle Central, Avenida 9, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed with my wife at Cocoon Hotel for a week in march and had a wonderful time specially with the staff they are very friendly and know very well what to do in San Jose city, nightlife, museums, arts even for the surrounding areas they guided us from reception by giving us addresses and ways for making tourism at the volcanoes and beach. The breakfast was good enough for us with its options, costa rican typical “Gallo Pinto” was delicious, rooms are ok clean and fresh, location has the good point that offers a 10 minutes walk to downtown central avenue where most of interested places are located. We highly recommend the hotel for its close location to downtown and the professional and friendly service from the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
18
51
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were dubious about staying here after reading some negative reviews, but were pleasantly surprised!

The man behind the front desk was SO helpful and friendly. When our first room's safe didn't have a key, he immediately gave us another room. Rooms are big and beds very comfy. Yes there is noise but you're in the middle of the city, what do you expect?! Only negative was a damp smell to the room, possibly due to the old building/ lack of ventilation in the bathroom, but really, Who cares?For the price and location it's brilliant!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great simple place, with very very helpful staff. Good , again very simple, breakfast. Location is not the best , but is only few minutes from centre. And also not so long drive to the airport. Had little issue with hot water. I would def stay again. Thank you

Room Tip: room 106 is without wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had a good visit at this hotel. The breakfast was really good and included fresh fruit juice, coffee, and either eggs, rice with beans, and bread or a fruit platter, yogurt and granola. Beds were pretty firm but we didnt wake up with any stiffness. Hotel staff was nice and helpful. The room was a little small.

For the price, its a no-brainer to stay here. I would stay here again. That being said, San Jose itself isnt really worth spending a lot of time in as a tourist/traveler.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here only one night. We chose it based on the location: Arriving on SJO airport and leaving the next day for Tortuguero from Caribenos bus terminal (only 200m walk). We had a silent and clean room. The WiFi was good and really fast. The breakfast was okay. Friendly and helpful staff...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The 2 staff members who spoke English were very helpful to us. The breakfast was fine.

Our biggest disappointment was the room which was very small for 3 of us The water in the shower never got hot plus the shower didn't drain properly. Also, the room was very noisy - we heard people partying late in the night due to our open window.

Most of the people staying were local, and it certainly would help if you spoke Spanish. You are close to the center of the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great value....good service from the front door to check out. If you have a car not as convenient
As a 5 star hotel with valet....get over it!,, there is parking very close to the door.
For the price you pay here for a clean and friendly stay you can add several great meals or extra days in Costa Rica! Price value is excellent. We will stay here again before we leave Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Neighborhood not the best for walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoon Hotel

Address: Calle Central, Avenida 9, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Jose, Cocoon Hotel comprises a unique experience of relaxation and comfort in a pleasant atmosphere. Our guests enjoy a combination of exceptional service, good price and quality facilities. It is a great place for business trips, or a quick stay to see everything the city has to offer before exploring the country. Cocoon Hotel is located walking distance from the most important sites in San Jose, such as The National Museum (6 min.), The National Theater (3 min.) and The Pre-Columbian Gold Museum (4 min.); also very close to the major bus stations of San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Cocoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocoon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.