We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocoon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cocoon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocoon Hotel
Calle Central, Avenida 9, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

As other reviewers have said, it's a little bit out of the way, but a good value hotel: room is nicely furnished, albeit the overhead lighting is a bit dark, lobby is very handsome, helpful staff and excellent breakfast. Personally, we didn't feel unsafe in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena G, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Nu2thailand.

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you had a good time in Cocoon. We are working really hard on security so people can feel more save and for your comments we can see that all the things the town and ourselves are doing is working.
We appreciate your comment about the light. We are going to work on that and see what we can do ir order to put a light that give ours guests more light inside the room.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    26
    9
    6
See reviews for
18
50
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a good clean hotel in a bit of an unsafe area but all of San Jose is unsafe after dark!!
Taxis from the main shopping/bar/eating areas are only a couple of dollars. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was pretty good fresh fruits,yougurt,honey etc as well as eggs and gallo pintos. Fresh juice,coffee,teas were also available. The room had a large flat screen cable TV and the hot water in the bathroom was a joy after many cold showers. Overall a very pleasant place at a budget price.
It is a totally non-smoking hotel.
There is a large parking lot at the rear..

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena G, General Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear 10_17_08

Thank you very much for your comment.

I am really happy you enjoyed your stay with us. All of your good comments will be passed to my staff, so they would know all the amazing things you said.
Hope to see you soon on your way back again to Costa Rica.

regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here on way in and way out of Costa Rica, its centrally located so that you can walk in to the Centre in 5 minutes (although many advise against it given the neighbourhoods close by), it is also close to many of the main bus terminals for those 'bussing' it around Costa Rica (which I can highly recommend). The hotel staff were most helpful and friendly, the breakfast very good, the rooms and common areas clean and the price is quite reasonable given that some hotels in San Jose are quite expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at Cocoon Hotel for one night after arriving in Costa rica and before heading on to tour the country. I booked it based on the price and ratings. It was excellent value for money. I got a nice room on the top floor with a big double bed, not much of a view though, just facing a tiny inner courtyard. The decor is simplistic, but modern. There was a fan, flatscreen TV and safe in the room, so there not being a secure latch at the room door didn't bother me. I felt perfectly safe. Wifi only worked in the lobby, unfortunately. The lobby is very welcoming, large and comfortable. There is a small bar where they serve breakfast (included in room rate, yet basic - a small yoghurt pot, some granola, a few pieces of fruit and two pieces of toast). The airport shuttle was 35 US dollars and very reliable. I did not go into town, but it seems to be a bit off the city centre. Not sure how you'd get there. All in all, I really liked the hotel for what I paid!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel was nice and clean for a basic night stay before heading out in Costa Rica. It was in downtown. It really stands out because the rest of the area does not look anything like this. Old metal "shanty buildings" everywhere. Not a chance I would walk anywhere at night!
The only parking was behind building where I wasn't sure if I would ever see our car again.

That being said, The staff was very nice. Breakfast was included and was good and plentiful.
The hotel was a good value with no thrills.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Located on the north west of the main center of san jose, you can walk to all the restaurants, bars and museums from here. The hotel itself has the right idea with the green, plants trying to offer a tropical feel to escape the busy, sometimes seedy walk around central ave. The Hotel lobby is cool in design and boutique like with friendly staff and complimentary typical Tico breakfast which is a great way to start your day. For the price, it's perfect. Its a plus that the hotel has only been open since August but their furniture looks cheaply made so in a year or so it may not look so crisp. Regardless it was a great inexpensive, basic hotel in town.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was a great stop over hotel and a bargain. The free breakfast was delicious. The neighborhood is colorful and full of Tico culture. Great hotel, would stay there again. I had to book through expedia to get the best deal. It was 30 dollars for taxi from airport. Check out Central ave. through the plaza for great people watching and a cheap meal.

Room Tip: corner rooms are bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoon Hotel

Address: Calle Central, Avenida 9, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Jose, Cocoon Hotel comprises a unique experience of relaxation and comfort in a pleasant atmosphere. Our guests enjoy a combination of exceptional service, good price and quality facilities. It is a great place for business trips, or a quick stay to see everything the city has to offer before exploring the country. Cocoon Hotel is located walking distance from the most important sites in San Jose, such as The National Museum (6 min.), The National Theater (3 min.) and The Pre-Columbian Gold Museum (4 min.); also very close to the major bus stations of San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cocoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocoon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.