We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Gallery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galeria Namu

Galeria Namu
7th Avenue | between 5th and 7th streets, San Jose, Costa Rica
50622563412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Shopping in San Jose
Type: Art Galleries, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Galeria Namu is a fair trade art gallery for local and indigenous artists from Costa Rica and surrounding Central America countries. Established in 1998 at this same location, visitors to Costa Rica's capital city of San Jose can find us easily behind the Holiday Inn (across from Parque Morazan).Knowledge and passion for the artists and their work is what makes a visit to Galeria Namu special; the owner, Aisling, and her son Conall, along with their support staff love to share with visitors the background of the tribe or individual artisans and the remarkable collection of unique and very special pieces available for purchase. For the past 15 years, Galeria Namu has nurtured a relationship with the artists who create folk art, gold and jade replicas, handwoven baskets, originals paintings, tagua carvings and jewelry and much more. Visit the website for hours and a sampling of what you will encounter. Be prepared to catch their enthusiasm for fair trade with these local arts and crafts.
Forest Ranch, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Costa Rica for our daughters wedding and one of the high lights was visiting the Galeria Namu. Friendly, helpful service, and a wonderful array of art. We still enjoy our visit by looking everyday at one of the paintings we bought there by a local native artist. Its a place you don't want to miss on your trip to San Jose, Costa Rica.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeCR_12, Social Marketing Manager at Galeria Namu, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We really appreciate your kind words and it is that kind of response that keeps us happily forging ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Galeria Namu - a MUST visit gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is an amazing gallery with people who know what they're talking about and who, most importantly, care about the indigenous people and their environment. I came out a much more knowledgeable person and fired up with their enthusiasm which was tangible.
You have to visit this Gallery, on so many levels it'll change your thinking.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeCR_12, Social Marketing Manager at Galeria Namu, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments; we are committed to bringing the background knowledge of the art and the artists to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best Costa Rica has to offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Galeria Namu creates awareness amongst the discerning traveller of the indigenous cultures of Costa Rica and other regions of Central America. A trip to the country without dropping in, would not be complete.
They also provide the best indigenous and folk art the region has to offer - not only because of the deep understanding, but also the trust that has been built over the past 20 years or so with the indigenous groups and artists whom they have worked with for years.
I have been lucky enough to not only to visit and buy from the gallery, but visit and spend time with some of the groups that contribute to their astounding collections. The experiences gained though the gallery have enriched my life and the beautiful items acquired have embellished my home!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeCR_12, Social Marketing Manager at Galeria Namu, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We have been honoured in the gallery with the magnificent art of this beautiful country and it gives us great satisfaction to know that you feel the same sense of enrichment bringing it back to your home. Thank you for sharing this with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanaimo bc
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Everything you could want in one shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I was so lucky to have Deborah assist me. She knew everything about each handmade item and the artist who made them. There was something for everyone young, old, resident ex pats or tourist. Artwork, authentic mask (mines being shipped to Canada, ho hassel packing it home on plane) baskets and jewellery the selection and creation are a must to see. The prices are excellent and if your lucky you too may get to meet the artist who made your new found treasure. Dont miss this one!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeCR_12, Social Media Manager at Galeria Namu, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Galería Namu; it is a pleasure to be recognized for the great variety of art that we offer and that we bring from numerous sources within Costa Rica and Central America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruther Glen, Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The Finest Gift Shop in Costa Rica, Bar None!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've been a customer of Galeria Namu for years, and love going there. The place is like a museum and the quality of their native art, handcrafted masks, and other indiginous items is superior.

Over time, the art on display evolves and is the best obtainable in CR.

Stop in and see for yourself.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeCR_12, Social Media Manager at Galeria Namu, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
You are quite right, Ruther, our collections are always evolving and we hope you keep coming back to see what's new! Thank you so much for your kind support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galeria Namu also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Galeria Namu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galeria Namu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.