We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest metro parks I have every been to.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parque La Sabana

Parque La Sabana
San Jose, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 33 Attractions in San Jose
Type: Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city's largest park.
Ciudad Quesada, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the nicest metro parks I have every been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very large park with several miles of hike, bike and jogging trails mostly paved. Also a fitness course. Lots of trees, large lake, some small hills but mostly flat. Includes the national stadium on one corner and former airport terminal which is not a museum. Lots of activity on the weekend. Street vendors with food, drinks and odd and ends. Quieter during the week and definitely a good place for a jog walk or bike ride if your staying in the La Sabana or downtown area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    132
    66
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Doesn't have much but bigger than most parks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

For one there's not much to do in San Jose, so a walk through this park is probably on your top 10 list. But its right next to the national stadium, so if you are going to see that you should take a stroll through the park. Sundays are the best time to go and people watch, get a feel for the culture. If you don't want many people around, then go on a weekday. Here you can go on a paddle boat and even horse back ride. It might be the biggest park I've ever been to, but I've never been to Central park

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A welcome surprise across the street from the Crowne Royale Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was a little leery of walking in this park myself--I had been told not to wear a neck chain or carry a camera into it, even in the daytime. So, my initial foray, neckchainless and cameraless, provided quite a surprise. The park is way bigger than it looks and it contains several beautiful bodies of water around which walking/jogging/running paths wend. The park also encompasses a high quality running track (which I took a couple of spins around), many interesting pieces of playground equipment and lots of fields on which to exercise. There were some professional soccer teams staying at my hotel and I noticed members of some of them limbering up in the park and others running on the track--there was also a fairly heavy police presence, both in cars and on horses.The scenery was so beautiful that I chanced returning with my camera, though I did remove the original card and replace it with a substitute as it contained all the pictures of my trip thus far and I didn't want to lose it. Parque La Sabana is a wonderful city park--I didn't give it five stars because some of the paths really needed maintenance.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely urban oasis, especially good for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

There is so much to see and do at this park! We went on a Sunday, so it was especially crowded. The kids had a great time playing on the jungle gym and going out on the lake in a paddle boat. We got snow cones (which, in Costa Rica, come with condensed milk and dried milk in addition to the ice and syrup), bags of cut-up fruit, and other snacks. The park used to be the airport, so it's huge! Tons of trees, grass, and winding paths to wander along. Definitely recommend spending a lazy afternoon here!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A scape in the city...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This park give you the opportunity to work out, around beautiful trees, very accessible, swing, tennis, run, read, a lot more you can find to do there or just walking.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque La Sabana also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Parque La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parque La Sabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.