We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get a guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Park (Parque Nacional)

National Park (Parque Nacional)
Bordered by Avdas 1/3 and Calles 15 /19 | Barrio Carmen, San Jose 2004, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 40 Attractions in San Jose
Type: Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This tropical park is popular during the day but best avoided at night.
Orlando
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“get a guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Absolutely loved the park and seeing all the animals. You can go on your own but the cost of a guide is well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Nice little park away from the heat and noise of the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This park has a good range of trees providing shade and an interesting monument. There are places to sit and it seems popular with locals. It felt safe there in the day but we did get hustled a bit by a guy claiming to need money for medical treatment! Nice to stroll through and enjoy the shade but
I've some other reviewers have said, I would avoid after dark!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good for a hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Good place for escaping the huzzle of the city a bit. There is an inline skating park, many soccer ground, playground for playing basketball, playgrounds for children. It´s close to the new stadium.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Nature Lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited the park with a guide scheduled through our hotel, Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort; he was great. The walking path is an easy stroll through the park, and then a small boat ride at the end if the tide is high, back to the bus. If the boat guys try to charge you very much is supposed to be $1- $2 per person. You can walk through the water if you want the water is about a foot deep. We saw monkeys, sloths, iguanas, butterflies, spiders etc. I highly recommend a guide they can spot what we can't. If you walk through without a guide (drive past the guys trying to stop your vehicle before you get to the park, they just want you to hire them) look and listen to the other guides to see the critters they found. Also sign the book with an id # (driver's license) if you plan to come back that same day, to avoid paying another fee.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
2 reviews
“Visit to Manuel Antonio park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice day: nice trip to the Park (Pacific coast), then the park itself and the wild life, and then a very nice beach with warm water.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Park (Parque Nacional) also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to National Park (Parque Nacional)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Park (Parque Nacional), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.