We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent renovation at Pension de la Cuesta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension de la Cuesta B&B

Save Saved
You added Pension de la Cuesta B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Avenida Primera Calle 11 Y 15 | 50 Metros Oeste Parque Nacional, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 52 San Jose B&B and Inns
Northern Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recent renovation at Pension de la Cuesta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have been coming here for years. It has been just what I needed, right on Ave #1. In 2011 they did an upgrade and this last trip I booked the apartment.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side have loud traffic; Ask to be moved when possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
13
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

A bit shabby around the edges and the building seems to shake when traffic goes by, but it's clean enough with plenty of space. It's nice to get those rarities in Central America, breakfast and internet service.

Room Tip: Room 15 benefits from being away from the worst of the traffic but the window doesn't seem to cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This place is friendly and has good security. The bed was firm and the t.v. in my room even had American CNN. The shower had hot water, don't be confused about the bizarre instructions in the sign in the bathroom that says "apply less pressure for hot water" -- it was a hot shower. The staff was super friendly, the location is good, and for staying in downtown which does feel a bit sketchy, this is a relatively safe area.

Room Tip: My room was private and for the price substantially cheaper than other hotels in the area, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is a jem. Great value. For a dorm room $10-15, depending on female or mix, you get a clean space, hot shower, lockers, kitchen, HBO, and a free breakfast with fresh coffee. Very safe, and walking distance from the major bus depots. Across the street from the hare Krishna center, so you can hear the chanting at 5:45 pm. I came back on a second visit to San Jose. Love la Cuesta!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This place is very cheap and the staff are super-friendly. I would recommend it if you are just staying for a night travelling through. The location is good too, very close to Central Avenue.

However, whilst the place is clean, it has its faults. The place looks cute on the outside, and the reception area is nice too. Unfortunately once you go down the corridor and turn around the corner, the looks go down quite a bit. My room was very basic, simple and smelled a bit musty. The bathroom was clean but just a little too basic. The whole room needed a bit of TLC. And it's quite noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I'm writing this while I'm still staying here. This is a very charming old building. All wood with many windows and architectual quirks. It is in a good central location (we walked here from the bus station) and clean. The staff is nice and the public areas are bright and sunny with a few stained glass windows. Only problems are that most of the rooms have noise issues. Our room for instance, was surrounded on two sides with hallways. And, with old wood floors, their are lots of noises as people walk by. Another guest here has a room on the front side of the building and she told us she couldn't sleep because of loud music across the street.
Another thing on the plus side, the breakfast is pretty good including fresh pinnapple, cereal, toast, juice and coffee. So, if you are not noise sensitive or have your own earplugs, this place is good. If not there are probably better places for you.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a room on the back side of the building to the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

This place is tired. For $40 a night we got a very basic room that you could barely swing a cat in, an ice COLD shower and a breakfast of cereal or bread. The guy on the desk seemed ok but other members of staff around the hotel are miserable and rude. The only redeeming feature is its location which is fairly central for San Jose.
Overall I was very disappointed, felt ripped off and would not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Owner at Pension de la Cuesta B&B, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Guest

We apologize for any inconvenience we have caused, I believe we did switch you to a other deluxe room next day and gave you discount on the first night for the shower problem, our deluxe room $40 a night are just remodeled 2 month ago, with king size bed, new mattress, it is about 30m2 , we are truly sorry that our room and service did not meet you expectation, we will work on that and again, we apologize for unpleasant service of ours and thank you for your review.

Sincerely

Roy, property Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
Free Parking, B...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#30 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#9 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
City Center, Mi...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Casa 69
Casa 69
#7 of 52 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension de la Cuesta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension de la Cuesta B&B

Address: Avenida Primera Calle 11 Y 15 | 50 Metros Oeste Parque Nacional, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension de la Cuesta B&B 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Cuesta is a classic example of a tropical wood-frame hotel and has been painted an eye-catching pink with blue and white trim, and located at downtown San Jose, 2 blocks to the National Museum, and 3-5 minutes walking distance to a great variety of fine restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacy. We offer brand new Deluxe Room starting Sept 2011! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Pension de la Cuesta B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension De La Cuesta Bed And Breakfast
Pension De La Cuesta Hotel San Jose
Pension De La Cuesta B&B Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension de la Cuesta B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.