We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension de la Cuesta B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pension de la Cuesta B&B to your Saves list
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Avenida Primera Calle 11 Y 15 | 50 Metros Oeste Parque Nacional, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 54 San Jose B&B and Inns
New York City
1 review
“Nice place for good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This place is friendly and has good security. The bed was firm and the t.v. in my room even had American CNN. The shower had hot water, don't be confused about the bizarre instructions in the sign in the bathroom that says "apply less pressure for hot water" -- it was a hot shower. The staff was super friendly, the location is good, and for staying in downtown which does feel a bit sketchy, this is a relatively safe area.

Room Tip: My room was private and for the price substantially cheaper than other hotels in the area, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
14
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is a jem. Great value. For a dorm room $10-15, depending on female or mix, you get a clean space, hot shower, lockers, kitchen, HBO, and a free breakfast with fresh coffee. Very safe, and walking distance from the major bus depots. Across the street from the hare Krishna center, so you can hear the chanting at 5:45 pm. I came back on a second visit to San Jose. Love la Cuesta!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This place is very cheap and the staff are super-friendly. I would recommend it if you are just staying for a night travelling through. The location is good too, very close to Central Avenue.

However, whilst the place is clean, it has its faults. The place looks cute on the outside, and the reception area is nice too. Unfortunately once you go down the corridor and turn around the corner, the looks go down quite a bit. My room was very basic, simple and smelled a bit musty. The bathroom was clean but just a little too basic. The whole room needed a bit of TLC. And it's quite noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I'm writing this while I'm still staying here. This is a very charming old building. All wood with many windows and architectual quirks. It is in a good central location (we walked here from the bus station) and clean. The staff is nice and the public areas are bright and sunny with a few stained glass windows. Only problems are that most of the rooms have noise issues. Our room for instance, was surrounded on two sides with hallways. And, with old wood floors, their are lots of noises as people walk by. Another guest here has a room on the front side of the building and she told us she couldn't sleep because of loud music across the street.
Another thing on the plus side, the breakfast is pretty good including fresh pinnapple, cereal, toast, juice and coffee. So, if you are not noise sensitive or have your own earplugs, this place is good. If not there are probably better places for you.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a room on the back side of the building to the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

This place is tired. For $40 a night we got a very basic room that you could barely swing a cat in, an ice COLD shower and a breakfast of cereal or bread. The guy on the desk seemed ok but other members of staff around the hotel are miserable and rude. The only redeeming feature is its location which is fairly central for San Jose.
Overall I was very disappointed, felt ripped off and would not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Owner at Pension de la Cuesta B&B, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Guest

We apologize for any inconvenience we have caused, I believe we did switch you to a other deluxe room next day and gave you discount on the first night for the shower problem, our deluxe room $40 a night are just remodeled 2 month ago, with king size bed, new mattress, it is about 30m2 , we are truly sorry that our room and service did not meet you expectation, we will work on that and again, we apologize for unpleasant service of ours and thank you for your review.

Sincerely

Roy, property Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Not only is it quiet and comfy but the staff at Pension de la Cuesta were so helpful in giving us tips on places to have fun. The beds were always clean and the common areas were always so inviting.
The location was very central and within walking distance of all the best stuff in San Jose. The staff were also very helpful in organizing day trips and cabs for us. My Spanish was a little rough, but I always had help from the staff whenever I asked :)
I would definitely stay here again next time I find myself in San Jose :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My Husband and I stayed here over the Easter Weekend and it was surprisingly empty. Its in a great location right next to a souvenirs market and a block from the big main shopping street.
We payed $28us for a double with a shared bathroom. The rooms were spacious, had shelves and bedside cabinets, with windows looking onto the indoor corridor.
The place was extremely clean, had kitchen access with a living room and TV just off.
The kicthen was one of the cleanest and organised I have used on my travels with everything you needed.
They also had free internet and breakfast provided.
Breakfast consisted of toast, butter and jams, tea, coffee or orange juice and cereals. It was a great little breakfast with a great seating area to eat right near the TV area.
The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful when it came to giving directions about the area. They also offered laundry service at an extra charge.
I would definately stay here if I returned.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension de la Cuesta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension de la Cuesta B&B

Address: Avenida Primera Calle 11 Y 15 | 50 Metros Oeste Parque Nacional, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension de la Cuesta B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Cuesta is a classic example of a tropical wood-frame hotel and has been painted an eye-catching pink with blue and white trim, and located at downtown San Jose, 2 blocks to the National Museum, and 3-5 minutes walking distance to a great variety of fine restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacy. We offer brand new Deluxe Room starting Sept 2011! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pension de la Cuesta B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension De La Cuesta Hotel San Jose
Pension De La Cuesta Bed And Breakfast
Pension De La Cuesta B&B Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension de la Cuesta B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;