We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful collection of treasures” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Precolumbian Gold Museum

Precolumbian Gold Museum
Calle 5 | between Central and 2nd Ave, San Jose, Costa Rica (Formerly Gold Museum (Museo del Oro))
506-243-4202
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 38 attractions in San Jose
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A large collection of indigenous gold art.
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful collection of treasures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I learned a lot about early Costa Rican life while seeing some beautiful gold treasures. The displays are very well done and all information is in English and Spanish. The location was hard to find. And the gift shop is not to be missed!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    193
    52
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Gold Museum - a treasure in the heart of San Jose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Still one of my favorite places to visit in San Jose! Never crowded, and lots of very interesting history and the most beautiful collection of gold pieces that I've ever seen. Took my husband there as we needed to get out and about for a bit, he and I really enjoyed it. I never get tired of seeing all the gorgeous golden art from the past civilizations...

Also enjoyed the currency exhibit, as well as the temporary (??) exhibit on architecture and currency that was on display. A nice way to spend an hour or two away from the hustle and bustle of San Jose.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very nice museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

There isn't a whole lot to do in San Jose. Most of the interesting stuff is further out from the city and I didn't have enough time because of business meetings to do them.

The gold museum was built by one of the central banks and showcases a lot of gold artifacts. Buying one ticket also gives you admission to the currency museum.

I was there for about 2 hours. It is located just next door to the National Theatre.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not just gold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The artifacts were fascinating, and exhibits show how the general goldsmithing process was handled, interspersing cultural info that illustrates how the people lived, and traded.

The money displays highlighted the changes in Costa Rican history both in building styles, coffee tokens, and other legal tender. I learned so much in a varied and entertaining way.

Staff were great and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I loved this museum. Everything is well displayed, with explanations in English and Spanish. The staff are friendly and the gift shop was as interesting as the museum.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Precolumbian Gold Museum also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Precolumbian Gold Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Precolumbian Gold Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.